We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Suffolk House 250 Jalan Air Itam | George Town, Penang Island 10460, Malaysia
Phone Number:
+60 4-228 1109
Website
Today
10:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 23:00
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Description:

Penang Mansion Restaurant Suffolk House is a stunning example of an...

Penang Mansion Restaurant Suffolk House is a stunning example of an Anglo-Indian garden house and Malaysia's only surviving Georgian Mansion, originally built in the early 1800s. For decades Suffolk House had a glittering career as the home of successive British Governors. The winner of the 2008 Award of Distinction in the UNESCO Asia-Pacific Heritage Awards for Culture Heritage Conservation this extensively and passionately restored mansion is now a "must visit" destination for everyone who comes to the UNESCO World Heritage Site of George Town, Penang.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 104 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 37
    Excellent
  • 36
    Very good
  • 17
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
No Roast Dinner!!

We have eaten at Suffolk House many times and thought it would be a lovely treat to have a Sunday Roast as advertised on the website. On arrival we found they no longer serve a... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Lelaki G
,
UK
via mobile

Similar Things to Do in Penang Island

Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 100: English reviews
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We have eaten at Suffolk House many times and thought it would be a lovely treat to have a Sunday Roast as advertised on the website. On arrival we found they no longer serve a roast dinner and don't seem to have done so for a while. Even though we had a pleasant light lunch from the set lunch menu,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lelaki G
penangnative, Manager at Suffolk House, responded to this review

Thank you Lelaki G for your positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed the pleasant light lunch but are very sorry that you were disappointed in not getting to have the Sunday Roast. Actually we serve Sunday Roast only for lunch and not for dinner. Hope this clarifies. Once again thank you for your custom and we hope to... More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
721 reviews
316 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This beautiful old plantation building was the mansion that was used for some of the parts of the Indian Summers television mini series. On a small stream and in a park area the house offers a reflection on a lifestyle and era from long ago. The architecture is impressive - columns, arches, breezeways - and fascinating (you cannot see the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nick D
penangnative, Manager at Suffolk House, responded to this review

Thank you Nick D for your positive review appreciating what Suffolk House is and what we offer. We hope to welcome you back again for a meal in the restaurant. Thank you for your visit. More 

2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

This was our second visit for lunch. We liked the history and the effort made to preserve the place. First time we thought it's because we ordered something on the menu that's not great. The fish and chips was a big serve. The fish was inedible - we guessed it's a local fish like talapia. Muddy and soft. We went... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda Sook Yin L
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Had lunch with friends at this historic building. The overall atmosphere is reflecting grandeur of long past British colonial life style. Unfortunately the building and interior decor (furniture, ceiling fans, roller shutters) lack maintenance and a thorough clean up. The Mansion is recognized by the Malaysian authorities as a Heritage site, as such it is a disgrace that it is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 4123travelbug
penangnative, Manager at Suffolk House, responded to this review

Thank you 4123travelbug for your feedback. We are sorry that you were disappointed during your visit to Suffolk House. However please note that you have been grossly misinformed (especially when this is your second visit) because Suffolk House is not a museum and a curator's advice would not be necessary. There is no furniture that is on display as they... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

A lovely setting for a very colonial experience. Suffolk house has been beautifully restored and for around rm90 you can get a good afternoon tea for two as well as entry to the house. Lovely experience after a hot day of sight seeing

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte H
penangnative, Manager at Suffolk House, responded to this review

Thank you Charlotte H for your positive review. It was a pleasure serving you and we are most happy to know that you enjoyed the civilized Suffolk House experience and appreciated what we had to offer. We hope that you will visit us again in the future but in the meantime we wish you safe travels. Once again thank you... More 

Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Unless you are going there to eat, you mind find a visit a bit dull....there is a lot of empty space which would benefit from furnishings and displays. But tea was excellent...service could not be faulted, and I imagine that lunch and dinner would of the same high standard. One small word of warning...note the address before setting out.....our first... More 

Helpful?
Thank afsl0nd0n
penangnative, Manager at Suffolk House, responded to this review

Thank you afsl0nd0n for the 4 star rating. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the Suffolk House experience and appreciated what we offered. It was a pleasure serving you and we hope to welcome you back again in future. Thank you for recommending us to other readers. Once again thank you for your custom. More 

Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Went with friends for lunch, we ordered set lunch that came with awesome tomato soup. The presentation of food is really good matches with its taste and surprisingly the price was very reasonable. Its a 5 star experience on our last visit.

Helpful?
Thank Gan K
penangnative, Manager at Suffolk House, responded to this review

Thank you Gan K for the 5 star rating. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the Suffolk House experience and appreciated what we offered. It was a pleasure serving you and we hope to welcome you back again in future. Thank you for recommending us to other readers. Once again thank you for your custom. More 

great bardfield
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2017

We spent a very loud, busy morning round Penang - with ride on a trishaw, sightseeing in the heat, and then - bliss, a tranquil snack lunch on a peaceful terrace at Suffolk House. Such a great change after the previous morning's activities. Took one back to how it must have been in colonial times. (We were pleased to have... More 

Helpful?
Thank wfleischmann
penangnative, Manager at Suffolk House, responded to this review

Thank you wfleischmann for the 5 star rating. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the Suffolk House experience and appreciated what we offered. It was a pleasure serving you and we hope to welcome you back again in future. Thank you for recommending us to other readers. Once again thank you for your custom. More 

Level Contributor
125 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2017

The history of Suffolk House is interesting and worth reading up on as it recalls the rise and decline of personal and island affairs alike. And if you want to have your name linked for all time to the building, sponsor a column upstairs and get a name plaque affixed to it. Hurry though, there are not many left, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert d
penangnative, Manager at Suffolk House, responded to this review

Thank you Robert d for the positive review. We are happy to know that Suffolk House had impressed you. We look forward to your return. More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Visiting here solely for its historical purpose, I don't think it is worth it. However if you are doing dining and visiting here to obeserve the past history then it is a worth visit. I did lunch here with my family and to our surprise the food are flavourful that we can't stop telling ourselves how yummy it was. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leveregel
penangnative, Manager at Suffolk House, responded to this review

Thank you Leveregel for your comments and for being fair in you review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the food and beverage offerings. Just to put on record, Suffolk House is now a Restaurant and Events Venue, not a museum so the historical side of the house is not the main feature. However, despite that there is... More 

Travellers who viewed Suffolk House also viewed

 

Been to Suffolk House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Suffolk House and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Suffolk House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?