O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat

3582 Lamington National Park Road, Canungra, Queensland 4275 Australia
In between cupboard and microwave
Traveller (1908)
Room & Suite (519)
Drinks at the Rainforest Bar
Dining (66)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 1 villa in Canungra
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Explore World Heritage-listed Lamington National Park from the best and only vantage point on Green Mountain - at O’Reilly’s Rainforest Retreat - operated by passionate by third generation O’Reilly family members whose ancestors pioneered eco tourism in Australia in 1926. Choose to stay in a cosy Rainforest Retreat guest room with expansive views overlooking the western McPherson Range or one of 48 self-contained and architecturally designed modern Villas perched unobtrusively onto the sloping hillside. Get amongst the daily activities of guided bird walks, animal shows and the famed Tree Top Walk and treehouse climb to viewing platforms above. Plus, test your skills on an off road two-wheeled Segway tour through creek crossings to Morans Falls, or bliss out in the Lost World Day Spa. Dine in the casual treehouse bar on homemade pizzas or opt for the rustic dining room with a gourmet a la carte menu including matching wines from the Canungra Valley Vineyards down the road. Order a packed lunch or picnic hamper and set off to one of 500 waterfalls via 160 kilometres of nature trails.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Great View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

3582 Lamington National Park Road, Canungra, Queensland 4275 Australia
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 48 out of 100
48
Gold Coast Airport
37.2 km
See all flights
Lismore Airport
68.3 km
See all flights
1,941Review16Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,005
  • 533
  • 219
  • 113
  • 71
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
G A wrote a review Aug 2020
Brisbane, Australia61 contributions57 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The location is to die for, and it shows.
Now with Binna Burra out of action, O'Reilly's has a monopoly and does not need to offer much to get the custom.

Staff were great: the front desk staff offered very insightful help with choosing the walking path and direction, and we overheard cleaners reminding each other to sterilize door handles.

The studio is the most modest accommodation option, and it is very basic.
Ours was recently renovated with varying results.
It is nice and fresh, with good-quality materials and the best availability of power points I have ever encountered in commercial accommodation.

However, the walls have practically no sound insulation, and the neighbours' music choice, phone calls and snoring are perfectly audible. In this context it is good that there is no TV in the room.
Some genious placed the hand towel ring so that the towel hangs at knee level.
Both the toilet and the handbasin had leaking plumbing during our stay.
Dispensers in the bathroom are extremely reluctant to part with their content, no doubt reducing usage.

The noisy pool pump is running 24/7. How hard would it be to fit an acoustic hood to reduce the annoying drone?

The bed is pushed to the wall and needs to be pulled out a little to allow a narrow access path from both sides.
There is no chair in the room, only a backless bench that also serves as storage space.

The aim is clearly to discourage staying in the room much and self catering.
The latter is risible given the food offering.
We only attempted evening meals with unsatisfactory results.
The menu is right ouf of a 1990s RSL restaurant, as is the quality.
Forget about pizzas as the fallback: the cook uses scone flour and the base is near inedible. Tasteless shredded chicken breast scattered on top and underbaking rounded ours out.
The set three-course menu may seem good value for $55, but we do not eat that much and neither were the choices appealing.
A couple of years back one could get interesting smaller meals at the bar, but not any more. Only the soups of the day (yaaaawn), pizzas and samosas were available during our stay. The pizza as above, and 2 samosas for $12 ...
House shiraz and sangiovese both tasted like sourced from Ribena.

There is no mention of the advertised free Internet anywhere on the printed material or at reception.

So, one would still go to O'Reilly's for the surroundings of it, but take one's own food, a couple of camping chairs and earplugs.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brendan Long, Other at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat
Responded 28 Aug 2020
I am so sorry that you did not enjoy various aspects of your stay GA. We are clearly operating under some restrictions at present, nonetheless, we are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. As always, we acknowledge the feedback and will address the concerns with a view to ongoing improvement. Sincerely, Brendan Long Retreat Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bron1e wrote a review Nov 2020
Brisbane, Australia178 contributions19 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The location of O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat is outstanding with access to loads of lovely walks, including the TreeTop Walk and the waterfall walks. The free morning bird walks are quite cute. I am not sure how I feel about the fact that feeding the native birds brings them closer. The sunsets were nothing short of spectacular. There is a lovely garden near the TreeTop Walk which was fun to explore and had loads of lovely flowers in bloom.

We had a Mountain View Room - Queen + Single. The room itself was lovely and very spacious with a bar fridge and kettle. The balcony was small but there was enough room for a bench. We were disappointed to find that our room was one of a handful of rooms that does not come with a garage. I had to park the car away from the resort and it was not undercover. Hence, my car was very dirty after 3 days.

We took our own food in an esky for 2 meals a day as we were on a budget. The O'Reilly's Mountain Cafe had a varied menu and seemed reasonably priced.

We enjoyed the Managers Welcome, learning about the history of the resort, with a free glass of bubbles. Each afternoon around 4.30 different documentaries linked to the resort are shown.

Unfortunately the Plunge and Infinity Pool was not open when we visited. The employees are very friendly and helpful.

The tap water comes from a nearby spring and was delicious. No need to bring your own water! It is also slightly cooler up here and so a coat or cardigan might be a good idea for early morning or late evenings.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brendan Long, Other at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat
Responded 11 Nov 2020
Good morning and thank you for such a thorough post. Apologies that the Infinity Pool was out of action during your visit. We had some COVID issues we had to address which are now complete so it is fully operational again. We are pleased you enjoyed so many other aspects of your stay and trust we might see you again one day soon. Kind regards, Brendan Long Retreat Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deb B wrote a review Mar 2021
Brisbane, Australia63 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a wonderful time at O'Reillys Rainforest. I have been coming to O'Reillys since a young child for day trips with my parents and siblings and have always loved and enjoyed our time.

We stayed in Villa 35 Valley View with a king size bed/went for the package breakfast/dinner/activities and this was a great way to pay upfront and not worry about a bill at the end. The Villa has a full kitchen/great selection of included teas/clean and neat/microwave/full oven/cook top/kettle/big half fridge/freezer/ bar-b-que/large lovely ensuite with shampoo/conditioner/body wash. The spa is wonderful on the deck looking out to the amasing valley views. The lounges so comfortable and a natural gas fire place that we used once. There is a washing machine/dryer/laundry sink. There is a carport. At the end of the road approx 50 metres away is a 300 metre track back up to the Cafe/dinning/activities area, you will need your walking shoes and will be muddy if raining. It is partly uphill to the cafe/dinning/activities area. You may be using your car to and from the villa to the restaurant and there is parking in the visitor area. The telephone didnt work in our villa however we just used our mobile to get in contact with reception. A beautiful villa.

The restaurant for breakfast and dinner was brilliant. The perculated coffee very very good. Breakfast and dinner is top quality and brilliant. The restaurant has a lovely feel . The staff are so friendly and go out of their way to help/direct.

The bar is great with amasing views. We were fortunate to have a cold night so the fireplaces in the library and bar were on, and we used our fireplace in our villa. It was beautiful.

The rainforest surrounding the resort is brilliant. Full of wildlife. Walks fantastic. The activities: we attended the Early morning bird walk near the resort, glow worms, Birds of Prey, Segway Safari Tour to view Morans Falls, Wildlife Encounters. Mark and Ben were the guides. They are an asset to O'Reillys with knowledge and great personalities interacting so well with visitors with a passion for the wildlife and activities and love to educate...thankyou to both of you. Next time we would love to do the Billy tea tour, Flying fox, Sunset experience and the 4x4 tour.

The staff are brilliant at O'Reillys and it was really lovely to see an O'Reilly family member (Greg O'Reilly) walking around working and mingling with visitors. It leaves a lovely touch to the O'Reillys family business.

Such a wonderful experience at OReillys and high recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Villa 35, beautiful valley views, quiet area. On a corner and main road servicing villas runs...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brendan Long, Other at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat
Responded 21 Mar 2021
Thnak you for such a thorough review Deb. See you next time. Kind regards, Brendan Long Retreat Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
beheaded c wrote a review Nov 2020
Brisbane, Australia1,351 contribution202 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a mountain view room for 4 nights till 30 October and it was so special. Our first visit was in 1972 and we have seen so many changes since. For decades we brought our children here until they moved on and we have many happy memories. The retreat has kept pace with the times, our room was well finished, the bed comfortable and the bathroom as good as you get. No phone or TV is bliss and the WiFi does work well so we still are connected.The joy is the bird life and we had many companions who came to us, especially the king parrots. I would like to congratulate the staff though. On arrival we found one tyre was flat and when I asked at reception, Yani rang the maintenance man called Nick and to our surprise Nick was waiting by our car when we walked back. The job was done with a smile. Not many resorts are so accommodating, so thank you O'Reillys. We took the breakfast and dinner package at $85 per head and it was good value and a good standard. I will write separately about that. Lunches now are provided at the Mountain cafe and again the bird life is abundant. We have walked all the tracks many times and never tire of the beautiful Lamington National park. Watching the sunset from the roof top bar is a treat and the atmosphere is warm and cosy. If you want to get away from it all this is a perfect place to come.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brendan Long, Other at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat
Responded 8 Nov 2020
Pleased we were able to assist with the flat tyre to ensure the rest of the stay was so enjoyable. See you next time. Kind regards, Brendan Long Retreat Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jenny B wrote a review May 2021
Brisbane, Australia94 contributions36 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were a group of 4 adults who stayed in a 2B/R villa. Although a bit of a walk from the main eating places, the sense of peace and views were well worth it. Super clean, very roomy bathrooms, rooms and shared space and we could cook ourselves or order food to the door or walk/drive up to the restaurant or bar for bar meals. All of which were fabulous options. We loved the heaters over the outdoor tables as the sunset at the upstairs bar after an exciting day of walking and the light meals - a serious sense of satisfaction and serenity!
The rainforest, birds and wildlife speak for themselves - the main attraction. However, the STAFF were attentive, thoughtful, supportive, informative, interested and caring right from the staff and truly made the stay unforgettable!!
I loved my stay at O'Reilly's Retreat and hope to return soon! Thankyou, Thankyou, Thankyou!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brendan Long, Other at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat
Responded 17 May 2021
Good morning Jenny and thank you for your lovely feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back next time. Kind regards, Brendan Long Retreat manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anne G wrote a review Oct 2020
Gold Coast, Australia158 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from a 3 day stay which exceeded our expectations. Firstly, the drive up from Canungra was quite challenging, especially for a nervous passenger, but that all melted away when we arrived. We were made very welcome by Greg and the staff at the afternoon tea and Managers Welcome which included a glass of O'Reilly's bubbles and a yummy Lamington! We had booked a Queen Mountain View room, number 37. It turned out to be up the back overlooking the garden and walkway. It was on the ground floor and the noise from the people in the room above talking and walking across was a bit of a downer. The room was comfortable and the bathroom was quite newly renovated and shower good and hot. The bed was comfortable. This room is missing a curtain or blind on the small side window, so the light comes in early in the morning. We found some pistachio nuts on the floor from the previous guests. Next time we would book a Mountain View Double room lower down with the views across the valley and sunset. We watched the sunset from the bar, which was great, but the best sunset views are probably from the camp ground down the road. We had a pizza here one night after a hike. It was very good. We had the set 3 course dinner at the restaurant which was lovely. We sat in the little dining room in front of a fabulous fire. Minestrone Soup, then I had the pork cutlet for main and my Husband had the eye fillet. Both were very tasty. We followed up with the chocolate pudding, which for me was topped with a birthday candle and a singing waitress! We also had breakfast in the restaurant one morning. The eggs were great.The real magic of the place begins early in the morning with the bird walk and feeding. No where else can you get so close to the variety of beautiful birds all coming down to eat from your hands. Bower Birds, Robins, King Parrots, Crimson Rosellas, Whipbirds and Scrub wrens are a few. We saw 4 Lyre Birds during our stay and two black Dingoes. We did the Box Forest Circuit walk which is 11km round trip and well worth it. Through ancient forest and past a series of beautiful falls incuding Box Log and Elebana Falls. The next day Greg had recommended the Python Rock track and it did not disapoint. 4.4kms round trip from the Guest House. Easy walk, great scenery at the end view point over the Lost World valley and Morans Falls on the other side. We saw Rufous Fantails and two huge Land Mullet skinks. One was about two feet long. We enjoyed our stay so much we have gone on the waiting list for Bird Week, which gets booked out quite early. This is a Resort for Bird and Nature Lovers and you will get the most appreciation for it by staying at least one or two nights, not just a day trip.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brendan Long, Other at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat
Responded 9 Oct 2020
Thank you for your thorough review Anne. My apologies that there were some small aspects of your stay which were not up to the standards we expect of ourselves. We will certainly make these a part of our conversation towards continuous improvement. So pleased you enjoyed so many other aspects of your stay including the meals and the beautiful flora and fauna. Hope we can welcome you back for our famous Birdweek in November. Until then... Brendan Long Retreat Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Philip wrote a review Sept 2020
Kenmore, Australia92 contributions108 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in one of the "One Bedroom Canopy Suites". It is a huge room with a seperate living space equal in size to the bedroom space and a large bathroom with a spa bath and seperate shower and two sinks. Both the bedroom and living room have their own balcony, each with a table and chairs to enjoy the view or eat breakfast.

The view across the valley to the scenic rim range and Mt Barney and Mt Lindesay is superb (we were on the top level of the suites).

It is close to the dining hall and walking trails.

There is a wood stove in the bedroom that is pre set-up so that just one match and it is roaring. We didn't really NEED it in mid September, but our second night was down to about 6 C, so we decided to give it a go.

The walking trails are well maintained and have a variety of options from 30 minute walks to 2-3 hour walks.

We took our own breakfast cereal (there is a bar fridge in the room and a sink and washing materials), but bought lunch (sausage rolls) at the cafe and then splurged with dinner in the restaurant. The dinner is relatively expensive at AUD 55/person, but is a three course meal where you choose from 2 soup options; about 3-4 mains options and a few dessert options. The food was great, servcie was excellent with very attentive wait staff who whipped away each course when you were done and brought the next in good time. There were plenty of options for gluten/dairy free people as well. You can also have meals delivered to your room, but we did not do this.

Highly recommend a saty here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The upper rooms of the One Bedroom Canopy Suites give a great view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brendan Long, Other at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat
Responded 28 Sept 2020
Good morning Phillip and thank you for your thorough response. So pleased that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and trust we may see you again soon. Kind regards, Brendan Long Retreat Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jo B wrote a review Dec 2020
Caloundra, Australia57 contributions13 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our first visit to O'Reilly's was an enjoyable and relaxing one. My husband, son and I stayed in one of the older mountain view rooms, which was spacious and clean. There is much to like about O'Reilly's, and a few areas needing some attention. First, the staff and their service are friendly, attentive and helpful. A special mention to delightful Charlotte. Second, the food is excellent. Although not cheap, the options are varied and you have a choice of bar, restaurant and in room dining menus. There is also a cafe, however this is not open in the evening. Third, the location is beautiful, with fabulous walks and gorgeous birdlife. We enjoyed a great guided tour with Matt. Some minor observations however left some negative impressions. The main retreat is old, and there are areas that need some TLC. Specifically, some sections could be screened off from guests' views, such as maintenance areas where various containers etc are stored. It was also unpleasant viewing a dumping ground of furniture and old electrical goods etc near the pathway to the Infinity pool. Sadly, there were several cigarette butts near the pool, and disused furniture and other rubbish near the spa building. Some attention to detail around the grounds and maintenance areas would truly make O'Reilly's a more pristine environment. This is a World Heritage listed site, and one stunning place deserving of special care. Stay here, and you will appreciate the beautiful location.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brendan Long, Other at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat
Responded 10 Dec 2020
Hi Jo and thank you for the feedback. You make some very valid points on areas of improvement which are a key part of our focus right now. As part of a larger focus we are working to sharpen the presentation in many areas. Like many other operators, we are working within some financial constraints, given that we were completely closed for business for 10 weeks, earlier in the year. It takes some time to regain that revenue but, be assured, we are diligently working through the challenges ahead of us. I am pleased you enjoyed so many other aspects of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Brendan Long Retreat Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
julieanneob wrote a review Feb 2020
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom90 contributions58 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We’re traveling round Australia and Trailfinders recommended staying here. It’s our 35 wedding anniversary while we’re here and we arrived to find fizz in the fridge, which was a lovely gesture. The villa is amazing. Stunning views and big and modern with a hot tub on the balcony overlooking the rainforest. Staff are friendly and there are lots of activities everyday if you wish to participate but most are an extra $25 aus each. We walked round the site in the morning and went on a 4 wheel drive tour in the afternoon. We were taken to some amazing Places with gorgeous views by Olivia who was so knowledgeable. If you like the outdoors and seeing amazing fauna and flora this place is a must. The only negative is that the dining room is very dated and dark but otherwise a great place
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brendan Long, Other at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat
Responded 23 Feb 2020
Good evening Julieanne and thank you for taking the time to send us your thoughts on your recent stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, particularly the tour with Olivia. I note your comments on the Dining Room. We are always looking at points of f improvement so will be sure to take your views into advisement. Trust we might see you back in Australia one day. Kind regards, Brendan Long Retreat Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emmeline G wrote a review June 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in a Mountain Villa at O'Reilly's for one night. Stunning view of the mountains and nice private balcony facing the view. Bed and pillows were uncomfortable and lumpy leading to poor quality sleep. The room was good otherwise, maybe missing some crockery/cutlery so it's possible to have snacks in the room (we cut our cheese with a teaspoon!)

