We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Castlecary House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Castlecary House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

474 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Castlecary House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 465: English reviews
Amble, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2015

On our way home from a holiday on the Moray we decided to break our journey, we chose this hotel as it is close to the motorway. It had great parking facilities and as we were in a room in one of the chalets, adjacent to the main building , our car was close by us. Our double room was...

Thank June D
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review and recommendation. With the good wishes of the entire team. Jonathan

Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2015 via mobile

This was my first visit for something to eat at the Castlecary House and I was with 7 family members, some of which had been before. We sat in the Bar area and on first impressions it does seem to be in need of a lil upgrade as it isn't the most glamorous but hey ho it's cosy. The waitress...

Thank Cherie-Gee
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your dining experience with us and we hope to see you again soon. Jonathan

Reviewed 15 September 2015

went today for afternoon tea along with my granddaughter. the picture on line showed sandwiches, scones, cakes an a glass of champagne, disappointing there was no scones and no champagne. we had sandwiches which were fine also there were cakes 2 mini strawberry tarts, one small sliver of chocolate tart and one minute slice caramel shortcake. it was !£8 for...

2Thank mardas
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

I want to be nice about this review but I'm struggling if I am honest. When I think a review has a point and is written in a constructive way I say so and respond accordingly and talk to the team here to see what we need to put right. So I am going to do that right thing on...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed for one night in the flatlets. We had requested a double room but had 2 single beds shoved together. The room was clean but looks like it has not been decorated since the 90s. Bathroom very old fashioned and the beds were uncomfortable. We did not use any of the hotels facilities. Better off at a travelodge!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

I am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations and fair somewhat better. We do have an ongoing refurbishment programme and I hope that one day we will be able to show you that we can do much better and if you wish to reach out to me personally please feel free to do so at any time....

Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

nice clean place food was excellent well worth the money the home baking was delicious staff were friendly and welcoming service was quick would i go ago definitely yes i would recommend this place to everybody

1Thank Dawn C
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your dining experience with us and we hope to see you again soon. Jonathan

Reviewed 4 September 2015

Stayed here for three nights and would fully recommend it! Our first impression was the fantastic reception we got. We asked for a bit of information on the area, transport to Edinburgh etc... The reception lady (and another lady she called through) googled all the info about train times/prices and helped in every way they could. We were very impressed,...

2Thank watwethought
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

It was a joy to read your fantastic review and we would like you to know how much it means to us all. Please come back and see us again soon. With my good wishes and those of all the team, Jonathan

Reviewed 3 September 2015

We stopped over here on our way back from a holiday in the North of Scotland. The receptionist was very helpful and the rooms were comfortable although a little dated but very clean and bathroom facilities. Breakfast was tasty.

1Thank Elle602
Reviewed 27 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Castlecary hotel at the weekend. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. Eveyone at the function on the Saturday night had a great time. Good food, reasonably priced drink and a great venue overall. The double room we stayed in at the hotel was a good price for bed and breakfast and it was...

1Thank Jules C
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2015

Attended a charity ball here on the 22nd Aug the location was handy just off the motorway, function suite decent size and beautifully decorated, service, staff and food was brilliant (the steak pie was fantastic!!) and mews accommodation was clean and plenty big enough for two, we are looking forward to making it an annual event.

2Thank carolyne b
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, What a wonderful review – thank you so very much. I wish you safe travels and hope that they will bring you back to Castlecary House soon. With my good wishes and those of all the team. Jonathan

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2015

if you were going to be placed in a room very close to an evening wedding disco function, it would've have been helpful and expected of a 3* hotel, to have been told this before arrival. It was also shocking to have your friends called liars and 'disgraceful' by the "Director" when they were making a reasonable complaint. Why would...

Thank Virginia T
BHtlGuestRelations, Owner at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

It is saddening to read reviews where our guests are left unfulfilled by a stay at Castlecary House Hotel, however we do not recognise your review as a source of viable criticism or suggestion for improvement. You were quite the most unreasonable guest we have had here for sometime. Perhaps one day there will be a review mechanism for the...

123 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (74)
Dining (4)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
View from Room (8)
Bathroom (5)
Room/Suite (15)
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (49)
Room/Suite (8)
Dining (11)
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Bathroom (1)
View from Room (1)
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumbernauld
2.5 km away
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
4.1 km away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Cumbernauld) Hotel
7.0 km away
The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Premier Inn Falkirk (Larbert) Hotel
15.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Glasgow Stepps Garfield House Hotel
14.3 km away
Airth Castle & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Be welcomed by our friendly staff when you stay at the Castlecary House Hotel. Strategically located in the heart of central Scotland, this hotel enjoys a quiet suburban location, a short drive from Glasgow city centre and an ideal base for those who wish to explore Scotland's abundance of unique landmarks. Enjoy complimentary WiFi in all public areas of the hotel, ample complimentary car parking and easy access to the M80 North and South, as well as Scotland's main motorway network M8/M9/M73/M74. Visit The Falkirk Wheel,The Helix Park and The Kelpies, The Forth & Clyde Canal, stunning Loch Lomond, take the kids for an educational day out at Stirling Castle or Blair Drummond Safari Park or head into Glasgow (train station 3 miles from hotel) or across to Edinburgh. Whether you are a serious shopper, culture vulture, theatre-goer or visiting on business you couldn't be better placed.All of the guest rooms at this hotel offer modern amenities including a freeview TV, black-out curtains, a spacious work area and WiFi. Larger rooms are available, ideal for longer stays and families. Food is Homemade. We make it easy for you to enjoy a delicious meal without even leaving the hotel with a choice of dining options from the informality of Camerons Restaurant which has built an excellent reputation for serving a variety of traditional Scottish dishes using fresh and local produce to the hotel's traditional pub The Poachers Lounge & Snug which serves fine home cooked food and is a local legend! Host a successful business or social event in our Cameron Suite for up top 150 guests.Highlights set in a quiet suburban location, close to GlasgowEasy access to the M80 North and South and many attractions and businesses Camerons Restaurant The Poachers Lounge & Snug traditional pub and function suite ideal for parties or meetings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castlecary House Hotel

Address: Castlecary Road | Nr Cumbernauld, Cumbernauld G68 0HD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Cumbernauld
Price Range: $77 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlecary House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Castlecary House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecary Hotel Glasgow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castlecary House Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Castlecary House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I was only in two of the rooms but other looked different but I think no matter what room you get you will love it,”
 of 5 bubbles Cloharry, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There are various rooms located about the site, preference seems to be in the hotel, the other rooms are ok though,”
 of 5 bubbles whickerg, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“to be honest never seen to many rooms at the place but we stayed in 145”
 of 5 bubbles mgrover90, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Less mobile clients could choose rooms near the elevators”
 of 5 bubbles Colnagorod, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The website photos perhaps resemble the rooms in the main building but is not like any of those at the side and back buildings.”
 of 5 bubbles 342rosemarieb, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5