We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

De Vere Alexandra House

Hotels.comUSD 102*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 102*
USD 102*
USD 102*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
De Vere Alexandra House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

913 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 903: English reviews
Start your review of De Vere Alexandra House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Not a hotel I will be choosing again. WIFI a nitemare. Went to book into the restaurant and waited for someone to seat me. There were about 5 staff, but no one came to my attention. In the end I walked out and went to the bar eatery. Food not very good standard. Ordered Caesar salad, and didn't taste too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrewmitchell69
Mark M, Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your stay with us here at Alexandra House. We take the feedback we receive seriously and it is with regret that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I'm sorry to hear that you found the service in Food & Beverage to be lacking. I will of course be working...

Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I found the hotel no better than a Premier Inn Hotel , Expected a separate shower cubicle and bath was very difficult to get out of after a shower , the towel to dry hair were very small . The whole hotel was rather shabby , needs up dating, the breakfast was ok

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angie C
Mark M, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent feedback regarding Alexandra House. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the layout of our bathroom facilities. I will discuss your feedback regarding the towels with our Housekeeping team to ensure that the towels provided to each room is fit for purpose. Best Wishes, Mark

East Midlands
Reviewed 1 week ago

On approach the hotel appears to be at the centre of a new housing estate but on arrival there are plenty of green spaces to please the eyes. The reception area is spacious and the service efficient. I was booked in and briefed in a matter of minutes. This is a conference hotel therefore, if you are dining in, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Slobba
Mark M, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, all of which is constructive. Apologies that we have not quite lived up to expectations in terms of food offering/quality on this occasion. I will share your feedback with the Kitchen/Restaurant team to ensure that we learn from this in the future. I am pleased to hear that you were happy with the...

Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. The room was extremely dark and we had to have all the lights on during the day. Wifi is limited from the bedrooms. The hotel caters for the business world and was busy with conferences and locals using the facilities during the day. Breakfast was lovely with lots of choice and the staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reachelle r
Mark M, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you kindly for your feedback. Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the lighting of the room and that you've experienced an issue with the complimentary Wi-fi. We will certainly look into this. As you mentioned we do receive a number of business travellers and would hope that the issue you've experienced with Wi-Fi is an...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Very friendly, efficient Reception. Able to choose our room location which was great. Chose £20 3-course meal. Very good food and excellent value served by very friendly staff. Lovely swimming pool. Only down side, no way of drying swimming costume so only used it once. A spin dryer in the changing area would have been very useful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrs Mavis P
Mark M, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and positive comments which I have shared with the team. I will personally look into the spin dryer facility for the leisure club changing rooms. We hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Mark.

uk
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for one night, booking vie a deal which worked out grt, for what you get. Free bottle of wine, full English buffet breakfast, good choices, drinking glasses were a bit smeary so not so good.Use of gym swimming pool sauna steam room, small but enough for a quick work out. The complex is like a horse shoe, so if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank redtraveller_8
Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was chosen as a result of previous good experiences at other de vere locations, mistake. Arrival/check in was smooth friendly and hassle free, as the booking had been completed and paid for in advance, school boy error. The bed room & bathroom were neat, clean & tidy , but subsequently the shower showed it's true colours by not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernie V
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After a very disappointing meal and poor service Thomas a very smartly dressed young man was in charge of the restaraunt. He was attentive moving between tables speaking with guest, making sure everything was alright. No 45 minute wait to place an order. Everything was carried out efficiently. Food was hot, well presented and tastey. After tonight I will certainly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Drew712Eves
Mark M, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your five circle review following your recent stay at Alexandra House. We really do appreciate your kind comments relating to the restaurant. Tom was delighted. However, I apologise for the issues on your first night. We hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Mark.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my husband had our wedding here in february, we cannot fault this hotel and staff at all, from the planning stage to the day, the staff was amazing! Lauren the wedding coordinator had so many phonecalls from me and she always had the time to answer my question and alter a details for us. Lauren was so helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah M
Mark M, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review

Dear Newlyweds, Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor following such a special day with us at Alexandra House and congratulations once again. Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. The team members you mentioned were thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your Wedding day so much, and we look forward to welcoming...

Bishops Stortford
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Looked great on the secret escapes website. Lived up to the view. Arrived and asked cheekily for an upgrade lovely reception lady said yes think I can do that for you. We booked a meal in the restaurant the service wasn't great in the but the food and wine when we finally got a cold bottle was fantastic. Shame about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jilly C
Mark M, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your four circle review. Alexandra House offers great leisure breaks via secret escapes and I was delighted your overall experience lived up to expectations. However, it would seem that your Restaurant experience fell far short of the service we aim to provide and I am very sorry about that. I have shared your comments with...

170 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (158)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wroughton
6.8 km away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
1,705 reviews
11.4 km away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
21.8 km away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
636 reviews
6.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
28.9 km away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Alexandra House is a modern contemporary hotel, boasting 152 en-suite bedrooms and banqueting, wedding and meeting space for up to 250 people across 22 bespoke spaces, ideally located just 5 minutes from junction 15, M4 motorway. For business guests we are perfectly situated in Wroughton, overlooking Swindon within easy reach (5 mins. drive) to Nationwide - Pipers Way head office, Windmill Hill and Blagrove business parks, home to companies such as Openwork, RWE, BP Castrol, Nokia Siemens, MAN truck and Catalent. Set in 20 acres of landscaped grounds within the beautiful Cotswold countryside, this Wiltshire hotel is a fantastic choice for the discerning leisure visitor, close to an array of world-class locations including Avebury & Stonehenge World Heritage Site, Longleat Safari Park, the Roman Spa city of Bath, Lacock village, home to Lacock Abbey where Harry Potter was filmed, McArthur Glen outlet shopping village and the start of the ‘Ridgeway’, an ancient Iron-Age track, which is possibly the oldest road in Europe. Stone Age man once walked along its route - not only long before the likes of Stonehenge came into being, but even before Britain was an island! ... more   less 

Additional Information about De Vere Alexandra House

Address: Alexandra House Whittingham Drive, Wroughton, Swindon SN4 0QJ, England (Formerly Alexandra House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Wroughton
Price Range: $114 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Alexandra House 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Alexandra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra House Hotel Swindon
Alexandra Hotel Wroughton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from De Vere Alexandra House staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Brighton, United Kingdom
over a year ago
8 months ago
Holywell, United Kingdom
10 days ago
Bath, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from De Vere Alexandra House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher room number equates to a longer walk but a quieter room. Suggest X34 plus.”
Slobba, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“get a room nearer main entrance if have walking problems”
redtraveller_8, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check recent reviews before booking.”
629berniev, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ours was on the first floor and had country views”
starheather1, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Depends on what you want to have.”
Tony_Glazier, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 102* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 102
PricelineUSD 102
TripAdvisorUSD 102
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates