We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
73 Close St, Morpeth, Maitland, New South Wales 2321 Australia
Overview
73 Close St, Morpeth, Maitland, New South Wales 2321 Australia See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Airport Transportation
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
4.5 Star accommodation
About
Description
The property offers 2 boutique style accommodation options which when combined accommodate 12 in elegant modern comfort. › The Close (main house) accommodating 8 people › Studio@TheClose (studio) accommodating 4 More people Whether you enjoy them both or individually, The Close is ideal for a weekend away, a weeklong getaway with family & friends, wedding accommodation or corporate retreats. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Air Conditioning
Airport Transportation
Babysitting
Conference Facilities
Microwave
Non-Smoking Hotel
Refrigerator in room
Shuttle Bus Service
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
2
Price range
USD 106 - USD 545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
The Close Morpeth, Greater Newcastle
Location
Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Maitland > Morpeth
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
The Windsor Castle Hotel
47 reviews
3.83 km away
Best Western Endeavour Motel
140 reviews
5.05 km away
Molly Morgan Motor Inn
125 reviews
5.42 km away
Quest Maitland
406 reviews
6.85 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 22 nearby restaurants
Morpeth Woodfire Pizza & Indian Delicacies
209 reviews
.54 km away
The Servants Quarters Tea Rooms
101 reviews
.54 km away
Commercial Hotel
99 reviews
.29 km away
Cupz 'N' Crepes
128 reviews
.32 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 8 nearby attractions
Morpeth Brewery & Beer
30 reviews
.28 km away
Morpeth Museum
33 reviews
.26 km away
Morpeth Gallery
15 reviews
.51 km away
Campbells Store
16 reviews
.55 km away
Reviews & more
11Reviews
17Photos
0Q+A
3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 7
  • 2
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
Took a few rooms with some friends for my daughters wedding. Accomodation was great, comfortable and clean. Bed was VERY comfy, bathrooms renovated and modern ( and very clean :) Location right in the centre of everything !
Staff were very friendly and helpful and the host Clint
Read more
Response from Clint M, Owner at The Close
Responded 19 Jul. 2018
We are thrilled to hear you had a great time! Our team strives to provide a high quality experience to all guests, we'd love to welcome you back again any time!
Read more
Last weekend we stayed in the cottage and friends stayed in the studio. We went out to Buttai
Barn and had a great night for my Husbands birthday. Coming back to The Close was like coming home. Having the entire home for our family and friends just made the weekend of birthday c
Read more
Response from Clint M, Owner at The Close
Responded 19 Jul. 2018
Hi Sharon Thank you for taking the time to offer such an in-depth review! The team is thrilled to hear you and your family loved the cottage! We would be glad to welcome you back again any time! The team is also able to assist with organising wine tours so be sure to discuss with the team when you book! Regards The HVBE Team
Read more
Booked the studio apartment, directions to get into the studio once parked were unclear but phone numbers clearly displayed to a helpful agent.

The studio is small but great for privacy, It is expensive $276 (Sat night) for what you get.

Studio has a lovely feel, and nice and
Read more
Response from Clint M, Owner at The Close
Responded 19 Jul. 2018
Thank you for your review Robbie Thank you for your feedback on our check-in process, we will endeavour to improve that, however our team is always available to assist. We hope to see you back again some day. The HVBE Team
Read more
OK, so we booked the studio and it was indeed a studio, so can't really complain about the lack of space. But as a family of 4 it was very cramped. A few too many cockroaches and ants. Poorly designed shower meant water everywhere in the bathroom. 8am wake up from the lawn mowing
Read more
Response from Clint M, Manager at The Close
Responded 19 Jan. 2017
thank you for your review - sorry to hear you didn't have a great experience and that The Studio did not seem to meet your needs - we do advertise the studio as just that and when our guests book direct with us we do explain the space and the bedding configuration - our properties have a regular contract with and are sprayed by professional pest controllers every few months but unfortunately the warmer weather has brought out some nasty pests, again I do apologise for this - we usually get very good reviews and lots of comments on value for money -
Read more
We stayed in the cottage and studio both of which were spacious, very clean and well presented. Owner went out of his way to ensure we enjoyed our stay and was on hand if required. Easy walking distance to centre of Morpeth which is a delightful country town. We will definitely
Read more
Response from Clint M, Owner at The Close
Responded 6 Aug. 2016
Thank you for your kind comments - The Close Country Cottage is one street away form the centre of town and easy 2 minute walk. The cottage is perfect for a family getaway, relaxing and spacious - we would love to welcome you back anytime.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Photo provided by managementThe Close
Cottage
Photo provided by managementThe Close
Cottage Red Room
Photo provided by managementThe Close
Cottage Orange Room
Photo provided by managementThe Close
Cottage Blue Room
Photo provided by managementThe Close
Cottage Red Room
Previous
12
"I recommend grabbing the main room downstairs as it has an ensuite and French doors that open onto the verandah."
"If you are wanting a view or somewhere comfortable to spread out, dont choose the studio - choose the main house"
"Book both the studio and the cottage because they are situated quite close together and share the same outdoor space."
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing