We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Aqua Planet Dive Center and Charter

Certificate of Excellence
Features Animals
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: | The Emporium, Corner of Marine Drive and Kings Road, Shelly Beach 4265, South Africa
Phone Number:
+27 82 877 3966
Website
Description:

Ask the world about SHARK diving, they say South Africa! Ask South Africans...

Ask the world about SHARK diving, they say South Africa! Ask South Africans about SHARK diving, they say PROTEA BANKS! Aqua Planet Dive Centre and Charter is an accredited PADI dive center, which offers a full range of PADI courses from beginner to professional, including Sharklife Specialty courses. Our diving focus, as you have probably realized, is SHARKS. If SHARKS are your thing, come see the Big 5 (Bull, Tiger, Hammerhead, Oceanic Blacktip and Ragged-tooth sharks) and more ... with Aqua Planet Dive Centre and Charter.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 142 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 121
    Excellent
  • 10
    Very good
  • 0
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Fantastic diving!!!!!!

I had a fantastic time with Aqua Planet Dive Centre, the staff are really friendly, very knowledgeable and extremely professional! Highly recommended!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
James W
via mobile

Similar Things to Do in Shelly Beach

Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 131: English reviews
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had a fantastic time with Aqua Planet Dive Centre, the staff are really friendly, very knowledgeable and extremely professional! Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank James W
Prevessin, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Many thanks to Michelle our dive master and Jaco the skipper for the dives and grat moments we shared. We had some unexpected issues on our side and they were kind enough to adjust our reservation without any fees :)

Helpful?
Thank nathaliedD9636IL
Durban
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2017

It is always a pleasure diving with Kym, Michelle, Jaco and crew - sharks a plenty at Protea Bank. WOW

Helpful?
Thank Munchie2014
Tris-Kym, Owner at Aqua Planet Dive Center and Charter, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and dives with us. We are very fortunate to have such a variety of sharks here on Protea Banks and even more fortunate to be able to spend time with them in their world. Look forward to having you back. More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

went in to pick up some new gear. the staff is well informed and very helpful. the store is well stocked and priced very good. in fact it was the cheapest diving store I have ever come across .

Helpful?
Thank Leon V
Tris-Kym, Owner at Aqua Planet Dive Center and Charter, responded to this review

We are delighted that you are happy with the service you received, Aqua Planet and all it's staff try to keep their skills and knowledge up to date as to provide good service to our valuable consumers. More 

Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2017

What can I say that has not yet been said about Kym and the guys from Aqua Planet? Aqua Planet is a place where you can meet some great people and have an incredible time! The team is great and their professionalism and the care they have for their clients & students is no wonder why they are the best... More 

Helpful?
Thank engelbrechtlizemari
Tris-Kym, Owner at Aqua Planet Dive Center and Charter, responded to this review

It was great to see you again and have you here with us, its always a pleasure to dive with you. I'm looking forward to your visit next year, until then stay well and dive safe. More 

1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Did my advanced diving license and they were very professional and friendly, the dives were fantastic!

Helpful?
Thank 564duanv
Tris-Kym, Owner at Aqua Planet Dive Center and Charter, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, we are glad you enjoyed doing your course with us and we hope you will return to dive with us soon. More 

Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

My wife and I spent 4 days diving in Protea with Aqua Planet. This is most likely the best option in this area and it seems to be turning into a hot spot worlwide. Visibility was poor, water was quite cold and current was a bit strong, but we did see a big school of hammers, as well as bull... More 

Helpful?
Thank leandros307
Tris-Kym, Owner at Aqua Planet Dive Center and Charter, responded to this review

Firstly we would like to thank you for your review and your suggestions, some of the points you brought up, like the transport to and from the launch site, are being worked on - we know it can be uncomfortable and we are trying to arrange an alternative. As you mentioned Protea Banks is a tough environment to work and... More 

Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Shargasms daily! Protea banks is outstanding, If you want to see sharks you will! We were treated to walls of hammerheads, numerous Zambezi and oceanic blacktips and a good few guitar sharks. All arranged by a friendly bunch from shop to boat to under the water...thanks guys!

Helpful?
2 Thank Mark C
Tris-Kym, Owner at Aqua Planet Dive Center and Charter, responded to this review

Yes, we are extremely fortunate to have the amount and range of sharks that we have here on Protea Banks. Always a good dive when you get treated a wall of Hammerheads, some divers go their whole lives without being as fortunate. It was great meeting you and we look forward to your next adventures on Protea Banks. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

Thank You all for great dives, a superb AOW-course and helpfulness beyond imaginary! This is a divecenter we would absolutely without any hesitations recommend further. Koeksisters was a delight and the laundrymat helped us save our hands, and Durban is just as Kym (the owner of Aqua Planet) said we would think of it! Warm regards from Joacim and Lisa

Helpful?
Thank Fam B
Tris-Kym, Owner at Aqua Planet Dive Center and Charter, responded to this review

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us, you were a pleasure to teach and always good company. Always happy to help our customers, next time you know just stay in Shelly Beach with us. More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Aqua Planet has a professional yet friendly attitude, always willing to go the extra mile for their divers and there is never a dull moment. I personally just completed my advance open water diver course and would highly recommend Aqua Planet to any diver. Thanks Aqua Planet team for making one feel at home and the amazing diving experiences.

Helpful?
Thank Vincent v
Tris-Kym, Owner at Aqua Planet Dive Center and Charter, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive response, we always try our best to make sure everyone is well taken care of whether it be involved with diving or otherwise. We are glad you enjoyed doing your course with us and hopefully see you for your Rescue course soon. More 

Travellers who viewed Aqua Planet Dive Center and Charter also viewed

Shelly Beach, KwaZulu-Natal
Shelly Beach, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Aqua Planet Dive Center and Charter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aqua Planet Dive Center and Charter staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?