We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel

TripAdvisorUSD 130*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 195*
USD 130*
USD 132*
USD 195*
USD 130*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 123: English reviews
Start your review of Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
 Click to rate
Ghent, Belgium
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Never had before this kind of experience. All what you can dream of for a nature lover you can find here. The peace, the wild animals around you, the beautiful sights, very interesting bush man paintings and top of the bill: the Sani pass. Beside all this we stayed in a wonderful "Mist" house for 3 nights where we enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luc62_05
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Luc Wow thank you so much for the informative review. It is how we want all our guests to enjoy our piece of heaven. Waking up to that view of the mountains is special I agree. I will be sure to tell my chef and we hope you are able to come back to us sometime. regards Gareth

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Absolute gem in every respect! Wonderful game viewing; action packed trout fishing on an amazing lake surrounded by mountains with outstanding views all in a peaceful and tranquil setting; adventurous hikes; very well appointed, clean and superbly comfortable chalets; friendly and helpful staff. Great value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank X4670WBjamesj
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James thank you for the wonderful review, so glad the fishing was good and I will be sure to tell my staff. Regards Gareth

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

HI I just posted a review on Sani Valley Lodges... I Had an amazing stay with you guys and will certainly be back...I did however completely forget to add all my wonderful pictures. Please can you add them to my whole review if possible. Regards Shantal Singh

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shantal S
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shantal I will do it with pleasure, If I can, and thank you again. regards Gareth

Umhlali, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First class venue for a first class weekend. Everything from the accommodation to the views and scenery, the dam and especially the manner in which we were looked after was absolutely superb.We can seriously recommend Sani Valley

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frostley
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review

Dear "Frostley" Thank you for your recommendation, this does make it easy to motivate my staff when we get so much positive feedback from a function such as this, it also goes to show that although we normally provide romantic getaways and quiet weekends we are also able to offer great functions for larger groups. regards Gareth

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Such a wonderful weekend with beautiful views, excellent hospitality and relaxing weekend. The dam is the absolute best with fun water sports and great fishing - boys loved it. Food was exceptional and service outstanding! I highly recommend this lodge to any travelers wanting to enjoy the best of the Sani Valley!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank N7749QYclaudia
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Claudia Thank you so much for the review, sorry I have responded so late, I had taken a few days off, so glad your boys enjoyed the dam activities and good to hear the fishing was great. Regards Gareth

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Brilliant!!! Gareth & Sam, you guys are amazing hosts. The weather at Sean's party was terrible but it didn't phase you at all, and Sani Valley, as usual was stunning. Accommodation was awesome as usual :-)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne H
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Wayne Thank you for the compliments. Regards Gareth

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in a stunning chalet. It overlooked a dam with spectacular views of the Drakensberg from our room and the lounge. Extremely clean with everything we needed and the management and staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S5598KOdavidb
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review

Hi David Thank you so much for the review, sorry I have responded so late, I have been away......sometimes I have to also get away :) Regards Gareth

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We had the lovely rainbow lodge, which is well kitted and clean, as is the resort, with lots of 'to do' options. We had a catered meal for dinner, which was fantastic country cooking style chicken, roasties, and veg. such a treat to have it delivered to the cottage, by the friendly staff. Breakfasts were fine, but i think the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ryanm77330
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ryan Thank you for the review and the compliments on our Lodge, staff and food. My Apologies about the noise issue you had at the Boathouse, we had a guest function there the day you arrived, but did manage to have it finished in the early evening. I did have staff starting there early the next day and had...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 10 April 2017

My Boyfriend and I attending a wedding at Sani Valley Lodge over the weekend and we were absolutely blown away when we arrived. Getting to the accommodation was a little bit tricky because all of the rains had made it almost impossible to make it to reception which is a 4km drive along a rocky dirt road (Add rain and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanita T
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tanita Thank you so much for the review, it was a special weekend, and although the heavy rain did try to dampen the mood, it did clear at the right time and the wedding went off beautifully. We have had so much rain recently and unfortunately it has made it difficult to repair the road and having a large...

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed 25 March 2017

My husband and I just spent a restorative weekend at Sani River Valley. We were lucky enough to get one of the three Lakeside chalets, which I think have potentially the best views. These are incredibly well designed and situated right on the water. Downstairs there is a very well equipped kitchen with a lounge area leading out onto a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4Jones29
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 4jones29 (feels strange saying that) Thank you for the review, very detailed and covers all aspects of what we offer and I thank you for that. Yes my wife agrees with you, the bath view must be one of the best around. We try to offer home-style meals that do not spoil quickly as we deliver the meals to...

178 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (154)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Himeville
6.2 km away
Premier Resort Sani Pass
Premier Resort Sani Pass
#2 of 2 in Himeville
77 reviews
23.1 km away
Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort
44.0 km away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 km away
Khotso Adventure Farm
Khotso Adventure Farm
#3 of 19 in Underberg
126 reviews
8.3 km away
Moorcroft Manor
Moorcroft Manor
#1 of 9 in Himeville
102 reviews
29.3 km away
Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel is a private nature reserve only 2 hours from Durban. It sits within the dramatic Drakensberg mountain range, borders the World Heritage Site and is the closest luxury accommodation to the famous Sani Pass. The reserve accommodates couples, families and small groups, all with the choice of full & self catering. Within the valley sits one of the largest privately owned lakes in South Africa, which is surrounded by a variety of antelope, zebra, baboons and other wildlife. It is one of the very few animal reserves in the Drakensberg, further enhanced by the vast lake which attracts unparalleled birdlife. The fishing is well renowned with regional records being attributed to the size of the lake. This is the prefect place to relax and have fun. One can indulge in a massage, be taught how to fly fish, go otter spotting by canoe, lounge in the Jacuzzi, be taken game viewing on horse back, drive a 4X4 up the famous Sani Pass, hike to the Bushmen paintings and more. Come visit. It's an experience you'll never forget! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel

Address: Sani Pass | Sani Pass Road, Himeville 3256, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Himeville
Price Range: $159 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sani Valley Hotel Underberg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Ballito, South Africa
3 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take a Mist house: you will not regret it!!!”
Luc62_05, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are beautiful”
  • View from our room
waynehK1842XZ, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All the chalets have beautiful views and all seem upmarket and well designed”
4Jones29, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The rooms are self-catering however breakfast and dinner are provided. Would recommend the Lake View chalets.”
407janines, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Both rainbow and sunset were great!”
Egior, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
USD 130* /night
View Deal
PricelineUSD 132
Agoda.comUSD 130
Booking.comUSD 195
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates