We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Clay Resort

Save
Traveller (93)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (9)
Ratings and reviews
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good36%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible17%
Travellers talk about
“seafood”(17 reviews)
“wild coast”(14 reviews)
“self catering”(8 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Free Parking
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Kitchenette
Free Wifi
View all hotel information
Location and contact
Hole in the Wall Road, Coffee Bay, South Africa
56.7 km to Umtata Airport
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
31
29
10
3
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
31
29
10
3
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafoodwild coastself cateringthe cliffhole in the walloverlooking the oceanenjoy the viewlong driveroad tripkarenchipscobaccommodationbaycoffeefishingmaintenance
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great place to camp with or without trailer, the spot is great right on the beach. There are several accomodities available, even they can provide barbecue to grill some steaks. Note: There is a lack of signage to get to the resort

Thank CGN_JPN
Reviewed 2 May 2018

The view is the reason this resort still exists! Management is very slap dash and the buildings are in urgent need of attention and constant upkeep, especially as it is so close to the sea. The "beach" area is polluted and we felt that management...More

Thank Melezaan
Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at this lodge, but I would have loved to stay longer. It was so relaxing to hear the waves every night while in bed. The rooms were clean. We dined one night at the restuarant and the seafood was good....More

Thank illze c
Reviewed 18 April 2018

After a morning of sight seeing we stopped at White Clay for lunch, the restaurant has a beautiful view of the ocean. The service was good and the food was great. They can also camp there. Thanks Family JAK.

Thank JAKTracks
Reviewed 6 April 2018

The location is nice: it is isolate and not far from the beach, although the sea has literally taken over the beach, so you won't find a long strip of sand. The problem is that their self catering facilities are very poor quality and food...More

Thank cristina.lussiana
View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Beachfront
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Room Service
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (93)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (9)
Pool & Beach (3)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
WanderingDawson
2 March 2016|
Answer
Response from KathyKaler | Reviewed this property |
HI Peter Our chalet at White Clay slept 5. There was a main bedroom with a double bed and the main living area held a sleeper couch and a single bed. It worked for us as a mom and two adult kids. The other chalets may have... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Rating of restaurant only"
Read review
"We were on the ground floor with folks above but heard very little noise."
Read review
"We were camping - cannot give tips on rooms. But from what I can see they all have beautiful views."
Read review
"The last room- their Honeymoon suite- has a lovely big Spa Bath!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing