We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate

Expedia.comUSD 390*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,482 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,468: English reviews
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Recently stayed for the second time and again had a great stay. The building work didn't bother us at all and the 2 guys in the bar kept us entertained even when busy! Amazing pina colado from Frankie for my wife! It's the summer and anywhere you go around here you're expected to pay for parking (though as residents admittedly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TilerBrian
CarbisBayHotel, Manager at Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate, responded to this review

Hi Brian, Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit once more. It is great to hear such lovely feedback regarding our staff. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Booked a two night stay to relax after a hectic time. Balcony room quite bijou but the balcony had great views and was a relaxing place to sit as the weather was good. As a large person I only just managed to get into the shower but plenty of room once in. Nice toiletries were provided. Decor fresh and clean,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pete T
CarbisBayHotel, Manager at Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate, responded to this review

Hi Pete, Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you had a relaxing stay with us and especially that the staff in particular stood out. We are always glad to receive feedback so will certainly ensure your comments are noted by our team.

Cala millor
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

We booked a two night stay and pushed the boat out by paying more than we would normally pay as fancied a bit of luxury. We had been in jersey the week before at la place st brelades and paid half the price per night (see review). From the start we didn't realise we would share a car park with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Judymcleod
CarbisBayHotel, Manager at Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate, responded to this review

Hi Judy, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. We really appreciate your feedback and will ensure your comments are noted. We would be happy to discuss this further if you would like to call us on 01736 795311.

Reviewed 1 September 2016

Forget what you see online. The reality is a slap in the face. Already at reception we felt like checking into a hospital rather than a costly hotel. Without a hello we were asked to present our creit card to pay the amount of our entire stay and told to wait an hour longer than check-in time. We had booked...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sven L
CarbisBayHotel, Manager at Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are surprised to see some of your comments. Unfortunately, we were not able to allow you to bring your Great Dane to breakfast, as we do not allow pets in the hotel. We work hard to ensure all of our properties are at the highest standards and...

Leicestershire
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Beautiful setting with an amazing beach but a real climb up the hill to the railway station! Stayed for 4 nights bed and breakfast, so amazing we've booked for next year! Majority of the Staff helpful and really pleasant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Muppet7591
CarbisBayHotel, Manager at Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and have booked to visit us again. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We were so so looking forward to coming to Carbis Bay hotel for 4 nights, we don't get the opportunity to take a break so this was the relax we were after...... But things definitely did not turn out that way which is such a huge disappointment. I so wish we had read all these reviews before we booked. After...

 Report
Helpful?
14Thank rachelwilkins
CarbisBayHotel, Manager at Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate, responded to this review

Hi Rachel, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. We really appreciate your feedback and are concerned to hear some of your comments. We would be happy to discuss this further if you would like to call management on 01736 795311.

Reviewed 28 August 2016

Have stayed here a couple of times over the years, including for my 40th birthday as a weekend treat. The bay itself is a treat, and the hotel's takeover of the beachfront seems to be good for guests but perhaps not altogether welcome as it is starting to restrict public access. I hope no more development takes place, as it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
CarbisBayHotel, Manager at Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate, responded to this review

Hi Lee, Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you have chosen to visit us again and enjoyed your birthday celebrations. We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We had heard good reports of the hotel but didn't know it was their private beach, or had its own carpark, or the food was among the best we have had in an Hotel anywhere, or the service was refreshingly outstanding, or the 'Conservatory' – with its fabulous, Riviera like views – was also available for full service sit down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
CarbisBayHotel, Manager at Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate, responded to this review

Hi Peter, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your liking. We really appreciate your kind comments and hope you will visit us again soon.

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

We drove over 5 hours from Nottingham to celebrate our anniversary in St Ives. We were a little worried after reading some reviews but I can safely say this is a beautiful hotel! Our room had a Seaview which was absolutely stunning! The reception staff were very helpful and pulled out stops to make our anniversary stay perfect. We cannot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R9NEG87
CarbisBayHotel, Manager at Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your anniversary and found everything to your liking. It is lovely to hear such kind words regarding our staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

The location is great looking out over the beach, the food is OK to good, however the service is abysmal. You are not welcomed on arrival even when seen by the staff and on the two occasions we had to wait ages for our order to be taken even though it was only half full. They had lots of staff...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Roverred1
CarbisBayHotel, Manager at Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry you were disappointed with the service at the Beach Club - it is extremely important to us that we deliver a high level of service across the estate, so your feedback is very important to us. We will ensure this is passed back to the...

802 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (586)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (74)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (107)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
View from Room (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (265)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (203)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Beach (16)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Flower Room with Seaview and Balcony (40)
Viewed
Deluxe Double With Seaview And Balcony (41)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (15)
Viewed
Outdoor Sauna (2)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carbis Bay
1.1 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
1.4 km away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.5 km away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
890 reviews
36.1 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.4 km away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate offers a stunning coastal retreat with direct access to its privately owned 25 acre Blue Flag beach and breath-taking views of one of the world's most beautiful bays. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate

Address: Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 2NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives > Carbis Bay
Price Range: $463 - $652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carbis Bay
Carbis Bay Hotel St Ives
Carbis Bay St Ives
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea views at the front. Higher rooms quieter but hotter in summer.”
skybluethinker, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“The only drawback to this hotel is there is NO LIFT, so prepare for a climb of up to 52 steps if your room is on the 2nd floor!”
945angelinac, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a sea view”
chromeorange, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Please confirm disability requirements direct with the hotel as there is no lift access.”
SOCS026, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“This hotel has no lift and the main car park is on a slope.”
295carmelw, 17 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 390* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 388
Hotels.comUSD 390
TravelocityUSD 390
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates