We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hill Cottage Crowborough

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crowborough
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hill Cottage Crowborough
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hill Cottage Crowborough
See the most recent reviews
Showing 145: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I stayed in Room 1 for 1 night whilst attending a workshop nearby and was very pleased with with my stay. It was extremely clean and the room actually looked like the photo. The bathroom was excellent with a lovely shower and the bath towels were very soft and large. There was soap, shampoo and shower gel available which is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ElaineBruce
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Thanks very much for tour kind review, hope you got the knitting back ok! We're pleased you enjoyed your stay, and the eggs from our chickens. We hope to see you again next year.

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Spent two nights in Room 2 with two single beds and en suite. The owner was very friendly and the accommodation was spotless (I want some of those bath towels). There was plenty of tea/coffee in the room along with bottled water which was very much appreciated after a long hot drive. The breakfast was second to none - excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beverley W
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review, we enjoyed having you and your associates to stay with us and look forward to perhaps seeing you all again next year

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We spent two nights in Room 1 at Hill Cottage in July 2014 while attending a workshop in Crowborough and so pleased we found this lovely B&B. The hosts are lovely - the rooms are spotless and the breakfast was first class. Having the Wheatsheaf 20 yards away from the front door was an added bonus!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helen A
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind review, we enjoyed having your company and also so many others from the same workshop that week, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 9 July 2014

I had such a pleasant stay here in May 2014 that I would recommend a stay here for anyone, be they staying for one night or more. The owners are fine, sociable people and the rooms are extremely clean and tidy. The breakfast is second to none (and I've had many, in many places over the years) so I speak...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rein H
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very kind review, we're pleased you found everything to your liking and hope to see you again.

St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Spent two nights June 21st and 22nd in this lovely B&B in Crowborough with a great pub right next door! ( The Wheatsheaf). The weather was glorious and great for exploring Ashdown Forest and checking all the Winnie the Pooh places; you need a car to start the walk around the places. The bed, room and breakfast were excellent and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay and what the nearby area has to offer. Your comments about the steps aroused our curiosity so we asked one of the local builders, it seems modern steps should ideally be 9" deep and 7" high, ours are 8" deep and 7" high which gives the illusion of...

Thriplow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Recommended as the perfect place to stay on our London to Paris cycle ride, we weren't disappointed. Ted greeted us after a weary day on the bike, slightly soaked and not in great spirits after mechanical failure after failure. Secure storage behind the house for the bikes. Room was cosy and welcoming and the breakfast quite superb. Would recommend this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 384maxh
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your great review, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay and we managed to tick all the boxes

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here on our London to Paris cycle on the Avenue Verte. Hill Cottage is a delightful, old cottage in the quiet part of Crowborough. We were given a warm welcome by Ted, stowed our bikes safely behind the house and were shown to our cosy and nicely decorated room. It was quite small but clean and comfortable with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Altraveller
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your lovely review, we're very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We've noticed quite an increase in the number of cyclists staying with us, particularly on the London - Paris trip as you were, and they have all been really lovely guests. Thank you.

Arundel
Reviewed 1 May 2014

27/04/14 We were attending a BBQ walking distance from 'Hill cottage' and didn't want to drive home, so we booked in. It did exactly what it said on the tin. Friendly welcome, really nice room with comfy bed and a super breakfast next morning. Couldn't fault the experience. Well done!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pete104140
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights. The owners, Ted and Maggie, were very welcoming and made our stay extremely pleasant. Beds were comfortable, in fact we overslept and this is a great location to explore the weald country, Ashdown Forest and places like Tunbridge Wells with its Pantiles (and unfortunately for our pocket tempting shopping)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham T
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your very kind review and we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay, we know you have a busy life but we look forward to seeing you again before too long - you know where to come anytime you want to catch up on your sleep!

London
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights to attend Wedding.This is a lovely BnB with bags of character due to the age of the cottage. Lovely touch leaving bottles of water in rooms. Comfortable beds, very clean and nice breakfast. One small point, front entrance door sticks which proved slightly difficult entering property when arriving back in the evening,though this could easily...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carolinejoyce
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Thank you for your very nice review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. You are right about the sticking front door - Unfortunately this is due to the recent very wet weather and the door (which is very old and characterful) has swollen a bit, so sticks. Hopefully this will remedy itself very soon!!

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crowborough
11.3 km away
The Roebuck Hotel
The Roebuck Hotel
#1 of 2 in Forest Row
500 reviews
10.7 km away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
613 reviews
10.3 km away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
Brambletye Hotel
Brambletye Hotel
#2 of 2 in Forest Row
203 reviews
8.0 km away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,371 reviews
10.3 km away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hill Cottage dates back to around 1600 and is a quaint,cosy, heavily beamed stone built country cottage, set in a quiet wooded spot on the edge of town next to a traditional English country pub, yet within short walking distance of Crowborough's two main business parks, local bus services, and the mainline station with trains to London which is just an hour away. Whether your stay is for business, pleasure, or a mixture of the two, we make sure your day gets off to a great start with a wonderful breakfast, and a light packed lunch too if required. There is plenty of car parking, free WiFi, flat screen TV and a hairdryer in your room, comfortable beds with quality linen, fresh fluffy towels and complimentary toiletries. We look forward to meeting you and making your stay in Crowborough most enjoyable....... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hill Cottage Crowborough

Address: Hill Cottage Mount Pleasant, Crowborough TN6 2NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Crowborough
Price Range: $64 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hill Cottage Crowborough staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lovely pub next door offering traditional ales, wines and evening meals.”
 of 5 bubbles GaryBSutton_Surrey, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Number 1 had nice views down towards the pub and valley.”
 of 5 bubbles Bindertech, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The twin bedded room with the ensuite is lovely and quiet and overlooks the back garden.”
 of 5 bubbles Rita713, 12 Apr 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are brilliant! Depends if you want an ensuite or not!”
 of 5 bubbles 878kerrif, 5 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Sat Nav and a torch .Pub opposite ,no noise.”
  • FRONT ROOM
 of 5 bubbles greggM403, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5