We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Blanket Bay

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Blanket Bay
Blanket Bay
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Blanket Bay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 178: English reviews
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

It's such a shame that this attractive building in such a stunning location should be so soulless. The waiting staff are lovely and polite but the culture of how the place is run is shallow and empty. As a guest you feel like your a bit of an unfortunate but necessary inconvenience and lucky to be there at all. This...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank S F
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

Dear SF, I was very disappointed to read your review about your recent stay with us. I particularly enjoyed meeting you both and the discussions we had as we seemed to have so much in common regarding where we all were from. I know I had to break away from you to welcome a party of arriving guests; sadly we...

Orbost, Australia
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My wife and I stayed five nights in the Mt Aspiring Suite .The room was large and well appointed. Bathroom was great including a steam shower. The huge private balcony was a great place to relax and take in the fabulous ever changing view of the lake and mountains. Pre-dinner drinks each evening allowed us to chat to other guests...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elsdal_12
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

What a lovely surprise to receive your review today. We were so pleased you chose Blanket Bay to celebrate your milestone birthday. It was wonderful to get you away to Milford Sound by helicopter and also to experience The Dart Rive Jet Boat adventure. As you say we are privileged to live and work in this beautiful region of New...

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Thank you all the wonderful people who looked after us at our stay at Blanket Bay! Yes the lodge, our rooms, the food (OMG bring an extra stomach it's so delicious) and the unbelievable location are stunning. But it is the amazing people who make this experience unforgettable. Ruth you are a treasure ( Pumas World Cup 2015 ?!). Blanket...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Veryveryveryfussy
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

It’s not often I have to take issue with a review, despite the fact we agree Ruth is a real treasure, whatever she might dream, The Pumas will not overcome the mighty All Blacks in 2015! It was great fun having you with us, I have passed on your review to all the team. Chef Corey will be particularly pleased...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed for four nights in March and held our wedding ceremony at Earnslaw Peak. The team where unbelievable and nothing was too much trouble. I would put this venue as one of the best we have encountered in our travels around the world. Thank you to each and every staff member, management and especially Tom for welcoming us into...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GENERAL_MANAGER_DB
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

It is really special for us to look after small intimate marriages at the lodge. Yours was particularly fun as you chose to fly to The Earnslaw Burn for the ceremony; this has to be one of the most beautiful places in New Zealand, further more you arranged the most magical weather day for the big event. I have passed...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in mid Dec 2013. This was our 3rd lodge in NZ after Huka ( mind blowing ) and Matakauri ( also very good ). Glenorchy is heaven on earth and a must visit. The look and feel of the lodge is more American Ranch meets Ralph Lauren ( dark ) than the contemporary cleaner NZ...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ARJUNP921
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Blanket Bay. First off let me say how disappointed I am you felt I and the management team let you down during your stay with us. I also apologise not personally being here when you stayed as I was indeed overseas at the time on annual leave. I have investigated your concerns....

uk
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This is a perfect hotel. Location must be one of the best in the world. Rooms exceptionally comfortable with views all round. Food and service are faultless. I so ehow forgot the memory card in my camera and Martin wiped one of his own and gave it to me . Someone then went to queens town to buy a replacement....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ruthcarnall
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

We all agree how lucky we are to live and work in this extraordinary environment. This in itself draws a special breed of hospitality staff of which Martin is one. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. Don’t leave it too long before you return. Thank you for choosing Blanket Bay.

Buckinghamshire
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Have just spent 2 nights at Blanket Bay and wish we had been able to stay for longer. Alright the weather was perfect during our stay so we could really appreciate the amazing scenery but I think it would be spectacular at any time. We stayed in the Mt Aspiring suite (I did not realise until later that we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucyleopard
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

Ruth was delighted to read your review about Blanket Bay and was so pleased the weather behaved allowing you to take the helicopter to the glaciers and Milford Sound, it is a stunning trip. We were pleased to be able to upgrade you to one of our lodge suites. A good spot to enjoy the rugby, I hope the right...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We were able to spend 3 nights here - and somehow we lucked into an upgrade to one of the 2 GIANT cottages up the hill. If you are seeking luxury lodges - this is on your list. It is a spectacular property in a GREAT setting. Wonderful staff. Fine dining. This was our second favorite of the higher end...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoeHouston52
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the trouble to review Blanket Bay. We are delighted to read you enjoyed the lodge. As you say there are many great lodges in New Zealand which all have their own unique character. Grasmere Lodge is always one of my favourites too. We hope this will be the first of many visits to New Zealand. Thank...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We ended our trip to new Zealand with a 2 night stay at this hotel. What a way to end a marvelous trip. Judy from guest services was EXTRAORDINARY, I would go back just to spend time with her! Ana and the rest of the staff was INCREDIBLE.The food DELICIOUS. the views from our room like walking into a gorgeous...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cailebotte
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words; Judy and Ana will be particularly thrilled to get a mention on Trip Advisor and I will certainly let the kitchen brigade know how much you enjoyed the food. I am delighted you ended your visit to New Zealand with such a positive Blanket Bay experience. Come back soon

Red Bank, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My wife and daughter stayed three nights here just before Christmas. we had adjoining rooms the Mt.Earnslaw and the Rees for our daughter. have to say we have never stayed in a finer room than the Earnslaw suite the views of the lake and the mountains just glorious. the restaurants , the game room and spa were gorgeous. The resort...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bigjac15
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

Engaging with Donna at NZ Travel was a great call. She really does have an extensive knowledge of the country from experience gleaned over many years personally visiting the operators and subsequent planning of itineraries. We are so pleased you enjoyed the Blanket Bay experience. I have passed on your comments to all of my team particularly our therapist Yumi...

458 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
2:31
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (26)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (273)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Chalet Suite (60)
Viewed
Lodge Room (47)
Viewed
Lodge Suite (59)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenorchy
26.6 km away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#8 of 57 in Queenstown
189 reviews
32.1 km away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
27.8 km away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
29.5 km away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
27.3 km away
Azur
Azur
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This stunning backcountry retreat sits on the lakeshore 45 minutes outside Queenstown in the Southern Alps New Zealand. Lofty beamed ceilings, rock fireplaces and vast picture windows frame the heroic stone and timber lodge housing the Great Room, Den, Game Room, Gym, spa and several indoor/outdoor dining venues.Thirteen rooms offer every conceivable amenity. Activities include an outdoor lap pool, bush walks, fly-fishing, jet boating, horse riding and scenic heli-flights ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blanket Bay

Address: Rapid 4191 Glenorchy Queenstown Road | PO Box 35, Glenorchy 9350, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Glenorchy
Price Range: $1,666 - $2,608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blanket Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Blanket Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blanket Bay Hotel Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Blanket Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No bad rooms that I could see.”
 of 5 bubbles spaqueen12, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have views.”
 of 5 bubbles Paley, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I recommend the rooms on the first level or the villas. The rooms do not have a desk which makes it difficult to work when required.”
 of 5 bubbles Hymie01, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The end suite has a huge balcony”
 of 5 bubbles Spit56, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We had a lodge suite called Mt Earnslaw - in the main lodge but with a vast bathroom, balcony, lounge area and fire place and views!”
 of 5 bubbles ClareS863, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay