We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Puddicombe Estate Farms & Winery

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 1468 8 Highway, Winona, Hamilton, Ontario L8E 5K9, Canada
Phone Number: +1 905-643-1015
Website
Today
09:00 - 05:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 05:00
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Description:

Mr. & Mrs. Puddicombe along with their four children and staff mission...

Mr. & Mrs. Puddicombe along with their four children and staff mission is to provide families with the opportunity to visit the countryside and embrace what Mother Nature provides us among family and friends. It's the simple things in life that make all the difference and create the best ever-lasting memories. For more than 210 years Puddicombe Estate Farms & Winery has harvested its own fruits to provide fresh produce and a wide variety of value added products such as hand-baked pies, jams, jellies, cookies, tarts, strudels, cider, fudge and wines. In the last few years Puddicombe Estate has adopted a field to table approach with all of its catered events serving items grown and picked for the occasion right from the farm or brought in from other local growers within a 100 mile radius of Puddicombe Estate. Puddicombe Estate believes that a farm fresh meal is a very basic yet integral part of maintaining a strong bond with families and friends. We believe this philosophy strengthens our communities and enriches our lives.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 64 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 15
    Excellent
  • 17
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 15
    Terrible
The Farm is nice, but...

We made a quick stop at this winery, cause it was on our way to Niagara-On-The-Lake. Our goal was to try any brand new, unfamiliar wine, but shortly after we parked, we discovered... read more

3 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 June 2016
Olga E
,
Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 63: English reviews
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
328 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

We were driving by and we were looking for local fruit and Puddicombe had a big sign out saying apples, pears and peaches and all they had were apples. Walked into the store and it smelled bad and there was nothing appetizing there. Will never return.

Helpful?
Thank BelaN74
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Their site states its $20 for those over 5 but when you get there they say its per person. So guess what a family of 4 costs $80 (incl a 4 and 2yr old). Its not worth it at all.

Helpful?
Thank Martina F
lmp_luvwine, Manager at Puddicombe Estate Farms & Winery, responded to this review

Hello Martina We are sorry that you didn't get to experience all the the Apple-lee fun days has to offer. The flyer states for $20.00 includes tax/pp ages 5 & up. We set the pass up for ages 5 & up as not a lot of children under 5 would want or be able to take part in all the... More 

Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2016

This was my 4th visit to the farm, and today I brought a friend from Mississauga. We enjoyed everything they had to offer. First we went to see all the farm animals who are very well cared for. Then we went on the train ride. It travels all through the acres of farm. It really opened my eyes up on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jaynewoods
Lindsay P, Manager at Puddicombe Estate Farms & Winery, responded to this review

We loved having you visit. And it was great seeing your face light up while you were around the horses. Hope to see you again soon Lindsay More 

Stoney Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

We used to love this place, it is very close to us and it is kind of a family thing to go cherry/apple picking together. We understand that it is a working farm, but this year it is a bit too much... I couldn't even let my toddle run around as there are literally piles of broken wood with nails... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alvianta
Lindsay P, Manager at Puddicombe Estate Farms & Winery, responded to this review

Hello Alvianta I'm so very sorry for you to leave with such disappointment. It makes me quite upset to read this review. I can promise you this I will be having a conversation about this with the young man that was in the orchard on Sunday. As for the wood all around, we are under a very large renovation and... More 

Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

We took our toddler here on a recommendation. A pony ride cost $20, the train ride was $17 and the food we purchase was $28. The food was boiled hotdogs, over cooked Mac & Cheese and too spicy chilli. The young adults employed here lacked enthusiasm & pace. The overall grounds were unkept, dirty and old broken children's toys in... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank cadams22
Lindsay P, Manager at Puddicombe Estate Farms & Winery, responded to this review

Hello I'm so very sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit to the estate. I can't change how you feel but I can give some explanation to some of your comments. Pony rides are run by an different company and we can't change the pricing that they decide to charge. During the week we offer a full cafe menu but... More 

London, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Our tour recently added this on their vinery tour and I wish they hadn't. The place was old, run down and the majority of the products tasted less than appealing. The "buffet" is not a buffet as you can only choose one option. And the food had very small portions, and not worth the money it costs. After the tastings,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget G
lmp_luvwine, Manager at Puddicombe Estate Farms & Winery, responded to this review

Hello Bridget We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stop at Puddicombe Estate as part of your bus tour. When visiting us in a group tour setting we have to pick a flight of wines that everyone on the tour would be able to fine at least one out of four tastings that they enjoy. We do have 32... More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
463 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2016

We decided to stop on our way home from Toronto to try a new winery. We are so happy we did. Our 12 year old son loved petting the dogs and cat at the winery. We purchased some peaches and corn, plus we did some tasting and bought a bottle of pear flavored wine. Nice diversion on our trip home.... More 

Helpful?
Thank loribob67
lmp_luvwine, Manager at Puddicombe Estate Farms & Winery, responded to this review

Hello Thank you so much for your review. We are happy that we could help make the trip home a little easier. Please come again this fall and enjoy all the fall activites the estate has to offer Cheers Lindsay More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2016

I went there to pick sour cherry. It was a big farm. There were some ladders to use and they provided water to wash your hands.

Helpful?
Thank Bahram K
lmp_luvwine, Manager at Puddicombe Estate Farms & Winery, responded to this review

Hello Bahram Thank you for coming and picking cherries at the estate. Hopefully, you will visit us for pick your own apples this fall. Cheers Lindsay More 

florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2016

Don't tell anybody, but you may find some of the best prices on ice wine at Puddicombe Farms! Probably because the grow they grapes and process the wines right there! Other wines and even some hard ciders are available as well. This is also an agri-business with some family friendly options as well! Worth a visit!

Helpful?
1 Thank iamnoname
lmp_luvwine, Manager at Puddicombe Estate Farms & Winery, responded to this review

Hello iamnoname We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit, and loved our products. We hope to see again soon. Cheers Lindsay More 

Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2016

We made a quick stop at this winery, cause it was on our way to Niagara-On-The-Lake. Our goal was to try any brand new, unfamiliar wine, but shortly after we parked, we discovered some other activities available at this place. So my kids were happy to see farm animals and birds, and I, personally, really enjoyed the train tour. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Olga E
lmp_luvwine, Manager at Puddicombe Estate Farms & Winery, responded to this review

Hello Olga We at the estate are so happy that you enjoyed your visit with us. As for our wine product. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy them. We have 32 different wines to chose from that is why we only taste some many at one time. We usually have 4-5 white wine, 4-5 red wines 3-4 sweet wines on... More 

Travellers who viewed Puddicombe Estate Farms & Winery also viewed

 

Been to Puddicombe Estate Farms & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Puddicombe Estate Farms & Winery staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?