We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bold Peak Lodge

Hotels.comUSD 134*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 134*
USD 133*
USD 134*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Bold Peak Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 37: English reviews
Start your review of Bold Peak Lodge
 Click to rate
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We chose this cafe as we had parked nearby before wandering off to explore. It was chilly on our return and wanting a hot drink before returning to Queenstown, it seemed an ideal spot. Our tea and cakes were very good, the staff pleasant and we had a good view of the street outside to watch the world go by....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gwen008
hannahmoss, General Manager at Bold Peak Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. We love our peaceful little town and are very happy to hear you enjoyed our range of cakes and tea. We hope to see you again soon.

Tuatapere, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed here one night, our room was extremely small with a small bathroom. Only facility we had the room was an electric kettle, no microwave, plates or cutlery, there was however a very small fridge hiding in the wardrobe. The room was warm and the bed was comfortable. We felt it was a bit pricey for what we got. Certainly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MollyNZ43
hannahmoss, General Manager at Bold Peak Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you had great service and enjoyed our vast range of Cafe food. Bold Peak Lodge does not have kitchen facilities available which is stated on our website and booking sites. Our pricing is very competitive for the area and in comparison to Queenstown it attracts many guests. We hope you enjoyed Glenorchy.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

The cafe in this place have a good choice of light eats for lunch. The cofee was good too. Overall it is a good place for lunch in Glenorchy if one wishes to avoid the hour drive back to Queenstown for food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HotEarth
hannahmoss, General Manager at Bold Peak Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to place your feedback. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our large range of cafe food and beverages. We hope you had a wonderful time in Glenorchy and we hope to see you here again soon.

Amberley, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Four friends stayed the two nights either side of being away on a horse trek with High Country Horses. We had a two bedroom unit with four comfortable single beds. The bathroom appeared to have been newly redecorated and the pressure from the shower was good, could of done with a shelf for putting shampoo and soap on in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arawata_NZ
hannahmoss, General Manager at Bold Peak Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. The showers do have a soap holder attached to them, however we will pass this onto our Cleaning team to check they're suitable in all rooms. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your time in Glenorchy and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

Tiny rooms, ceilings so low and even the doors aren't regular sized. Very narrow. Couldn't stand to stay there had a panic attack so we went down and told the manager who was no help whatsoever. So rude and didn't even try to understand our situation. Tried to blame Expedia saying they get the payment when I didn't even book...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StephieeihpetS
hannahmoss, General Manager at Bold Peak Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It is very unfortunate that you did not like your stay as our room sizes are on par with most in the area. Bold Peak Lodge is a historic building in beautiful Glenorchy. When you visit remote places in New Zealand you are very unlikely to find accomodation to the International Size Standards you had...

Wanaka, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Small comfortable warm room with everything you could need for an overnight stay Very comfortable bed Good bathroom and shower Staff very friendly Food very good and reasonably priced Stunning views and surroundings

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesly1947
hannahmoss, General Manager at Bold Peak Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We're happy to hear you had a wonderful visit to Glenorchy. We love our lovely small town with it's peaceful surroundings. We hope to see you here again in the near future.

Colorado Springs, CO
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We booked a room here for 4 nights in order to do some hiking around Glenorchy. We were very happy with our stay here. The only problem we had was that booking through Expedia gave us different prices on different days, so we cancelled our Expedia booking and called the hotel directly. That caused some confusion which meant that they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BJW17
perth
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Stayed overnight at this Lodge. Quiet little town away from the hustle and bustle of Queenstown (which seemed busy and overcrowded). Lovley room and lovely restaurant and bar attached. Everthing within walking distance. Great spot to enjoy peace and quiet and to do some bush & track walks. Enjoed our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank denbart
HannahM17, General Manager at Bold Peak Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you had a great time here in Glenorchy. We love our small town for it's peaceful surroundings and fantastic scenery. We hope to see you back here again in the near future.

Boston
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Basic, basic room but quiet, good bed and plenty of hot water and pressure in the shower. And even a modest wifi that was fine for email and weather forecast. You come to Glenorchy for the outdoors, not to stay in your room. More than adequate for a couple nights in a beautiful location. Dinner in the pub was solid.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StartSlowAndEaseOff
HannahM17, General Manager at Bold Peak Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. It's great to hear you enjoyed our lovely little town. We love Glenorchy for it's peaceful surroundings and beautiful scenery. We hope to see you back here with us again soon.

Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Very friendly helpful staff. Had a mix up with overpayment on checkin but was quickly rectified. We stayed here for some luxury before doing the Routeburn track. The rooms were cosy and very comfortable beds. Beautiful modern bathroom with ample heating for March. Might be a bit lacking in the winter months though. The kettle doesn't fit under the tap...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tennelle O
HannahM17, General Manager at Bold Peak Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, we are so pleased that you had a great stay! Having recently taken over the lodge we will be hosting renovations to the rooms in June which will include reviewing the heating options for the winter and thank you for letting us know about the kettle, it is something we hadn't spotted before but...

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenorchy
29.1 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
1,355 reviews
29.2 km away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#23 of 58 in Queenstown
1,516 reviews
33.6 km away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.3 km away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#1 of 58 in Queenstown
224 reviews
27.8 km away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#25 of 58 in Queenstown
604 reviews
2.9 km away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#2 of 5 in Glenorchy
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT: 15/08/2016. At the heart of Glenorchy, Bold Peak Lodge invites you to relax and unwind after a day of exploring. You will be spoilt for choice with our 11 individually designed guest rooms. Open daily from 7am our popular Sugar Loaf Cafe serves a range of delicious homemade treats, coffee and brunch options. In the evening relax by the fire with a local wine or beer and tuck into our delicious tapas menu available at The Humboldt bar. With easy access to the The Routeburn track, horse riding and helicopter activities we are the perfect central location for your Glenorchy getaway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bold Peak Lodge

Address: Cnr Mull & Argyle St, Glenorchy, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Glenorchy
Price Range: $151 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bold Peak Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Bold Peak Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bold Peak Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Brisbane, Australia
2 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bold Peak Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the east side away from the bar would be quieter. Upstairs rooms have the views.”
Arawata_NZ, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the east side seem quieter - away from the bar and restaurant”
BJW17, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed on the top floor and a large corner room and very pleasant.”
Upchara, 28 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Upstairs you get the views and a small balcony”
EvaF350, 3 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Rooms on back side get afternoon sun beautifully.”
muriwaidonna, 1 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 134* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 133
Orbitz.comUSD 134
TravelocityUSD 133
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates