We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Estalagem do Vale Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Estalagem do Vale Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Estalagem do Vale Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 44: English reviews
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2016

This came as part of a good value TravelBird package. We didn’t expect too much and so were not disappointed. Firstly, the location is pretty much off the beaten track, in a residential area and a car is essential. We drove past four times before we identified the property – maybe we are stupid – but the signage is poor....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KevinTurvey
Estalagem d, General Manager at Estalagem do Vale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear member of TripAdvisor, We hereby answer to your comment made on Trip Advisor regarding our Hotel and also our staff, which we are very grateful for, and it helps us to correct and improve every day. Regarding your comment about the signalling of the hotel, please be advised that the roads of access to the same, are properly signalled...

Cabrerets, France
Reviewed 4 January 2016

We stayed at this hotel for 10 nights over Christmas and New Year and had a really wonderful time. We stayed here previously 8 years ago and always vowed we would return. We were made to feel so welcome. It is in a beautifully peaceful setting on the north of the island, it is best to hire a car, though...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gillden
Estalagem d, Front Office Manager at Estalagem do Vale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear member of TripAdvisor, We hereby thank you for your review towards our hotel and staff which we are very grateful for; it helps us to correct and improve every day. We hope to receive you again in Hotel Estalagem do Vale. Best regards.

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2016

A very friendly family run hotel based in the forest on the North of the Island and ideally placed for those visiting Madeira for a walking holiday. Accommodation is very comfortable (try to get a room with a balcony view down to the coast of across to the hills). Meals are excellent especially for those who like fish and offers...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank peter366
Estalagem d, Public Relations Manager at Estalagem do Vale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear member of TripAdvisor, We hereby answer to your comment made on Trip Advisor regarding our Hotel and also our staff, which we are very grateful for,it helps us to correct and improve every day. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here in our hotel Estalagem do Vale.We hope to see you soon once again.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2015

This small hotel sits in a gorgeous setting amongst the mountains of Sao Vicente. It is quiet and you need a car to see the island but so much more tranquil than other spots. Staff were excellent. Food was good and we only ate elsewhere one night. We had a great week here and it is perfect for a quiet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tim4965
Estalagem d, Front Office Manager at Estalagem do Vale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tripadvisor member, We thank you for your comments and interaction with our workforce, which for us is always important. Only this way we can improve the quality of our services and create conditions of excellence. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here in our hotel Estalagem do Vale and hope to see you soon once again. Best...

Reviewed 28 October 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 1 week in October and the weather was horrible for 3 days out of 4. As it was optional, we did not book a room with a view of the mountain. We should have, as we had a magnificient view of the neighbours's gardens. The windows were not equipped with net curtains so we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charlene O
Estalagem d, Front Office Manager at Estalagem do Vale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear member of TripAdvisor, We hereby answer your comment made on Trip Advisor, once we appreciate all sorts of comments whether they are appreciative or derogatory. 1.We do have two tipes of courtains, the blackout and the other courtain for decoration, we don’t understand when you say that you had to be in the dark for privacy!that’s why we have...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2015

We stayed for 2 weeks at the above hotel.. This is much too long, we did not know that it was 35 minutes into Funchal. You really do need to have a car. Having said this the staff are excellent and nothing is too much trouble. The food is good, but the chef seems to repeat the menus every other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank june_koubel
Estalagem d, Public Relations Manager at Estalagem do Vale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tripadvisor member, Thank you for leaving your review towards our hotel. Best regards.

Brentwood, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2015

We were looking for a smaller hotel in a quiet location in Madeira and this proved to be the case. The staff were friendly and professional and the facilities were good. They have an excellent chef in Roberto. I enjoyed every meal and we only ate out once. - particularly good dessert trolley. It is probably best to hire a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernadine W
Estalagem d, Front Office Manager at Estalagem do Vale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tripadvisor member. Thank you for your kind words. Best regards.

Belgium
Reviewed 6 September 2015

We stayed here during our round trip around Madeira. Our overall experience with the hotels up north was that they were less in quality (but cheaper) than those in Funchal, but this was one of the better ones. This one was average. We had difficulties finding the hotel, driving up and down the hill, the hotel was poorly recognisable from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chitza
Bucharest
Reviewed 14 June 2015

After spending a week in Funchal, we moved to Sao Vicente for three days, so that our trips would be shorter. The hotel is not easy to find by searching for the address - both car's GPS and our own did not find it. However, searching for a POI (point of interest) did the trick. There are also a few...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank roslayer
Estalagem d, Guest Relations Manager at Estalagem do Vale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear member of TripAdvisor, We hereby answer your comment made on Trip Advisor, once we appreciate all sorts of comments whether they are appreciative or derogatory. In the paragraph that you comment about the mini bar, we inform you that its only by request, If you had informed the reception of your interest in the mini bar, we were happy...

Beaminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2015

We chose this to have a special celebration and it proved to be a good choice ! As it was small, it felt really personal and we found the service excellent and subtle. The old part of the hotel has some interesting old items on display in the corridors and there's a really nice feel to it. We had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rauma
Estalagem d, Guest Relations Manager at Estalagem do Vale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear member of TripAdvisor, We hereby answer your comment made on Trip Advisor, once we appreciate all sorts of comments whether they are appreciative or derogatory. About the tv in the bedroom, that you say its a “small tv”, we inform you that our hotel is doing the replacement of the equipment, however, as it is a large-capacity investment, we...

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
4:17
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sao Vicente
19.7 km away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
24.5 km away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#3 of 14 in Canico
427 reviews
15.1 km away
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
#1 of 5 in Porto Moniz
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 km away
Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria
31.3 km away
Quinta do Lorde Resort, Hotel & Marina
20.0 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
2,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Estalagem do Vale is a charming, historical country-house style inn that offers comfortable, “home from home” accommodation in the beautiful setting of the Laurissilva Forest, one of the most idyllic places on Madeira Island. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Estalagem do Vale Hotel

Address: Sitio das Feiteira de Baixo, Sao Vicente, Madeira 9240-206, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Sao Vicente
Price Range: $81 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Estalagem do Vale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Estalagem do Vale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Estalagem Do Vale
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Estalagem do Vale Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Estalagem do Vale Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room overlooking the mountains”
  • Cloudy but beautiful
148Terri_j, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had room 103 on first floor overlooking pool, you hear and smell more here!”
r1ff, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“pay premium for the view”
jot704, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“will need to upgrade and pay more if you want a full mountain view”
maureen029, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the rooms with no balcony”
KevinTurvey, 8 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5