We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

P&O Ferries - Larne To Cairnryan

Save
Share
Review Highlights
Good crossing

We travelled on the P&O ferry Cairnryan to Larne (late July) and Larne to Cairnryan (early August... read more

Reviewed 6 August 2018
Peter B
,
Houston, Texas
A trip to Northern Ireland

Great service and smooth ride from Larne to Cairnryan.Nice selection of food and drinks and... read more

Reviewed 29 July 2018
Dan961
,
Winnipeg, Canada
via mobile
Read all 118 reviews
45
All photos (45)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good28%
  • Average15%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
About
Voted “Best Ferry Company” three years running*, there’s no better way to start your Scottish adventure than with P&O Ferries. We operate regular daily sailings from Larne to Cairnryan, making our crossings one of the most convenient ways to travel...more
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
| Larne Harbour, Larne BT40 1AX, Northern Ireland
Website
+44 1304 448888
Call
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
47
32
17
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
47
32
17
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungepriority boardingboth waysbar areastaff were friendlyhour tripkids areacomfortable journeyno issuestwo hourscomfortable loungestarbucks coffeeno hasslequick crossingboth sidessmooth ridefemale member of staff
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Actually, we took this ferry the other way - Cairnryan to Larne - but that doesn't matter. Efficient loading/boarding, nice vessel, smooth crossing. Good bar and sitting area up front, good restaurant area, and, for me, who likes to be up top outside, good outdoor...More

Thank NormanSantaFe
PANDO_Ferries, Customer Communications Officer at P&O Ferries - Larne To Cairnryan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your feedback. We're glad to hear you had a pleasant experience with us when you travelled from Cairnryan and we look forward to seeing you again on board soon. Vee P&O...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The ferry crossing and the staff were excellent. As I hadn't booked a return ticket ( I didn't pre-plan my return). I tried to phone head office to made a booking on the Sunday morning of my return trip. Phoned on five (5) occasions. Followed...More

Thank Stephen W
PANDO_Ferries, Customer Communication Officer at P&O Ferries - Larne To Cairnryan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Morning and thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that you didn't manage to get in touch with our reservations team. Sadly I don't know which number you have tried or at what time, but UK free phone 0800 130...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really just a complaint (and a bit of a moan); Unhelpful rude staff. I was booked onto the 16:30 ferry with a flexible ticket. Myself and a few others were trying to get onto the 13:30 ferry having arrived early at 10:30. First time at...More

1  Thank Beavis_0
PANDO_Ferries, Customer Communications Officer at P&O Ferries - Larne To Cairnryan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We are really sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our service. Rest assured that this does not reflect our usual service standards. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we thrive to improve our products and services...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I like travelling on this route as it beats the so called superfast Stenaline ferry hands down for the on off experience. Stena takes over 2.5 hours from loading to unloading a car. I also once got caught out badly on Stenaline by their WiFi...More

1  Thank FaircriticBelfast
PANDO_Ferries, Customer Communications Officer at P&O Ferries - Larne To Cairnryan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We are really sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our service. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we thrive to improve our products and services continuously. Please do email our team at customer.services@poferries.com with details of...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Travelled over on coach to football match on 23rd August. The boat is tiny and when busy you will struggle to find a seat! Anyway on the return journey, due to part of motorway being closed we arrived at Cairnryan for our return sailing(midnight sailing)...More

1  Thank wilko1978
PANDO_Ferries, Customer Communications Officer at P&O Ferries - Larne To Cairnryan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Morning, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're sorry to hear you feel this way. Check in automatically closes 30mins before departure for cars and 45mins for footpassengers. We have these cut off times in order to ensure that we...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had been on a David Urquhart coach trip to the Republic of Ireland in May and had enjoyed it so much that we booked onto another one in July. One of things that we had enjoyed in our earlier trip was the ferry crossing...More

1  Thank Brucestewart
PANDO_Ferries, Customer Communications Officer at P&O Ferries - Larne To Cairnryan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Bruce, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We value your input as this helps us to improve and maintain a high standard for our customers. Please send an email with your points of improvements to customer.services@poferries.com and one of our team...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The outward journey (Larne to Cainryan) was fine. On the return journey, we arrived at Cainryan at 4:10 for the 4:30 (booked) ferry and were refused entry. Told to come back for the 8 p.m. ferry (3 1/2 hours later). Needless to say, I shall...More

1  Thank Malcolm T
PANDO_Ferries, Customer Communications Officer at P&O Ferries - Larne To Cairnryan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Morning Malcolm, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're so sorry to hear you feel this way. We're not entirely sure why this would have happened as check in closes 30mins before departure for cars. Please could you email customer.services@poferries.com...More

Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

Easy booking in. Efficient in loading everyone on. Ferry great... Clean & comfy. Had premium so access to private area with tea/coffee, wine, nibbles. Would recommend booking this as rest of ferry small and was busy, though enough seating etc for everyone. Short crossing (2hrs)....More

Thank JaneE1665
PANDO_Ferries, Customer Communications Officer at P&O Ferries - Larne To Cairnryan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

That's just the sort of review we love to read! We're glad you enjoyed your trip & hope to welcome you on board again soon. *Sam P&O Ferries

Reviewed 6 August 2018

We travelled on the P&O ferry Cairnryan to Larne (late July) and Larne to Cairnryan (early August) with our car and three young children. Worth paying the extra £6 for priority boarding as meant we could get on the boat first and get good seats...More

Thank Peter B
PANDO_Ferries, Customer Communications Officer at P&O Ferries - Larne To Cairnryan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Hi Peter, Thank you for your review. Your feedback helps us to maintain a high standard for our passengers. We are glad that our sailings were on time and that you had pleasant experience on board. Looking forward to welcoming you on board soon again!...More

Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

Great service and smooth ride from Larne to Cairnryan.Nice selection of food and drinks and entertainment.

Thank Dan961
PANDO_Ferries, Customer Communications Officer at P&O Ferries - Larne To Cairnryan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our service on board. We hope to welcome you again in the future. *John P&O Ferries

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Curran Court Hotel
346 reviews
.70 km away
Ballygally Castle
1,658 reviews
7.02 km away
Dobbins Inn Hotel
341 reviews
14.79 km away
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
648 reviews
15.18 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 57 restaurants in Larne
Silver Lounge
76 reviews
1.42 km away
Prom Cafe
70 reviews
.84 km away
Cafe Riva
131 reviews
.76 km away
Brooklyn Bay Diner
115 reviews
.83 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 29 attractions in Larne
Larne Visitor Information Centre
32 reviews
1.35 km away
Chaine Memorial Tower
44 reviews
.74 km away
Larne Museum & Arts Centre
31 reviews
1.57 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Kevinod57
30 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Brucestewart | Reviewed this property |
As others have said there should be no problem whatsoever in travelling by ferry to Northern Ireland from the British mainland. Going south to the Republic of Ireland should not be a problem either as currently there are no... More
1
Vote
Bordersspagirl
24 June 2018|
Answer
Response from Antony W | Reviewed this property |
We tend to book in advance because our plans are fixed. However, I know from experience of talking to people on this route they often turn up and pay on the day. I imagine you need to be careful about peak season.
1
Vote
KimMac1
6 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from PANDO_Ferries | Property representative |
Hi KimMac1, Although planes are quicker, we think sailing breaks up your journey nicely. If you're driving a long way already, it's sometimes nice to relax for the evening whilst travelling. If you'd like to ask us anything... More
1
Vote