We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam

#3 of 26 things to do in Hartbeespoort Features Animals
R104 Old Rusternburg Road, Hartbeespoort 0216, South Africa
+27 12 258 9904
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 225.85*
and up
Elephant Sanctuary Tour from Johannesburg or Pretoria
More Info
USD 266.21*
and up
Private Magaliesberg Day Tour from Johannesburg including Hartbeespoort Dam
More Info
USD 200.24*
and up
Elephant Sanctuary Tour from Johannesburg
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Elephant Sanctuary has African elephants and offers an interactive elephant experience, elephant back riding and overnight accommodation. We offer hands-on educational elephant interactions. This provides our guests with a far more intimate experience with the elephants. Our dedicated staff is committed to the use of positive reinforcement elephant training methods and as a result we have relaxed elephants who enjoy interacting with our guests.Guests are guided on foot through The Elephant Sanctuary. Guides will provide in-depth information and insight into African Elephants. You will be introduced to our elephants in the forest area, and here you will be able to touch and interact with the elephants. You will see the special relationship that the elephant handlers share with their elephants and become a part of it. Walk trunk-in-hand with the elephants. See the stables where the elephants sleep at night. Guests learn about elephant anatomy and are able to feed them. Remember to wear flat walking shoes, sun hats and bring your camera. The 08h00 Elephant Experience includes brushing the elephants down.Open 7 days a week, at 08h00; 10h00 and 14h00.
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good24%
  • Average6%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
R104 Old Rusternburg Road, Hartbeespoort 0216, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 12 258 9904
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

We would most certainly recommend this place to anyone. We had so much fun. My son really enjoyed feeding and riding on the elephants. My husband even got a humungous kiss from one of the elephants. It is also very clean and the animals are...More

Thank Lunette1
KoosVanTonder, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Good day. Thank you for taking the time to write this review about us. We appreciate your feedback. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Our visitor from UK was enthralled to stand next to the elephant and receive a kiss from him.. Also walking with the elephant holding its trunk was a unique experience.

Thank catspen37
KoosVanTonder, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Good day. Thank you for taking the time to write this review about us. We appreciate your feedback. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We took our friends from USA for an introduction to the Elephants of Africa before our trip to Kruger Park. They could not believe the experience and said that it was the best experience in their lives.

Thank DavePStewart
KoosVanTonder, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good day. Thank you for taking the time to write this review about us. We appreciate your feedback. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed the elephant interaction. All rescued animals with an interesting back story. Lovely guide and friendly handlers. Beautiful setting. Will definitely bring out of town guests to come see and experience it in the future.

Thank Elzanne A
KoosVanTonder, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good day. Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is appreciated! Thank you for recommending us to your guests. Regards

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Extremely expensive . 200€ for the family (3 young kids) with the monkey and elephant package. Very limited experience and "transactional" we don't recommend it.... Few monkeys (nothing compared to Indonesian experience)... elephants experience was saddening...More

Thank DRJ38
KoosVanTonder, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good day. Thank you for taking the time to write this review about us. Wouldn’t it be wonderful to have all wild animals live free? As you would have heard, our elephants at the Sanctuary were rescued. They are used to humans, so they would...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had gone to Knynsa Elephant park before this and it was much more relaxed there. I understand that they need to be careful with the animals, but the enclosures are just too small for such big animals. I felt sorry for them and hope...More

Thank CdnNCarolina
KoosVanTonder, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good day. Thank you for taking the time to write this review about us. We only offer three tours daily so that our Elephants have enough free time to roam free. It is important to note that we work with our elephants as a group...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We have been to the sanctuary once before 7 years ago but had family visiting from England so took them for the interaction. My one and only complaint is that they had NO baby changing tables or facilities in any of the bathrooms I went...More

Thank Janene H
KoosVanTonder, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good day. Thank you for taking the time to write this review about us. Your feedback is truly appropriated. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, where did you hear about us? Our prices on our website is updated to the new price of...More

Reviewed 10 July 2017

My daughter a budding conservationist was enthralled as was I with the thorough experience we had. Not only did we feed, walk and ride an elephant but there was a lot of detail and information given that we didn't know. The price was excellent, facilities...More

Thank Candice21
KoosVanTonder, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Good day. Thank you for taking the time to write this review about us. We appreciate the feedback and hope that we will see you again soon. Regards

Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Great place to see what nature looks like, awesome tourist destination. I just wish they had better staff, when we walked with the elephants they weren't very helpful or friendly. All and all great experience. Keep up the good work!

Thank Benita S
KoosVanTonder, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Good day. Thank you for taking the time to write this review about us. Your feedback will assist us in providing an unforgettable experience to all our guest. Regards

Reviewed 11 June 2017

I was looking forward to visit the sanctuary. however after I visited it I was so mad at the people there. The good things are you got to see the elephants and touch them and feed them and I think the management there are taking...More

1  Thank MohammedAhassan
KoosVanTonder, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Good day. Thank you for taking the time to write this review about us. This will help us to provide an unforgettable experience to all our guest. Regards

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Silver Orange Bistro
409 reviews
2.91 km away
Siesta Tapas & Bistro
144 reviews
6.53 km away
Squires on the Dam
149 reviews
5.45 km away
Vovo Telo Hartbeespoort
43 reviews
6.80 km away
Nearby Attractions
Monkey Sanctuary
264 reviews
.14 km away
Hartbeespoort Dam - Snake and Animal Park
121 reviews
5.44 km away
Hartbeespoort Dam
140 reviews
4.51 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Michelle W
10 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from KoosVanTonder | Property representative |
Good day. Please send me a mail to management @ monkeysanctuary coza so i can gather all the information required to assist.
0
Votes
gilawaichman
13 April 2017|
Answer
Response from KoosVanTonder | Property representative |
Good day. TripAdvisor doesn't allow us to put email address or website URL. You can find our email address on our website.
0
Votes
gilawaichman
6 April 2017|
Answer
Response from KoosVanTonder | Property representative |
Kindly send us a email in order for us to give you a quotation.
0
Votes