We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Waters Edge The Strand

Room/Suite (47)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Booking.com
USD 98
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/05/22
Expedia.com
USD 98
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/05/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
USD 98
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/05/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.comUSD 98
TravelocityUSD 98
Trip.comUSD 106
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... – we can’t recall a worse sleep in a long time. A simple room audit would solve a few of these issues in no time guys. ...
The manager thought I was in the room on my own and let him self in at 6am with out any warning, my partner and I sat up soon ...
Booked 1 bedroom studio on the basis of promising, good reviews. What a surprise! For $200+ you get a peeling Sally Ann couch...

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Phobos1967 wrote a review Apr 2022
Mackay Region, Australia156 contributions88 helpful votes
Pros – great location right in the middle of The Strand, good view, nice enough pool area

Cons – very dated, arguably the worst pillows we have ever experienced, terrible fold-out bed (for 3rd person – it was like a board), hair dryer doesn’t work, mould in the bath tub, shower tap doesn’t turn off and dripped all night, noisy – we can’t recall a worse sleep in a long time.

A simple room audit would solve a few of these issues in no time guys.

For the money you are charging...well there are many better options let’s say.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Miss Nicole wrote a review Feb 2022
Townsville, Australia20 contributions5 helpful votes
The manager thought I was in the room on my own and let him self in at 6am with out any warning, my partner and I sat up soon as we headed the door and the manager ran soon as he seen my partner with me.

Check out was to be at 11am ! We looked for him after but no where around and reception still locked up at 6:30am.
Police report has been made. And official complaint made.

Got a missed call from him laughing that is was a mistake!

He believed I was there on my own and used his master key to enter my room!!! There is no dam mistake there!!!

Women do not go near this place as I believe he has done this a few times before. No manual locks on doors to keep him out.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jane Malone, General Manager at Waters Edge The Strand
Responded 22 Feb 2022
Dear Nicole. Thank you for your feedback. We have apologized for what happened, but would like to say, that it did not occur the way you have stated in your commentary. We have viewed the CCTV footage of the incident and it showed the manager opened the door for two seconds, then left, just walking away not running as you have stated. As you said earlier that he apologized and left after he saw his mistake. You did not come out of your room whilst the manager walked back to the office. The manager only opened the door to enter to do some repair work thinking that the room was vacant. We again apologize for this error and hope that you return. We ask that you revise your account as to what actually happened. Regards Waters Edge
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmofoz wrote a review July 2021
Brisbane, Australia115 contributions41 helpful votes
Booked 1 bedroom studio on the basis of promising, good reviews. What a surprise! For $200+ you get a peeling Sally Ann couch (need a towel to sit on it), outdoor plastic chairs, mould in the bathroom, old old tap ware & tub, historical unadjustable Caroma shower head, stained carpet, incredibly poor lighting. Upside: fluffy towels, newish kitchenette with basic supplies, good bed (not king), fresh crisp sheets, free underground secure parking. Side back room was quiet around 11pm. Reception had no Covid protocol check-in, hand sanitizers empty, Lobby, hallways, elevator etc are tired, dark, and dated looking. Needs a total overhaul, a major refresh to rescue it from 90s beige meltdown.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
1Chica1 wrote a review May 2021
Melbourne, Australia94 contributions33 helpful votes
Great location to the Strand, cafes and supermarket. Room was clean, comfortable bed and good WiFi. Had everything you need in terms of kitchen. No real view of the water and if you're tall then may not be able to stand up in the shower due to low roof. Bathroom could do with a few updates, looking tired.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
pmtravel_10 wrote a review May 2021
Sydney, Australia89 contributions31 helpful votes
First room had a terrible musty smell - no way I could sleep there.
Manager was happy to provide full refund, but before we picked another hotel he came back and said he had another room he could offer. This didn't smell so accepted it. Room basically an older motel style room - old shower etc - clean enough and ok for 1 night but better options available.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456