We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ironstone Estate

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Ironstone Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

24 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 24: English reviews
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a fabulous weekend with accommodation for 10 adults. The pool was utilised, but shade is needed around the pool area. Plenty of room to cook and BBQ, entertain, and relax. 3 big bathrooms, large living area, dinning tables inside and out Linen supplied along with everything you need for the weekend.

Helpful?
Thank Liz M
LeanneHindmarsh, Owner at Ironstone Estate, responded to this review

Thank you Liz for your wonderful review of Ironstone Homestead. Glen and I are so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay and that you had a fun weekend in the Hunter for your birthday. Regards Leanne More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2015

We had a group of 9 adults stay in the "Lodge" at Ironstone recently and we were very very impressed. The Lodge has been purpose built (it seems) for large families or groups and could comfortably accommodate 12 adults. Every room has it's own bathroom - we absolutely loved that aspect and it's part of the reason we chose this... More 

Helpful?
Thank SydneyParkLocal
Leanne H, Manager at Ironstone Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review of our Lodge. We are pleased that your Christmas in July was so enjoyable. On your return visit please let us know that you are once again celebrating Christmas in July and we will put out the Christmas decorations. More 

Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2015

We stayed in the Homestead for 2 nights in March celebrating our son's 40th birthday. We were a group of 6 adults & 7 children (1 a toddler) & found this accommodation absolutely brilliant as it is on the one level, so no stairs to negotiate. Plenty of very comfortable beds & lovely bathrooms. The pool was very well maintained... More 

Helpful?
Thank AussieMarcho
Leanne H, Owner at Ironstone Estate, responded to this review

Wow...thank you for your wonderful review of our Homestead at Ironstone Estate. Glen and I are so pleased that your family enjoyed your stay. More 

WEST PYMBLE NA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2015 via mobile

This fantastic estate just minutes the crown plaza at Pokolbin is the ideal place to stay for a weekend or longer stay in the Hunter Valley. We had a group of 12 staying for the "day on the green" and found the location convenient, quiet, clean and certainly comfortable. There are 6 bedrooms each with an ensuite, a full kitchen,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CRAIG M
Leanne H, Owner at Ironstone Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review of Ironstone Lodge. Glen and I hope to see you on a return visit, maybe for another concert. Bus pickups can be arranged to pick you up at Ironstone Estate for a direct transfer to the concerts. Yes we agree with your comment about having a dirt road. We... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2015

We rented the Homestead house from Ironstone Estate which comprises 5 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, a covered outdoor BBQ area and a pool. We found the facilities to be of a very good quality with the kitchen well stocked with working appliances and the BBQ in good condition, along with the pool. The Beds were a good firm nature, giving proper... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
Leanne H, Owner at Ironstone Estate, responded to this review

Anthony, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our Homestead. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2015 via mobile

An amazing place to stay for groups! The lodge is located amongst the vines and gives you the feeling that you are right in the midst of wine country. Wonderful facilities, clean, modern, nothing to fault. Friendly and helpful hosts. A must book for larger groups or families.

Helpful?
Thank Laura O
Leanne H, Owner at Ironstone Estate, responded to this review

Hello Laura, Thank you for your great review. Hopefully we will see you again. Regards Leanne and Glen More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2014

We take a large family group up to the Hunter every year, and have tried a number of venues over the years. Ironstone is the best of them. as far as I'm concerned, and not expensive considering what is provided, like an ensuite in every room.

Helpful?
Thank jgp333
Leanne H, Owner at Ironstone Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. Glen and I hope to see you again. More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2014

A group of us recently stayed at Ironstone Estate to celebrate Christmas in July! The location of the place is amazing and is surrounded by open fields of green. We especially enjoyed the view on our morning jog and even caught a glimpse of a few hopping wallabies. The house spacious and is perfect for a group of friends. It... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Turtlestarseed
LeanneHindmarsh, Owner at Ironstone Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. If you return for another Christmas in July please remember to let us know in advance and we bring out the Christmas tree and decorations. More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This place was perfect for our group of six couples. Every room is almost the same and everyone has their own ensuite - so no squabbles over who gets what room. Plus the lounge room, dining and outdoor furniture are all sized to fit 12. Location is great - close to wineries but peaceful setting. And the fireplace tops it... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jellybeanjuly
LeanneHindmarsh, Owner at Ironstone Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our 6 bedroom, 6 bathroom Lodge. This house is very well suited to 6 couples with everyone having their own ensuites. Glen and I hope to see you again for a return visit. More 

1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have stayed at Ironstone Lodge on two occasions, once in the summer and once in the winter. Both times we have loved it. Perfectly equipped to accommodate 6 couples with everything you need. It's a great location, close to all the amazing wineries and restaurants. Private and beautifully furnished with all the comforts of home!! We will definitely be... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WilmaFalcone
Leanne H, Owner at Ironstone Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. Glen and I are so pleased that you enjoy staying at Ironstone Lodge. We love having fabulous guests like yourself and your friends return for repeat visits. Thank you. More 

31 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovedale
2.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
6.7 km away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
5.5 km away
The Convent Hunter Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
1.6 km away
Woodlane Cottages
Woodlane Cottages
#3 of 13 in Lovedale
50 reviews
4.8 km away
Chez Vous Villas
Chez Vous Villas
#34 of 41 in Pokolbin
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ironstone Estate is luxurious Hunter Valley house accommodation for groups. Our two, fully, self-contained houses, the Lodge and the Homestead, are fitted with quality furnishings and are privately located. The houses are on a 45 acre vineyard estate in beautiful Lovedale Hunter Valley. See our last minute special hot deals for the Lodge and the Homestead Just 2 hours from Sydney, our accommodation is nearby to the hustle of Pokolbin and close to some delicious Lovedale restaurants and wineries. Our Hunter Valley accommodation has FIRES in winter and a POOL in summer (only the Homestead has access to the swimming pool). THE LODGE: •Accommodates up to 12 guests •All 6 bedrooms have ensuites •One bedroom and bathroom has disabled facilities • •Not suitable for young children •Outdoor entertaining •Wood fire in winter •Sorry but NO PETS •Laundry. THE HOMESTEAD: •Accommodates up to 12 guests •5 queensized bedrooms •Sofa bed in the second lounge room. 3 Bathrooms •Wood fire in Winter •Swimming pool (for the exclusive use of the Homestead guests as it is attached to the Homestead) and outdoor entertaining •Suitable for children •Sorry but NO PETS •Laundry ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ironstone Estate

Address: 97 Olsen Rd, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales NSW 2325, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Price Range: $1,107 - $1,243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ironstone Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ironstone Estate Greater Newcastle/Lovedale
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ironstone Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are two houses at the property. The Homestead is more designed for families and young groups with the Pool and BBQ area while the Lodge would be more suited for business trips and older people”
 of 5 bubbles M1599KKanthonyc, 27 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Located in private grounds so no noise whatsoever.”
 of 5 bubbles Timetraveller24, 3 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Lovely scenic spot and lots of privacy. Great place to go with a group of friends, and beats a hotel anyday!”
 of 5 bubbles DonnaB574, 24 Mar 2014 | Read review
“All rooms are similiar size with their own ensuite. There is a larger room for disabled access and the largest room which has a spa. So whatever suits.”
 of 5 bubbles Sightseerers, 30 Oct 2013 | Read review
“We chose bedroom close to main living - not as far a walk up the hallway!”
 of 5 bubbles 826wendyf, 14 Oct 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay