We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Normandy WW2 Trip.

As part of a Normandy ww2 trip, I found memorial site and museum well worth a visit, the landscape... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
ppearson95
,
Dymock, United Kingdom
A beautiful setting for one of the most harrowing battles of WW2

Standing at the war memorial on Montormel looking out over the plain spread out in front of you... read more

Reviewed 17 August 2018
John S
,
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Read all 120 reviews
115
All photos (115)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good31%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
About
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
20°
10°
Sep
15°
Oct
10°
Nov
Contact
Les Hayettes | Coudehard, 61160 Argentan, France
Website
+33 2 33 67 38 61
Call
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
36
10
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
36
10
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgerman armyworld war iibeautiful countrysideon displayspeak frenchboth sidessherman tankfew daysnormandy beachesbattlememorialpolishpresentationhillfightingdivisionfilm
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As part of a Normandy ww2 trip, I found memorial site and museum well worth a visit, the landscape views were amazing, sadly very different to the horrors here in world war 2,

Thank ppearson95
Reviewed 17 August 2018

Standing at the war memorial on Montormel looking out over the plain spread out in front of you it's hard to imagine the carnage that took place here in August 1944. We had a couple of hours to kill on our way up north and...More

1  Thank John S
Reviewed 19 July 2018

This place is a bit out of the way and you're probably only going to come here because you specifically want too but whatever you're reason this is a gem of a small museum. Situated on a hill with commanding views of the valley below,...More

1  Thank Paul N
Reviewed 3 July 2018

This is a part of the war you wont see at the movies. The film show and guides explain how the fleeing German Army were encircled and finally beaten in Normandy. As you look over the beautiful countryside its hard to imagine the scenes of...More

3  Thank timbershifter
Reviewed 28 November 2017

A very clear Audio visual with diorama, in English ( for us). Clearly explains the build up and the importance of the desperate fight and astonishing bravery of the Poles. Who risked, and lost, their lives to free another peoples country. My wife unexpectedly enjoyed...More

1  Thank gordonhauser
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

The encirclement of the German troops between here and Falaise marked the end of the Battle of Normandy. The views from the memorial which is high up indicate how desperate the Germans must have been to escape from this death trap.

Thank RobertFGCarter
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

The museum provides a detailed analysis of the battle on a map. The screens then open up and a guide explains the battle and points out the landmarks. Explaons the fetocity of the fighting in the 'corrodor of death'. The skies were black due to...More

1  Thank Chris S
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Unlike other patrons I found the staff were pleasant and willing to answer my questions. To be fair I speak French, so maybe that changes things. I explained that I was from Canada and of Polish decent (two of the main countries honored at this...More

2  Thank Robert S
Reviewed 29 July 2017

we were here as part of a tour and our group was expected and welcomed by the staff so we did not have the same experience as individual travelers. Our guide was a knowledgeable and well spoken young woman . The museum itself was very...More

1  Thank MWK51
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

It has been 3-4 months since we visited the Memorial and Museum on the morning of March 11th 2017. I would not normally take this much time before I write a review but our visit was very upsetting and distressing; as a terribly rude staff...More

5  Thank Analyste
Management response:Responded 11 September 2017

We usually let people free to publish any comments they wish (and actually, you can see that most of them are positive to very positive about their visit in our museum) but your post on TripAdvisor is so abusive that in the present case, we...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
njwh2016
17 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Analyste | Reviewed this property |
I am sorry to have learnt you had a similar experience - unfortunately I have not been able to take it to a higher level. However, I feel sure that those in control will sooner or later read the many poor reviews on... More
0
Votes