We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cricklade House

TripAdvisorUSD 91*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 93*
USD 91*
USD 93*
USD 91*
USD 93*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Cricklade House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

577 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 572: English reviews
Start your review of Cricklade House
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Amazing weekend and a wedding which ran like clockwork - great work Zoe. The barmaid Rachel was also awesome and kept us well 'watered' throughout. The views are amazing and the rooms are clean with excellent facilities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

After visiting almost a year to the day and handing in a customer feedback card with poor review, we came back for a wedding. Though should of remembered to stay well clear. Poorly trained staff, bar tariff not showing current stock, unattended reception and many faults with the room that should of been picked through general cleaning and I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alyn H
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here last weekend and although I appreciate it was a last minute booking, I was not aware that we would be staying in one of the chalets and not the main hotel. Whilst the room was clean and plenty big enough, the bathroom was terribly dated and needs a new white suite and shower if nothing else. Bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nic D
Dryygf
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really disappointed that I was given a chalet style room, it smelt damp as soon as I opened the door, it had a tv I couldn't see because of how it was positioned on the wall, a huge dip in the mattress and an unclean (in terms of age) bathroom which is extremely dated, for a business traveller it's far...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank N2304DOjoew
CrickladeManager, General Manager at Cricklade House, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay I'm sorry to hear your comments, as I'm sure you're aware, your booking was made on the day and this was the only available room for the night; a room that is currently ear-marked for refurbishment; but as a preferred supplier, we tried to accommodate you. Normally,...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this hotel for work really welcoming on arrival. Booked it fast and easy. The rooms are very big with a huge comfy bed ( room 34 ). Food is really good, good size portions at a reasonable price. The only thing that lets it down is that there is no TV in the main bar area and it's very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David C
CrickladeManager, General Manager at Cricklade House, responded to this review

thank you for leaving feedback on your recent stay. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit, and that the team looked after you and made you feel welcome I hope you'll stay with us again, the next time you are in the area kind regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a last minute break as not far from home with spa and gym facilities advertised. The gym was so tiny we didn't bother. Swimming pool and jacuzzi were ok. This place really needs some tlc the rust on the wall by jacuzzi was appalling. Small double bed meant a poor nights sleep and they ran out of afternoon tea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flightfinger
CrickladeManager, General Manager at Cricklade House, responded to this review

thank you for taking time to leave feed back on your recent stay. I'm sorry to hear that you felt the gym was too small to bother with, and I'm confused by your comment that the wall by the Jacuzzi was rusty, as the walls around it are bare brickwork. Our standard rooms have double beds, other room types are...

UK
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had our wedding reception here in the 90's and revisited for our anniversary. We couldn't fault anything about our visit. The room was clean and spacious( we had a four poster room in the main building ). All of the members of staff that we spoke to were very polite and helpful and the lunch, dinner and breakfast were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sch1968
CrickladeManager, General Manager at Cricklade House, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit, and I hope you'll return again soon kind regards

Redditch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

My partner booked as a surprise which in itself was amazing first time in 8 years 😂 Beautiful location stunning views the hotel does look tired but does go with age of hotel it just needs a bit of work furniture needs some reupholstering in conservatory spoils the room as sofas need some plumping!! The staff work hard and are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ajgpoleprincess
CrickladeManager, General Manager at Cricklade House, responded to this review

thank you for taking time to leave feedback on your recent stay I'm sorry you found the atmosphere too quiet; we do have background music in the bar area; it doesn't always stretch through to the conservatory we keep the pool at a steady 30 degrees, and the spa pool at 36, I can only apologise if they felt cold...

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Afternoon tea for 8 for my mothers birthday. Arrived and were shown into the conservatory where we had 4 sofas and a tea table set up. We had an amazing view over the countryside. Pot of tea and coffee arrived and then three huge slate trays of sandwiches, scones with cream and jam and a tray of lovely home made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mosquito155
CrickladeManager, General Manager at Cricklade House, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent visit I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed the afternoon tea; apologies for the delay in replenishing the pot and I hope you'll visit us again soon kind regards

Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

Beautiful setting; beautiful Hotel. Such a quiet location, ideal if you want to escape or just chill for the evening anc have a meal. Lovely friendly staff. Lovely rooms, comfy beds. Food is wonderful. I would highly recommend; for everyone 😊

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Serafina H
CrickladeManager, General Manager at Cricklade House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit so much, and I hope you will stay with us again in the near future kind regards

143 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cricklade
4.1 km away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,434 reviews
6.4 km away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
9.7 km away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#5 of 24 in Swindon
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 km away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
935 reviews
6.1 km away
The Pear Tree at Purton
The Pear Tree at Purton
#6 of 24 in Swindon
369 reviews
8.9 km away
The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf Course
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Standing in over 30 acres of peaceful, secluded grounds on the edge of the Cotswolds, the privately-owned Cricklade House offers a traditional, warm and friendly welcome for those in search of tranquility, comfort, good food and wine, with extensive recreational facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cricklade House

Address: Common Hill, Cricklade, Swindon SN6 6HA, England (Formerly Cricklade House Hotel & Country Club)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Cricklade
Price Range: $121 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cricklade House 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Cricklade House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cricklade House Hotel And Country Club
Cricklade Hotel Country
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cricklade House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Sutton Coldfield
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Cricklade House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check to see if you are in a chalet/garden room, as these seem to be under some sort refurb programme”
9nicd, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Courtyard rooms with best decor”
julianpthorpe, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for room overlooking golf course”
pauline9142016, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“overlook the green”
mabelc652, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Main house has bigger rooms”
B0rderers, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
USD 91* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 91
LateRooms.comUSD 93
PricelineUSD 91
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates