We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
03/12/2017 04/12/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Hostel Coco Loco

    Fernando Cassis, Malecon, Canoa 131451, Ecuador
    Lowest prices for your stay
    03/12/2017 04/12/2017
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in CanoaSee available hotels in Canoa
    Traveller (33)
    Dining (5)
    Room & Suite (4)
    • Excellent44%
    • Very good21%
    • Average14%
    • Poor10%
    • Terrible11%
    Travellers talk about
    “private room” (7 reviews)
    “the owner” (27 reviews)
    “each evening” (2 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Breakfast Available
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Airport Transportation
    Multilingual Staff
    Pets Allowed
    Business Centre
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a Review
    Reviews (142)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year

    1 - 5 of 112 reviews

    Reviewed 19 May 2017

    Spent two days here - perfect place to stay in Canoa, a sleepy beach town on the Ecuadorian coast if Montanita isn't your vibe. The owner is very accomodating and friendly - anything you need they'll help you with! Highly recommend.

    Thank Danny M
    Reviewed 17 May 2017

    I stayed one night in the hostel and changed to another place. The common shower had a urine smell and was dirty so I wasn't keen of taking one. Our room had a window without glass but it had wooden shutters which we first closed...More

    Thank Chantal G
    Response from hostalcocoloco, Owner at Hostel Coco LocoResponded 19 May 2017

    Hi Chantal G, thanks for the review. I'm sorry you weren't satisfied with the state of the shower, our housekeeping staff scrubs all of our bathrooms with bleach and disinfectant every day but unfortunately we live in a world where some people aren't considerate of...More

    Reviewed 3 May 2017

    I really liked this place. It's affordable and has a super chill vibe. The hostel is in the perfect location in Canoa with lots of restaurants around and the surf/beach is literally steps from the hostel. They have board rentals (and surf report is written...More

    Thank Brandi8888
    Response from hostalcocoloco, Owner at Hostel Coco LocoResponded 4 May 2017

    Thanks for the review Brandi8888, I'm glad you had a good time in Canoa and enjoyed your stay at the Coco Loco. Hope to see you back here soon!

    Reviewed 1 May 2017

    This hostel is beautiful and has a great location but unfortunately we didn't enjoy our stay. Our double room was very basic, light fittings hanging off the wall, not the cleanest sheets, generally could do with a quick spruce up. The bathrooms were some of...More

    Thank skeltonh
    Response from hostalcocoloco, Owner at Hostel Coco LocoResponded 4 May 2017

    Hi skeltonh, I'm glad you were able to appreciate some of the hostel's amenities despite our shortcomings. As you pointed out we are in a transition period and we're about to undergo major renovations to address some of the problems you pointed out, including new...More

    Reviewed 22 April 2017

    I found the hostel pretty great. We stayed in a double room with a private bathroom, and honestly, before getting there I didn't expect the room to be this nice. I mean, it was $30-a-night nice - clean room, clean sheets, a mosquito net over...More

    Thank Donata160
    Response from hostalcocoloco, Owner at Hostel Coco LocoResponded 24 April 2017

    Hi Donata160, thanks for your review, I'm glad you found the Coco Loco clean and comfortable, we've been working hard to improve general cleanliness ever since I took over last month. Our upcoming renovations will address the hot water and security concerns that you mentioned,...More

    Balandra Hotel
    614 reviews
    #1 of 12 hotels in Manta
    61.3 km
    Mantahost Hotel
    438 reviews
    #2 of 12 hotels in Manta
    62.6 km
    Hotel Oro Verde Manta
    1,331 reviews
    #3 of 12 hotels in Manta
    61.4 km
    Best Western Premier Sail Plaza Manta
    52 reviews
    #4 of 12 hotels in Manta
    62.8 km
    • Top amenities
    • Beachfront
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Restaurant
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
    • Airport Transportation
    • Business Centre with Internet Access
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Breakfast Available
    • Things to do
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Restaurant
    • Room types
    • Suites ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 7
    • Location
    • Ecuador >
    • Manabi Province >
    • Canoa
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (33)
    Dining (5)
    Room & Suite (4)
    Pool & Beach (3)
    Hotel & Grounds (28)
    Family and Play Areas (2)
    Nearby Restaurants
    Hotel Bambu Restaurant
    152 reviews
    .35 km away
    114 reviews
    .20 km away
    Cevicheria Saboreame
    118 reviews
    .03 km away
    Surf Shak
    176 reviews
    .00 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Rio Muchacho Organic Farm
    64 reviews
    4.85 km away
    Museo Bahia de Caraquez
    52 reviews
    16.08 km away
    Ecuador Ceibos Tour
    18 reviews
    65.98 km away
    Museo Ciudad Alfaro
    61 reviews
    69.60 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Hostel Coco Loco staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Room Tips
    "the room Chile has a nice view, good bed and private bathroom"
    Read review
    "Ask for a private room. Lock away valuables in rooms and bags."
    Read review
    "Brazil room is a great place to stay if you need your own privacy."
    Read review
    "Second Floor is best! :)"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing