We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Gladstone Road | RD 2, Carterton 5792, New Zealand
Phone Number:
+64 6-379 8563
Website
Today
11:00 - 16:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 16:30
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Description:

Gladstone Vineyard is a family business with an international reputation...

Gladstone Vineyard is a family business with an international reputation for distinctive, high quality wines of finesse and complexity. Located an hour north of Wellington in the Wairarapa district of New Zealand’s North Island, our principal varieties are Pinot Noir, Sauvignon Blanc and Pinot Gris.

Free tastings of our award-winning Gladstone Vineyard and 12,000 Miles wines are available at cellar door or purchase a tasting tray of our current release red or white wines to enjoy in our wine garden.

We also welcome larger groups (10 people or more) for tastings and winery tours. Please call ahead or email us to book ($5 pp for tasting, $10 pp for a winery tour and tasting).

All our wines are available by the glass or bottle to be enjoyed in our relaxed and family-friendly setting with a petanque court and childrens' play area. New Zealand cheeses, local pate and crackers are available to purchase. We also operate a Reverse BYO – which means you are welcome to bring a picnic as long as you purchase your beverages from us.

Accommodation is available in our self-contained winery apartment overlooking the vines.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 22 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 13
    Excellent
  • 7
    Very good
  • 0
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
I want it!! Yes it's for sale: no! People do care

We chanced on this Devine place. The welcome was genuine and warm. The wine was superb. It's the middle of winter so no cafe etc: only common sense. The piggy is gorgeous and I'd... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Gogginc
,
Wellington, New Zealand
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

22 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 22: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We chanced on this Devine place. The welcome was genuine and warm. The wine was superb. It's the middle of winter so no cafe etc: only common sense. The piggy is gorgeous and I'd honestly buy the place if my Wellington home was in Auckland instead ( I'd be that much richer lol) the rest of property is inspirational I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gogginc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Stopped in on a friends recommendation and ordered the anti-pasto platter, was not very impressed with the spread and the wine that I ordered was not the wine I received. When telling the waitress about the meal and wines she replied "this is my first day and I hate wine!" She then took the plates and just walked off. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ben K
Christine K, Owner at Gladstone Vineyard, responded to this review

We are sorry you had a poor experience visiting our vineyard cafe. We had some problems with food delivery but offer no excuse that the platter was not to a good standard. We apologise. The young woman was indeed on her first day at the vineyard (to wash dishes). Thank you for your feedback. It has been salutary for us... More 

Where ever the wind takes me
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Went with a group of family members (all adults) to try their wines and also have lunch. Although I do not drink, apparently the wines were not all that flash and the ones people wanted to try they couldn't. The food looks like it has been completely scaled back. The burger and their platter looked like the best thing the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chairmanblau
Christine K, Owner at Gladstone Vineyard, responded to this review

We are sorry you had a poor experience visiting our vineyard cafe. We had some problems with food delivery but offer no excuse that the food was not to a good standard. We are neither 'scaling back' our operation nor do we care any less now we are for sale. However that clearly is not the impression we are giving.... More 

Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We spent a lovely afternoon at the vineyard. Thanks to Craig for our tour of the winery and to Catherine for the delicious platter and tastings. This is a great little place to bring the kids and a picnic, great playground for the little ones to play on while you have a quiet glass of wine or choose a bottle... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Judith B
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Took advantage of a beautiful winters day to take British visitors to Wairarapa. One of our guests was promised her first ever winery visit. Gladstone was great - the grapes, big hoose, new winery and old cottage with animals - statues and real. Dra treated us royally. We enjoyed choosing our own cheese platter and having wine tasting. Could have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank wellingt0nkirby
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2016

we recently went to Gladstone Vineyard. Great tasting cheese and wine all with efficient friendly service. Nice setting just to sit back and relax for a while.

Helpful?
Thank Phillip B
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

What a delightful setting to try 4 whites - loved Viognier for the first time, enjoyed the Pinot Gris and there serve Pinot Gris, but the best was their sav Blanc (nicely rounded).

Helpful?
Thank Ric B
Perthshire Scotland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2016

We were told before leaving Scotland about Gladstone Wineries, as the owner hails from Glasgow. As we were staying in Martinborough, it was not too much out of our way. We thoroughly enjoyed our wine tasting with the helpful Catherine at the bar, some happy Kiwi's were there at the same time, a lovely atmosphere. Our purchase of 12000 miles... More 

Helpful?
Thank dormiegal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2015

Off the beaten track from the Martinborough wine circuit but well worth a visit for the scrumptious food, the laid back surroundings and of course excellent wines. The play area was well used, and great to see provsion for families being made.Highly recommend finding time for the food as well as the wine tastings.

Helpful?
Thank Stuartandlinda
sydney
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2014

After tasting at a few Martinborough vineyards, we decided to leave that district behind us and venture further afield. We picked Gladstone Vineyard near Carterton on a punt, and what a fortunate punt that was! This is a small, sustainably run and friendly place that produces fabulous wine. There is no pretence and no charge to taste, a welcome change... More 

Helpful?
Thank rose285200

Travellers who viewed Gladstone Vineyard also viewed

 

Been to Gladstone Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gladstone Vineyard staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?