We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

De Vere Alexandra House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
De Vere Alexandra House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

886 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 876: English reviews
Start your review of De Vere Alexandra House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here 1 night before attending a funeral so i suppose this hotel stay was never going to be jolly. Firstly, its at the end of a big housing estate? Weird. Nice looking hotel though. Reception was quick and friendly upon check in and check out. Never used leisure facilities but pool looked nice. Bar area was nice, sofas, pool...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carly S
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited this hotel on the night before we were due to go to Cheltenham races. The check in was fine, efficient and polite. The room was a taxi ride from reception though lol. I also felt it was dated and in need of a makeover. Having said that the bed was fairly comfortable and I got a decent night's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry P
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is not worth a look at. Very over priced. But staff very friendly and helpful.we had a look at the food menu not a great choice. From 6am in the morning consistent noise off people coming and going so not a good night sleep. Breakfast was of a very poor standard.room was drity as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank powers01
Aylesbury, Bucks
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice place,although has a more 'corporate'/business venue feel. t is located in a peaceful location though. Room was well appointed, clean & comfortable & bed ok. Evening dinner was fine, although it would not be something to bring us back in itself - getting 3 courses + bottle of house wine as part of the package was it's main appeal....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bucksboy2
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Food is AWFUL, cold, slow and tasteless. Rooms are okay but pretty uncomfortable. The bar staff can't use a cork screw and are incredibly slow. Stay somewhere else if you can - it really is terrible. My colleague had hard lumps in their scrambled egg.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kate22parker
Mark M, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Clearly we were not performing to our usual standards, and for that I sincerely apologise. Best regards, Mark.

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here just one night our room on the ground floor was large, airy, clean and comfortable but, as in any De Vere hotel I've stayed in it was a very long walk to the room. We had everything we needed and enjoyed a nice evening meal. My only complaint is the breakfast we were down just after 7...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 70ish
Mark M, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your constructive feedback, as it helps us get better. On your next visit I am confident you will enjoy our full breakfast offering. Best wishes, Mark.

Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently stayed here for a conference. The first night we got no sleep as the mattress on the bed sagged in the middle. We complained in the morning. The lady at reception said that they would look into it. We found out later that lots of people had also complained of the same problem. The next night was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wouldieathere
Mark M, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. I have reviewed your feedback in detail with our Management Team. Best wishes, Mark.

Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent four nights here for a business event. Check in staff were friendly and professional, the room was clean and acceptable, with adequate free wifi. Conference rooms were also clean and light, and well soundproofed from adjoining rooms. I notice that the management only reply on here to positive reviews, which seems a shame as I have a gripe with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OntheLash
Mark M, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and four circle review. Clearly the food and waiting staff fell significantly short of the standards you rightly expected. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future so we can demonstrate our usual high standards. Best wishes, Mark.

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed in a few De'Vere hotels and they all have the same feel to them, a bit like a sprawling campus reminiscent of an old Butlins Holiday Park or perhaps a school. Generally the parking is far away from the entrance, as in this case, which is a pain when it is chucking it down with rain and you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Saarek
Mark M, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It would seem that your experience fell far short of the service we aim to provide and I am very sorry about that. I have implemented measures to observe the breakfast team's interaction within the Restaurant. Please do let me know if you plan to visit Swindon again. Best wishes, Mark.

St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Maybe it was a quiet weekend but enjoyed staying here. Unfussy, excellent breakfast buffet, good spacious lounge bar and when I was asked how my pizza was and I said I had had better was dealt with very professionally and to my complete satisfaction.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank phlj2016
Gareth_Barron, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Gareth Barron General Manager

169 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (157)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wroughton
11.4 km away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
6.9 km away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
1,640 reviews
21.8 km away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
623 reviews
5.7 km away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
1,348 reviews
10.0 km away
The Pear Tree at Purton
The Pear Tree at Purton
#4 of 24 in Swindon
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Alexandra House is a modern contemporary hotel, boasting 152 en-suite bedrooms and banqueting, wedding and meeting space for up to 250 people across 22 bespoke spaces, ideally located just 5 minutes from junction 15, M4 motorway. For business guests we are perfectly situated in Wroughton, overlooking Swindon within easy reach (5 mins. drive) to Nationwide - Pipers Way head office, Windmill Hill and Blagrove business parks, home to companies such as Openwork, RWE, BP Castrol, Nokia Siemens, MAN truck and Catalent. Set in 20 acres of landscaped grounds within the beautiful Cotswold countryside, this Wiltshire hotel is a fantastic choice for the discerning leisure visitor, close to an array of world-class locations including Avebury & Stonehenge World Heritage Site, Longleat Safari Park, the Roman Spa city of Bath, Lacock village, home to Lacock Abbey where Harry Potter was filmed, McArthur Glen outlet shopping village and the start of the ‘Ridgeway’, an ancient Iron-Age track, which is possibly the oldest road in Europe. Stone Age man once walked along its route - not only long before the likes of Stonehenge came into being, but even before Britain was an island! ... more   less 

Additional Information about De Vere Alexandra House

Address: Alexandra House Whittingham Drive, Wroughton, Swindon SN4 0QJ, England (Formerly Alexandra House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Wroughton
Price Range: $108 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Alexandra House 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your De Vere Alexandra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra House Hotel Swindon
Alexandra Hotel Wroughton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from De Vere Alexandra House staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Brighton, United Kingdom
over a year ago
6 months ago
Bath, United Kingdom
11 months ago
Bath, United Kingdom
11 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from De Vere Alexandra House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask to be close to reception if limited mobility.”
 of 5 bubbles Mikesalter, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor not far to walk to bar then or the restaurant. Found room quiet enough”
 of 5 bubbles alanp145, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“get as far away from reception and bar as possible”
 of 5 bubbles V8123RUpaula, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Not really sure my room number 260 was a fair way from the bar etc”
 of 5 bubbles TheOne768, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“One near reception as the walk to some rooms takes a while”
 of 5 bubbles GrahamL304, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5