Was very disappointed with the food. Premium prices for very average food and lazy cooking. We ordered a garlic pizza for dinner, it arrived to the table cold and was literally minced garlic in uneven piles on pita bread. It's as if the chef has never tasted his own food! A pricey breakfast at $30 per person for a small plate with skimpy ingredients. Think eggs benny but with an English muffin and ham instead of sourdough and bacon.
It seems that O'Reilly's is able to overcharge, and people pay the hefty price because there are no other options for food given the remoteness of the accomodation. Bringing your own breakfast is not even possible as there are no bowls or cutlery in the room for cereal, etc.

2 stars if not for the location and convenience for hiking.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brendan Long, Other at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat
Responded 25 June 2020
Good morning, I am so sorry that various elements of our offering did not match with your expectations. We have a variety of accommodation styles. Some with full kitchen (oven, fridge, microwave, dishwasher) and others without. Our fresh produce prices are more expensive than we would like them to be due to our remote location. This remoteness is a wonderful feature but also creates its challenges. I am pleased that you enjoyed the location and natural environment. Sincerely, Brendan Long Retreat Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joanna F asked a question Oct 2021
Brisbane, Australia9 contributions
Why does the website not show that you have some Accessibile rooms
Nicola H asked a question Mar 2021
North Lakes, Australia21 contributions2 helpful votes
Is there a laundry facility for guests staying in the retreat rooms?
Toowoomba, Australia3 contributions1 helpful vote
Sorry for the delay, just saw your question. There is a shared laundry with dryers - washing powder etc. available at reception.
Answer from gdixonrb
Melbourne, Australia116 contributions15 helpful votes
We had no issues with internet connection, worked well in room
Christine O asked a question Jan 2021
Brisbane, Australia2 contributions
Is this dog friendly?
Answer from Jo B
Caloundra, Australia57 contributions13 helpful votes
Hi Christine. O'Reilly's is set in the Lamington National Park, so I would think dogs are not allowed. I would contact O'Reilly's and check. Regards Jo
Answer from Taraterrific
Sydney, Australia145 contributions91 helpful votes
The early morning bird walk is led by a ranger at 6.45 am and it meets near reception. The lodge rooms are close by although the villas are further away. The walk follows a boardwalk for most of the way and is a short easy stroll.
Vicki A wrote a tip 18 May
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The early morning bird walk is worth getting up for. It's cool, pack a jumper!"
Read full review
Papa P wrote a tip 4 May
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Self cater. Food is average & expensive. "
Read full review
Juliegolf wrote a tip Apr 2024
Cambridge, United Kingdom74 contributions69 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you chose to visit this run down tired RETREAT?????? Check your allocated villa thoroughly before accepting it. "
Read full review
Trek792383 wrote a tip Apr 2024
11 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get the valley view lodges with spa"
Read full review
tamara3445 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Brisbane, Australia92 contributions39 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The dining is very expensive take plenty food with you"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Canungra area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$186 - AU$227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
o`reilly`s rainforest retreat, mountain villas and lost world hotel canungra
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandBrisbane RegionScenic RimCanungra
NUMBER OF ROOMS
114
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

O'REILLY'S RAINFOREST RETREAT (AU$186): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Canungra) - Photos of Villa - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Lamington National Park (0.1 km), Lamington National Park (6.0 km), and O'Reillys Birds of Prey (0.09 km).
What are some of the property amenities at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Binna Burra Tea House, O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat Dining Room, and Dining at O’Reilly’s.
Are there opportunities to exercise at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Does O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Canungra HotelsCanungra Hotel DealsHotels near O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars