We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Lone Kauri Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Lone Kauri Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 69: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The way Piha and Karekare are set up - there really aren't many "easy" access places to stay, let alone B&Bs. The roads barely hold two cars and are super windy. We only got to stay a single evening and it was a colder wetter spring night. The bed was very comfortable. The section of the house the guest rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
Ardenvoir, Washington
Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

Ann and Keith were great hosts at their secluded lodge with lush garden and sounds of ocean breakers. It was quiet and relaxing and offered easy access to multiple hiking tracks. Highly recommend! Visit Piha and the Regional forest, for beach walks and bush walks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ladymurdock
Peak District, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2016

Keith & Ann are the best hosts you could wish for. The property and the standard of room and breakfast is superb as many have said. If you love the outdoors and getting away from it all without compromising on a bit of luxury, this is for you. Highly recommended :-)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike0467
lonekaurilodge, Owner at Lone Kauri Lodge, responded to this review

Mike Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to share your experience of Lone Kauri Lodge with other travellers. It was a pleasure to meet you both. You were 5 star guests and we very much enjoyed your company. We hope that your holiday in New Zealand is going well and we wish you all the...

Germany
Reviewed 19 December 2015

We loved this beautiful place and had wished to stay longer. The hosts are lovely people and we felt so welcome. The breakfast was very good, the pool was hot, the chocolate cake delicious, we had a good sleep and everything was neat. Also the little one loved all about it, especially the many books in the cosy room. Karekare...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VerenaSegert
lonekaurilodge, Owner at Lone Kauri Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to share your experience of Lone Kauri Lodge with other travellers. It was a pleasure to meet you and the little one and to see how interested he was in the books in the guest lounge. We will keep in touch and hopefully we will see you again one day....

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 December 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights for our wedding anniversary. This is the first time we've stayed in a B&B locally (we live in Auckland surburbs) and wow it was very comfortable and warm. It felt like a home away from home. The natural surroundings were amazing, we did a bush walk nearby and finished off with a beautiful spa...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lowehel
lonekaurilodge, Owner at Lone Kauri Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you (H & J) for your review and for taking the time to share your experience of Lone Kauri Lodge with others. We are please that you enjoyed the "B & B experience" and your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again. Best Wishes Keith & Ann.

Reviewed 28 September 2015

Staff are rude and unwilling to assist. Breakfast is gross. The sheets are old. Pillows are smelly. The bathroom was filthy. I had rashes and itchy all over my body. No internet. TV doesn't work properly. Will not return.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Honest_traveller_198
lonekaurilodge, Owner at Lone Kauri Lodge, responded to this review

We are concerned that you may have mistaken us for another property. We were away and closed for much of August and only had 8 bookings and all our guests left happy with their stay. You indicate that you stayed with friends. We do not recall any group of friends staying with us in August We do not have a...

Noumea, New Caledonia
Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile

Thank you so much Keith and Anna for your warm welcoming! Keith guided us for a fantastic walk , it was really a pleasure to do it with him. The house is amazingly shaped inside the forest and the spa which is outdoor and always available is really cool ! I advice everybody to experience this lodge. Julie and Jerome

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeromjulie
lonekaurilodge, Owner at Lone Kauri Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience of Lone Kauri Lodge with other travellers. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 July 2015

My partner and I came here for a peaceful night together and it was perfect! Very warm hosts, they were very considerate and obviously take great care and attention to detail when looking after their hosts. The bedroom and lounge were very comfortable, warm and clean. Everything we needed was provided. The bed was huge and comfortable. The house itself...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NinaDuh
lonekaurilodge, Owner at Lone Kauri Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind words which are much appreciated. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Lone Kauri Lodge with other travelers. Best Wishes

Reviewed 31 May 2015 via mobile

My wife and I were off to tackle to Hillary Trail for our anniversary but wanted some luxury in the evenings. We found that at Lone Kauri Lodge. Lovely accommodation, very friendly, helpful hosts that all in all, made our 4 day weekend very enjoyable. Drop off and pick ups for each day of the Hillary Trail and beautiful home...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
lonekaurilodge, Owner at Lone Kauri Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your complimentary comments which are much appreciated. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to assist you with the Hillary Trail. Best Wishes

Wausau, Wisconsin
Reviewed 12 March 2015

Difficult to get to, but very nice accomodations. Margaret Hosts were pleasant but seemed a little preoccupied with other concerns. Breakfast was OK but nothing special. We ate at the RSA (soliders organization) in Piha and enjoyed the experience. Jim

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James S
lonekaurilodge, Owner at Lone Kauri Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Lone Kauri Lodge with other travellers. Best Wishes

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karekare
9.6 km away
Auckland's Waitakere Estate, Heritage Boutique Collection
27.1 km away
Vineyard Cottages Function & Conference Centre
28.4 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#4 of 68 in Auckland
3,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.5 km away
Novotel Auckland Airport
29.0 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
1,056 reviews
3.4 km away
Piha Beachstay Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Peace, privacy and tranquility just 55 minutes from Auckland CBD and International Airport. Lone Kauri Lodge is the perfect getaway from the city or, if you are from overseas then relax with us before setting off to see the rest of New Zealand or reflect on your visit before the trip home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lone Kauri Lodge

Address: 4 La Trobe Track, Karekare 0772, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Karekare
Price Range: $143 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lone Kauri Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lone Kauri Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lone Kauri Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Lone Kauri Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Traveller need to read trip advisor and other online feed backs carefully.”
 of 5 bubbles Honest_traveller_198, 28 Sep 2015 | Read review
“This is a small B&B type place, so there are only 2 rooms available.”
  • View from the lodge
 of 5 bubbles zr2illusions, 23 Jan 2015 | Read review
“2 rooms, adequate size, good shower, Queen good for a couple, King can have 2 beds. Very clean.”
 of 5 bubbles BernieB652, 16 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Both good rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Sadie3157, 25 Feb 2014 | Read review
“30 min from town full of restaurants , 30 min into gorgeous mountain range and oceanside”
 of 5 bubbles frankierhea, 18 Feb 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay