We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Topsail Charters - Day Tours
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
91
All photos (91)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent83%
  • Very good13%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“tower bridge”(8 reviews)
“the galley”(7 reviews)
About
River Cruises on board historic sailing barges including cream tea cruises, lunch and evening sails, day trips. Finalist in Visit England Best Small Attraction 2015.
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
Cooks Yard The Hythe | The Hythe Quay, Maldon CM9 5HN, England
Website
+44 1621 857567
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Topsail Charters - Day Tours
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
109
17
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
109
17
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tower bridge ploughman's lunch the galley well stocked bar afternoon tea below deck cake safety briefing hour trip the river biscuits barge trip ham birthday present wedding reception seafood platter cream tea
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
51 - 60 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2017

I booked a 2 hour trip with Cream Tea as a present for my Brother in-Law. To get onto a Thames Barge and sail out of Maldon and area where I live is a big thrill to see the landscape from a different perspective. The...More

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Dickiehib
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We went on a Cruise/Birdwatching trip today on a Thames Barge. Everything was well organised and we were given all he information we needed when we booked the trip. When we boarded the barge there was unlimited tea/fresh coffee and biscuits. All the crew were...More

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank F7915QDpeterp
Reviewed 19 February 2017

My better half booked this day trip as an anniversary present. We sailed from Brightlingsea in a flotilla of two vessels "kitty" and "thistle" I think? We met at about nine in the morning and sailed about an hour later after a safety briefing and...More

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank Steve B
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

We received a boat trip with egg, bacon and sausage huffer with fresh coffee lunch snack included for Christmas from our daughter. It was something I had planned to organise for sometime so was looking forward to a New Years treat! We were not disappointed...More

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank Tracydale1
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We were given a topsail charter gift voucher as a joint 50th birthday present. We decided to attend an afternoon cruise with a Sunday roast. "Kitty" is a historical boat and beautiful to look at. We were very lucky with the autumn weather. We found...More

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank 404L
Stephanie V, Manager at Topsail Charters - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Thank you for your comments and I'm sorry you were a little disappointed with the trip. We don't offer a commentary as we feel on the whole guests prefer to enjoy the peace and quiet of the river, however we do usually have information sheets...More

Reviewed 7 October 2016

Had a lovely afternoon spent with my sprightly 81 year old father Sailing at Maldon on Kitty, which is a beautiful Thames Barge Afternoon tea was scrumptious Thank you all for a great time and my father said it was the best birthday present he...More

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank lisa-brown01
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Just had a really great afternoon on a sailing barge. Included a cream tea, which was very nice, lovely cuppa too! Friendly, helpful staff. It was quite chilly and very windy so our next one will be in the warm summer months (hopefully!). Lasted about...More

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Sue L
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Didn't know what to expect. But wow what a fantastic afternoon. Captain and crew had a great sense of humour. We boarded Thistle 120 year old. Thames barge. We had a great trip and half way through had afternoon tea. Magical time. Will definitely do...More

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Damonwalker666
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We recently had a 2 hour trip on board the Thistle sailing down the Blackwater in glorious sunshine. The crew were all friendly and helpful especially 'the boy' Guy who made managing the rigging look easy and regaled everyone with interesting anecdotes and local information....More

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank ChrisCarps
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Belated review for a wonderful afternoon on Hydrogen at the end of June. We booked the barge cruise with ploughmans on the quay before sailing for 36 people as a 50th birthday celebration. It is fair to say that everyone - from experienced sailors to...More

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank the2coops
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 nearby hotels
The Limes
220 reviews
.69 km away
Blue Boar Hotel
282 reviews
.84 km away
Le Bouchon Hotel
281 reviews
1.33 km away
Crouch Valley Lodge
99 reviews
7.59 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 116 nearby restaurants
El Guaca Mexican Grill
545 reviews
.42 km away
House of Delight
177 reviews
.18 km away
Intimo-Fresco
997 reviews
.46 km away
The Vintage Rose Tea Room
56 reviews
.39 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 40 nearby attractions
Combined Military Services Museum
295 reviews
.70 km away
Promenade Park
763 reviews
.50 km away
Heybridge Basin
287 reviews
1.52 km away
Moot Hall
55 reviews
.75 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
David B
25 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Stephanie V | Property representative |
Hello We offer a variety of different cruises from various locations all over the East Coast, so its hard to suggest a price per head. However all the prices and trips are detailed on our Website. Please don't hesitate to... More
0
Votes
Foodie99999
19 June 2017|
Answer
Response from Stephanie V | Property representative |
Hi there, I'm afraid we don't allow dogs on our public trips, but we do have a phone number for a local professional dog sitter if that is of help. Please e-mail the office if we can be of further help. Regards Steph
0
Votes
Uptonparkrangers
14 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Tony S | Reviewed this property |
Nothing at all just turn up and eat lunch
0
Votes