We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Hotel Rottnest

Room/Suite (36)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Room review highlights
... that price per night there should be some responsibility to look after you. They don’t offer a hotel simply a nice room.
... were great, the beach is lovely as are the views. The room was large and the bed comfortable but it's not luxury. BUT...
... stocked all the right soaps. We stayed in the courtyard room and occasionally one or two quokkas would be hopping around...
Most popular question about the rooms
Hi Hotel Rottnest, I was hoping to book room for 3D2N (10 Dec - 12 Dec) at Hotel Rottnest. I understand that this would be during your festive season. However, may I know if...
Answer from GeneralManagerHR
Nov 2017 |
Hi, Please visit the hotels website to review current rates and availability under the bookings page. Hope to see you soon.
Read more

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Bill D wrote a review Oct 2020
Perth, Australia154 contributions35 helpful votes
Visited Samphire only open a week, expected a bit of first week blues. But have never been to a $500/ night hotel that refuses you breakfast and dinner. Facilities fine but accepting that price per night there should be some responsibility to look after you. They don’t offer a hotel simply a nice room.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Casey T wrote a review Jul 2019
Austin, Texas55 contributions51 helpful votes
To be clear - Rottnest Island is not about accommodation. It's about those adorable little quokkas, so I could have stayed in a cardboard box and been happy about it. The location was great, everything is walk-able or bike-able. The food and drink at the restaurant were great, the beach is lovely as are the views. The room was large and the bed comfortable but it's not luxury. BUT I woke up one night and there was a bug in my room (not a big deal, we are in an Australian wildlife destination after all) and I opened the door to try to shoo it out and there were several sweet quokkas in the courtyard and it was a magical moment. I sat out there and watched them for a long bit. That made my choice of hotel/room absolutely perfect to me. But again, don't expect lux. Also check in was a bit odd in that there is an office you have to go into and then if no one is there (which was my experience the few times I went in there for something) you have to simply wait until someone returns -- at check in there were several of us just waiting staring at each other.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Yitzhak_Khoo wrote a review May 2019
27 contributions6 helpful votes
The hotel is conveniently located just a stone throw away from the ferry stop, provided you throw it really hard and it bounces a few times. The attached restaurant serves tasty food and would be a great place to rest your legs after a ball-busting cycle round the island.

I liked the quiet serenity of the place after sundown as it was frightfully cold in November and there wasn't much to do after dark. Thankfully, the rooms were suitably warm and the toilet stocked all the right soaps.

We stayed in the courtyard room and occasionally one or two quokkas would be hopping around for a photo opportunity.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
mundo61 wrote a review May 2019
Kingsley, Australia154 contributions53 helpful votes
After many years of wanting to visit we finally made up our minds and headed to Rotto for a short stay.
We decided to stay at the Hotel Rottnest and it turned out to be a great decision.
Apart from the fantastic location right on the beach at Thompson’s Bay the rooms were great. Clean and functional with the most comfortable bed I’ve stayed in for years.
Our room was a good size with a queen size bed and great amenities.
The hotel itself served great meals and ice cold beers and the staff were happy and helpful.
We really enjoyed our stay and can’t wait to return to the hotel in the future.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from GeneralManagerHR, General Manager at Hotel Rottnest
Responded 4 May 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and share your experiences. Just as it should be, and we look forward welcoming you to the new resort once completed in September 2020. Warm Regards John Langton General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S wrote a review Apr 2019
Melbourne, Australia785 contributions43 helpful votes
The good: friendly staff, great location and the room was clean.

The bad: bed was uncomfortable. The walls paper thin - I could hear the people in the rooms next to me. Very noisy.

Had a room with a private balcony with views of the beach. The furniture was dirty and uncomfortable. Plus it was noisy due to other patrons being on their balconies and not being mindful of noise. Honestly, better to have a room that shares that communal grounds. It's quieter and cheaper.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from GeneralManagerHR, General Manager at Hotel Rottnest
Responded 23 Apr 2019
Dear Guest, My apologies that your Bayside Room was not as quiet as you had hoped for. During the school holidays there are lots of people enjoying the island and the beach adjacent your room. The balcony not being clean enough is unacceptable, and this has been brought to the attention of our accommodation manager. Hopefully you will come back and be able to enjoy the new resort due to open late 2020. Warm regards John Langton General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous
123456