We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cricklade House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cricklade House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

561 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 556: English reviews
Start your review of Cricklade House
 Click to rate
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

my husband and i stayed for 2 nights at this lovely hotel.Our room was lovely and a very comfy bed.Staff very helpful.Breakfast was incredible,plenty of choice and very generous portions.We also had an evening meal which was excellent,it was like a Master Chef experience.There are lots of lovely areas to sit and relax with beautiful views over the countryside.It also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pauline9142016
CrickladeManager, General Manager at Cricklade House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent visit I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed the food; as I explained when we spoke on Friday night, we have recently taken on a new Head Chef, and I will pass your comments on to him. I'm sorry the Jacuzzi was out of action at the weekend,...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Cricklade House for two nights. The staff were extremely helpful and kind. The room was warm and comfortable and the food was very good. The Valentine Evening meal was top quality with beautiful presentation and the staff on this evening were super. The hotel was convenient for exploring the Cotswolds. Lovely Conservatory with views across the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irene6909
CrickladeManager, General Manager at Cricklade House, responded to this review

thank you for your feedback on your recent stay I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Valentines, and that the meal and staff were so good. I hope you'll visit us again when you're next in the Cotswolds kind regards

Umberleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for one night, friendly welcome and shown to our room, Sam was a helpful chap, he seems to be doing everything on his own... Had a few G&T's in the bar which is a pleasant setting overlooking fab countryside. We skipped dinner as it seemed uninspiring and ate out in Cricklade.... One bug bear i have with hotels is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank P2NA
CrickladeManager, General Manager at Cricklade House, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay I'm delighted to hear that Sam looked after you so well. sorry to hear that you found the menu uninspiring; we have recently launched our new season Restaurant and Bar menu; both of which went live this week, so apologies if you encountered our Sunday night dinner...

nuneaton
Reviewed 17 January 2017

This was our second visit to this hotel and it was great. Our reception was very friendly and helpful. We were on a 2 night half board break and were informed that there would be a reduced menu. However, as there were 4 choices for each course, this did not turn out to be a problem. Sam, in the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michael c
CrickladeManager, General Manager at Cricklade House, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay I'm delighted to hear the team looked after you o well, especially Sam, who made sure you got the table you wanted! I hope you'll visit us again in the near future kind regards

Reviewed 9 January 2017

We visited as a very large family to celebrate a 95th Birthday. Everyone had a lovely large room with some in the main house and some across the courtyard. There was an issue with a couple of the rooms being cold on arrival but that was quickly rectified by staff. The evening meal was nice and the breakfast the following...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen A
CrickladeManager, General Manager at Cricklade House, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent visit I'm pleased to hear that the team looked after you all so well, and that everything went to plan for the event I look forward to welcoming you all back soon kind regards

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Well I came back for a weekend break in December lovely clean room in the main building again reception lady was misrable food wasn't that bad but apart from that a lovely hotel and staff are great I don't believe what everybody say about the hotel I think people moan for discount if there was anything wrong I'd be the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally A
CrickladeManager, General Manager at Cricklade House, responded to this review

thank you for your feedback on your recent stay I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed the visit, and I hope to welcome you back very soon kind regards

St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Dirty room with plenty of dust, powerless shower, heating only twice a day for short spurts, unhelpful and rude service from the staff including the manager paul. stayed here new years day and very disappointing, would NOT recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mabel C
CrickladeManager, General Manager at Cricklade House, responded to this review

thank you for your feedback on your recent stay I'm both surprised and disappointed to hear that you found the team rude and unhelpful, especially Paul, my manager I'll investigate the issues you have mentioned with the team here, the heating is on a temperature controlled system, so should be on as needed; it's certainly not on for only 2...

milano
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

My wife and i didn't have a good experience overall. In my opinion a few things that makes this very nice situated hotel below average are: 1) strong smell of chlorine in the hall and reception - it's definitely the first thing you notice entering the venue. Also toilets near reception have a very strong unpleasant smell and to me...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank terzinos
CrickladeManager, General Manager at Cricklade House, responded to this review

thank you for leaving feedback on your recent stay we had an issue in the kitchen during your stay with part of our power supply, which meant we could only offer a limited six option table de hotel menu at dinner and some of our breakfast options, such as fried eggs were unavailable, but we were offering poached or scrambled...

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

The first night here we decided to eat in the restaurant (very dated, very small tables) we had 4 choices to choose from for our main meal, which non were very appealing. The main came out and was very small portions as well as the dessert - which came to £21.99 each for two courses! The room decor is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hannahpiet
CrickladeManager, General Manager at Cricklade House, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving feedback on your recent stay I'm sorry to hear that you found the dinner disappointing, as the hotel has been quite quiet between Christmas and New Year, we have been running a daily menu, with a range of dishes, but I'm surprised to hear that your portions were small, I'll take this up with the team...

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Lovely hotel in a gorgeous setting , room was comfortable, clean and warm , staff accommodating and friendly .. the menu is a strange mix .. I decided to skip starter and pudding and opted for burger with the usual accompaniments .. I could go on at length but I will cut the chase it was terrible in every aspect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
CrickladeManager, General Manager at Cricklade House, responded to this review

thank you for feedback on your recent stay. I delighted to hear the staff made you feel welcome, but I'm surprised and disappointed to hear your burger wasn't to your liking. I'm not sure if you mentioned it to any of the team during your stay, but they would have changed or replaced it for you. Our menu is quite...

133 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (112)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cricklade
4.1 km away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,285 reviews
9.7 km away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#6 of 24 in Swindon
622 reviews
15.6 km away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Swindon Blunsdon House Hotel
6.2 km away
The Pear Tree at Purton
The Pear Tree at Purton
#4 of 24 in Swindon
362 reviews
8.9 km away
The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf Course
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Standing in over 30 acres of peaceful, secluded grounds on the edge of the Cotswolds, the privately-owned Cricklade House offers a traditional, warm and friendly welcome for those in search of tranquility, comfort, good food and wine, with extensive recreational facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cricklade House

Address: Common Hill, Cricklade, Swindon SN6 6HA, England (Formerly Cricklade House Hotel & Country Club)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Cricklade
Price Range: $116 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cricklade House 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Cricklade House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cricklade House Hotel And Country Club
Cricklade Hotel Country
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cricklade House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Sutton Coldfield
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Cricklade House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for room overlooking golf course”
 of 5 bubbles pauline9142016, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“overlook the green”
 of 5 bubbles mabelc652, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Main house has bigger rooms”
 of 5 bubbles B0rderers, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room in the main hotel”
 of 5 bubbles eviean, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 34 in my opinion is not a supiriour double .”
 of 5 bubbles bryantd717, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5