We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

5,754 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
See the most recent reviews
Showing 5,007: English reviews
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The food in general was bad quality and way over the top priced. I ordered a chicken entry and it had cartilage and I mentioned it to the watress but she did nothing to fix it. Kid were tired no manag

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jose C
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review

Dear Jose C, I am grateful you took some of your valuable time to review our hotel. I spent some time reviewing your comments, and I was extremely disappointed to learn that your service expectations fell short of a perfect rating. Please accept my most sincere apologies and know that your feedback is most useful as we strive to improve...

Rio Grande
Reviewed 3 August 2014

we loved the facilities this resort offered, however the water sports which we depended upon were non existent. Apparently due to some business arrangement gone bad, they don't exist anymore. The breakfast was really good, so i suggest the red level for this alone. Book your tours early as we did miss out on some due to our dates., however...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Oliver G
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review

Dear Oliver G, Thank you for choosing our property for you recent vacations. We strive to provide an exceptional experience for all of our guests. We commend your comments regarding our beautiful facilities and our friendly staff. However, reviewing the service mishaps you encountered during your stay we are genuinely sorry about your experience. You pointed in your review important...

PA
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Continuing our 3 month vacation in PR...we decided to visit the Gran Melia. It looked great in the pictures. Some issues. Getting there was no problem. Once there... The parking lot was very full, we got there 30 minutes before the check-in time. Had to wait in line for check in almost 45 minutes ( I've never seen this before...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Ralph A
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review

Dear Ralph A, I am grateful you took some of your valuable time to review our hotel. I spent some time reviewing your comments, and I was extremely disappointed to learn that your service expectations fell short of a perfect rating. Please accept my most sincere apologies and know that your feedback is most useful as we strive to improve...

Rio Grande
Reviewed 2 August 2014

More than happy! I must say after I saw reviews that were negative we were nervous leading up to our stay. We are a family of 5 and stayed in Family suite in red level. We disappointed !! It was beautiful and clean. We had a beautiful view off of our patio of the ocean and the pool. A few...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rhonda G
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review

Dear Rhonda G, Thank you for your recent visit to Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico. We appreciate you have taken your time to share your feedback as it is through these that we can improve our services. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our resort. Reviewing the service mishaps you encountered during your stay, we are...

Carolina, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 2 August 2014

- First, this is not an all-inclusive hotel. - Arrived at 4PM on a Wednesday, ready for the check-in, but the room was not provided until 6PM. Once we were able to get in the room it was musty. A glass broke in our bathroom, I called the cleaning service to ask for someone to come and clean the mess...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ORNOfertas
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review

Dear ORNOfertas, Thank you for choosing our property for you recent vacations. We strive to provide an exceptional experience for all of our guests. We do not like hearing that we fell short on delivering on your expectations. Reviewing the service mishaps you encountered during your stay, we are genuinely sorry about your experience. You pointed in your review important...

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel is so beautiful but we had to wait literately over 3hrs to get to our room. I was standing in a line for over 1hr and half and then once at the desk was told the room was not ready so I waited another 1hr and half. The front desk clerk advised me this is there normal process...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jeannette B
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review

Dear Jeannette B, I am grateful you took some of your valuable time to review our hotel. I spent some time reviewing your comments, and I was extremely disappointed to learn that your service expectations fell short of a perfect rating. Please accept my most sincere apologies and know that your feedback is most useful as we strive to improve...

Ottawa
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Just arrived home from an 11 day vacation, cruised around the Southern Caribbean on Carnival Valor and we decided to finish the trip on this high star resort for 4 nights. I think our problem was getting too excited over the pictures of this gorgeous resort and not looking into the property/reviews enough. Our cruise vacation was absolutely perfect, a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mmmellowmama
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review

Dear mmmellowmama, I am grateful you took some of your valuable time to review our hotel. I spent some time reviewing your comments, and I was extremely disappointed to learn that your service expectations fell short of a perfect rating. Please accept my most sincere apologies and know that your feedback is most useful as we strive to improve our...

Rio Grande
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel is beautiful, but check-in was 2 hours (8:00pm) long but still had to check-out by 11:00am. The pool was packed and no where to sit (NO BEACH CHAIRS FOR MI OR MY FAMILY). Need to plain ahead when Hotel foresee a large amount of people are going to be in the Hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Javier R
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review

Dear Javier R, Thank you for choosing the Gran Meliá Golf Resort Puerto Rico. We appreciate all your comments and the feedback of your vacations in your recent stay. You pointed in your review important topics which we are currently addressing with operational departments to ensure that situations, such as the ones related to Guest Services, are addressed in a...

Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We booked the Gran Melia through a service that did not allow us to know which hotel we would be staying in before we put down our money. All we knew is that we would be staying in a 4 star hotel in the Rio Grande area. When we found out we were booked at the Gran Melia and read...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KB1229
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review

Dear KB1229, Thank you for choosing our property for you recent vacations. We strive to provide an exceptional experience for all of our guests. We do not like hearing that we fell short on delivering on your expectations. Reviewing the service mishaps you encountered during your stay we are genuinely sorry about your experience. You pointed in your review important...

Puerto Rico
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The best Hotel ever!!! In love with the hotel and service, I absolutely return to stay here, Is beautiful and the client service is amazing!!! I really satisfied with amenities, services overall hotel. Recomendad 100%

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stgomarga
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review

Dear Stgomarga, Thank you for your recent visit to Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico. We appreciate you have taken your time to share your feedback as it is through these that we can improve our services. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our resort. We appreciate your business and hope you can give us another opportunity...

3,740 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3306)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (787)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (694)
Viewed
Room/Suite (355)
Viewed
Dining (89)
Viewed
View from Room (110)
Viewed
Bathroom (41)
Viewed
1:53
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (1204)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (406)
Viewed
Amenities (98)
Viewed
Beach (10)
Viewed
Garden View Deluxe Junior Suite (41)
Viewed
Ocean Front Villa (63)
Viewed
Pool (29)
Viewed
Red Level Garden View Junior Suite (32)
Viewed
Red Level Ocean Front Junior Suite (45)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
2.9 km away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
31.3 km away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#21 of 46 in San Juan
6,304 reviews
30.8 km away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
4,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
2,934 reviews
5.2 km away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
18.8 km away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast in Coco Beach, Rio Grande, Gran Melia Puerto Rico brings the privacy and exclusivity you deserve and allows you the opportunity to escape from the rest of the world. From the moment you step inside this tropical oasis, you will be enveloped by the beauty and grandeur of Gran Melia Puerto Rico. Boasting a world-class YHI spa, the nearby Trump International Golf Club and the best pool on the island with four integrated whirlpools, Gran Melia Puerto Rico is the place to live the true resort experience in Puerto Rico. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Address: 200 Coco Beach Blvd. | Highway 955-I, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Price Range: $205 - $625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Hotel Rio Grande
Gran Melia Rio Grande
Sol Melia Rio Grande
Paradisus Puerto Rico
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Rio Grande
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rio Grande
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#3 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico staff and other travellers.
142 questions
Ask a question
Clementon, New Jersey

PLEASE HELP LOTS OF QUESTIONS!!!!!

I was able to purchase this hotel as a Groupon deal for my best friend's 40th birthday. We aren't traveling until June 18th and this will be both of our first times in PR. The photos took my breath away and the cost was reasonable enough for me to surprise her with the gift after having some pretty rough times lately. I am really hoping this much needed getaway gives us a chance to escape the blues.

I know about the deposit per night, but usually deposits are returned unless you use them. However it seems like people are stating that they are getting charged for ludicrous items. (Towels cost what?) Or complaining about the treatment and true condition of the property. Then some are saying its a dream come true.

We don't expect million dollar service, just a good, peaceful beautiful time. Without me feeling the need to hide a credit card statement from my husband. We are extremely excited to be taking a trip together (having our own families and work makes that hard). Some person even said they were charged an upgrade fee of $3k?!! That is what scared me enough for someone who has been here to hopefully set my mind at ease.

What is included in Red Level? Is it a better option than paying a la carte? We are blessed to have breakfast included in the Groupon (thanks!) but it seems the Red Level doesn't do much more than that?

We've been hoping to come to Puerto Rico for years. Any advice would be truly appreciated. This place is very very pretty. I truly hope its the paradise it appears to be in the photos! The pool alone is amazing!!

Also more about the beach? Do swim shoes help with the rocks or don't bother. How about excursions (budget friendly).

Thanks to everyone who replies in advance. I will be responding after our return.

Happy Travels!

over a year ago

See all questions (142)

Questions? Get answers from Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“there was NO ceiling fan”
 of 5 bubbles 687michaelrl, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Air Freshener. ”
 of 5 bubbles channonnl, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I've been to the Gran Melia several times and Red Level is worth the extra money to spend ”
 of 5 bubbles manuelmY1297ZO, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“only the refrigerator ”
 of 5 bubbles mayrao985, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do not hesitate to change rooms if your not satisfied with the first one.”
 of 5 bubbles Q874PUtheresas, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay