We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at OYO Hotel San Francisco Elite

Room/Suite (17)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in great prices from these sites
Booking.com
USD 62
View Deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.comUSD 62
Agoda.com
Expedia.comUSD 62
Hotels.comUSD 62
eDreamsUSD 62
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Room review highlights
... cold and rude at the beginning. After she warm up a bit. Room was dirty. Tufts of long dark hair were everywhere on the...
I booked a room here cause it was late and we needed a place to sleep. They said they had 24/7 check in which was not true. We...
... all the problems, you may encounter during the stay. The room is small, however, the bed is fine and you have your own...
Featured room amenities
Kitchenette
Laundry Service
Internet
Baggage Storage
Wifi
Fax / Photocopying
Non-smoking hotel

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Receptionist was very cold and rude at the beginning. After she warm up a bit. Room was dirty. Tufts of long dark hair were everywhere on the floor and some in bed. Plus that is the worst neighborhood to be in. If you are planning a girls trip that neighborhood isn’t safe
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at OYO Hotel San Francisco Elite
Responded 3 Sep. 2019
Hello Biancaneu,

We appreciate your comments - thank you for taking the time to leave us with feedback about your recent visit. It's unfortunate that you did not experience the usual level of satisfaction that other guests have but we love that you have pointed out the things that we can improve on. We are disappointed about the feedback on our unfriendly staff; we aim for awesome customer service and we do not tolerate rudeness from our team. We will look into the matter and have corrective measures in place. Your concern about cleanliness is noted and we will see to it that our team does a better job preparing the rooms. We will also see what we can do about having some updates soon. We are sorry for the inconvenience and we hope you consider staying with us again soon.

Best Regards,
Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I booked a room here cause it was late and we needed a place to sleep. They said they had 24/7 check in which was not true. We got there at 3 am for the owner to talk down to my boyfriend like we don’t know how time works. Was totally rude to us, my bag got caught on the stairs going down and it was really loud. The owner followed up just to yell at me. I was already upset so I barked back at him for him to call me the c word. He followed us down the stairs and kicked up out the street at 3am in a unsafe neighborhood. I’m from New York so I know where I shouldn’t be at that time. I get homeless people are a thing but I felt like I was going to get robbed at any point. The owner waited for us at the bottom of the stairs trying to fight with me about everything til I finally told him to go f himself. This is the worst customer services I have ever got and I work in a hotel. This is unacceptable for any business, I got my money back the booking.com found out what was happening. Bad small business, do yourself a favor and just book an Airbnb. Oh and this place has bedbugs so avoid.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at OYO Hotel San Francisco Elite
Responded 27 Jul. 2019
Hello Alexis,

Thank you for your feedback - we appreciate you taking the time to leave us with comments about your recent visit. While we are sad to hear that you did not experience the level of satisfaction that other guests usually have, we are glad that you pointed out the things that we can work on. We are sorry to hear that you had an unfortunate encounter with our staff upon checking-in. We will look into this matter and ensure that we handle similar situations better in the future. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused.

Best Regards,
Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
When you are far away from home, it is often necessary to get help from the people, where you are staying for business or holiday. At the Elite Inn the family that takes care of the hotel guests are always kind and helpful and try to solve all the problems, you may encounter during the stay. The room is small, however, the bed is fine and you have your own bathroom. And the Wi-Fi works very well.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at OYO Hotel San Francisco Elite
Responded 14 May 2019
Dear Guest,

It's a wonderful feeling knowing that our team was able to provide awesome service to you while you were staying with us. We are glad that we were able to help you out with your concerns. Your feedback about the property is noted and we will see what we can do about having some updates soon. We hope that everything else was in order and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
We are not that disappointed with the room and hotel itself as it was cheap and you get what you pay for. It was decent enough for a room to sleep in plus it was very central and within less than 5 minutes you can reach Market and Powell street.
HOWEVER the location is awful in terms of smell and dirt. Right in front of the hotel are tons of homeless loitering around and making loud noise during the night. There was s* on the streets and we felt constantly uncomfortable trying to get into the hotel. I'd rather spend a bit more and stay somewhere else if I'd go again to SF.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at OYO Hotel San Francisco Elite
Responded 1 May 2019
Hi Ness,

It's nice to hear back from you - we are glad that you found our rates to be reasonable and competitive. It's nice that you found the room decent and we hope you had a comfortable stay. We are also glad you liked our location and proximity to Market/Powell St. Your feedback about the surrounding area is noted and we will see what we can do about improving the situation. Rest assured that we have measures in place to ensure the safety and security of our guests. We hope you consider staying with us again the next time you are in the area.

Best Regards,
Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
When we arrived we found the room reeked of air freshener. We assumed it was because our window faced an alley where everyone from the building next door seemed to be smoking. After the first night we investigated upon waking up to a HORRIFIC smell. There was POOP in our dresser drawer. Someone pulled down their pants and defecated in the drawer. We told the girl at the front desk and she wasn’t phased. Said we could have another room until our check out time in an hour. We asked for a refund and she refused, instead she asked why we waited so long to tell her. Like it was our fault for not inspecting the drawers for feces. Disgusting.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous