We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Heron Cruises

Little Tub Harbour, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
+1 855-596-2999
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Worth every penny

There are quite a few different tour companies in Tobermory but I recommend Blue Heron. They have... read more

Reviewed 4 September 2017
Ryanwujek
via mobile
Fine boats

This tour was a sideline of something else we booked. This company was professional and having... read more

Reviewed 4 September 2017
Laritwoshoes
,
Perth, Australia
via mobile
Read all 309 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
One of Tobermory's longest running businesses - Blue Heron Cruises has been operating boat tours through Fathom Five National Marine Park for over 45 years. Cruise through the crystal clear waters of Georgian Bay surrounding Tobermory taking in the vistas that include Big Tub Lighthouse and the Shipwrecks in Big Tub Harbour. Hiking trails, a historic light station, caves and the namesake Sea Stacks are waiting for you to explore on Flowerpot Island. Continuous departures from the bustling Little Tub Harbour daily (Seasonally and weather permitting).
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good28%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“jet boat” (39 reviews)
“glass bottom” (81 reviews)
“sunset cruise” (22 reviews)
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
Little Tub Harbour, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
CONTACT
Website
+1 855-596-2999
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

There are quite a few different tour companies in Tobermory but I recommend Blue Heron. They have great tours and take you to some beautiful spots. They offer different cruises: non stop 2 hr Cruise to the fathom five, glass bottom to flower pot island,...More

1  Thank Ryanwujek
BlueHeronCo, Marketing & Promotions Manager at Blue Heron Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted that you offer such a glowing recommendation to other travellers! We look forward to seeing you back with us soon.

Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

This tour was a sideline of something else we booked. This company was professional and having watched the competition alongside them they were the better of the two operators going to Flower Pot Island.

Thank Laritwoshoes
BlueHeronCo, Marketing & Promotions Manager at Blue Heron Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thanks for taking the time to send us your feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed this little detour and that our professionalism struck a chord. We've been doing this for close to 50 years and take lots of pride in getting it right.

Reviewed 4 September 2017

When I went to book the cruise to the Flowerpot island, they said there is this glass bottom cruise to the island. The first thing that came to my mind was a cruise boat with a good surface area of glass with which the people...More

1  Thank Amrita T
BlueHeronCo, Marketing & Promotions Manager at Blue Heron Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Happy to hear you had fun on the jet boat and your enjoyed the speedy trip. The glass bottom in our Blue Heron 5 is the largest that was allowed by Transport Canada at the time the vessel was built. That has changed and we...More

Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Tour is very expensive! $175 for a family of 4. We did have a great time. It's not something I would do multiple times with such a cost. Staff were friendly and nice.More

Thank jan1015
BlueHeronCo, Marketing & Promotions Manager at Blue Heron Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

So glad to hear you had a great time and our staff helped make the experience a good one. We do try to make our cruise family-friendly by offering a $10 discount to youth (6 to 16 years) and offering a free fair to children...More

Reviewed 30 August 2017

We took the tour out to flower pot island and visited two wrecks. Take the advice of the ticket agent and book yourself on the smaller faster boats. you can see the wrecks much better then on the glass bottom boat.

1  Thank Oilerman
BlueHeronCo, Marketing & Promotions Manager at Blue Heron Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Yes, lots of people enjoy the jet boats. So glad it worked out for you! Thanks for taking the time to share you tips will other visitors.

Reviewed 29 August 2017

The cruises was shortened due to, "Weather" and we did not get any refund or discount. ( it was likely shortened just to save fuel ). The map and staff said the boat to Flowerpot island went all the way around the island, so we...More

2  Thank nitrothumper
BlueHeronCo, Marketing & Promotions Manager at Blue Heron Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience. Of course we are sorry you were disappointed on your visit. It may help for you to get a bit more information. We never cancel sailings lightly. We are guided by...More

Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Great tour with lots to see and great information given. Try to take the smaller boats as you will see the ship wrecks better on them.

Thank Brenda C
BlueHeronCo, Marketing & Promotions Manager at Blue Heron Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thanks so much for the review and the helpful hint to future travellers. Happy to hear that you had a great tour and you enjoyed all the information from our knowledgeable crew.

Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Have used blue heron a number of times to travel to flowerpot island. Tours of the sunken wrecks and then 30 minute cruise to island. Boats in pristine condition. Very well organized. No hassle at all. Be prepared to book a time slot to go...More

Thank john c
BlueHeronCo, Marketing & Promotions Manager at Blue Heron Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Wow, John C, we'll take those 6 STARS! Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know that you had such a great experience. We'll be sure to pass on your feedback to all the team.

Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

I would personally, highly recommend this compagny. The staff are really friendly, always answer all your questions and prices are very resonable. Very fun experience.

Thank Catherine M
BlueHeronCo, Marketing & Promotions Manager at Blue Heron Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you so much for that warm praise and the "highly recommended" endorsement! Hope to see you back in Tobermory soon.

Reviewed 25 August 2017

This seems to be the thing to do in Tobermory. The crew was very friendly and the kids enjoyed seeing the shipwrecks through the large glass. We chose to do the cruise that doesn't stop at the island. Go in the morning when it is...More

Thank MontrealNancy99
BlueHeronCo, Marketing & Promotions Manager at Blue Heron Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thanks for taking time to write a review and share your experience with other travellers. We're very pleased to hear our staff were helpful and that the kids had a fun time!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Shipwreck Lee's Of Tobermory
286 reviews
.17 km away
Tobermory Brewing Company and Grill
385 reviews
.09 km away
Leeside Restaurant & Patio Bar
274 reviews
.12 km away
Crowsnest Pub
538 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
MS Chi-Cheemaun
474 reviews
.11 km away
Big Tub Lighthouse
247 reviews
.71 km away
Divers Den
327 reviews
.15 km away
Bruce Anchor Cruises
223 reviews
.36 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
lily455
17 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from BlueHeronCo | Property representative |
If you travel in a glass bottom cruise boat the outbound trip is 50 minutes and the return is 25 minutes. In a jet boat the outbound travel time is 25 minutes and the return time 15 minutes. And you can chose to go by one... More
0
Votes
Gabriela Z
9 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from BlueHeronCo | Property representative |
Yes, the advice from other travellers is correct. September is off-peak and booking on arrival is fine. We look forward to seeing you then!
0
Votes
Sonia S
30 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Michelle C | Reviewed this property |
It helps, in peak season. However, we booked it the morning of, and went in the afternoon. no problem. We were there the end of September last year, in what is known as the 'shoulder season' in tourist areas. The glass... More
0
Votes