Sutherland Estate
Sutherland Estate
4.5
Saturday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
Duration: 1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

Top ways to experience Sutherland Estate and nearby attractions

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles21 reviews
Excellent
17
Very good
2
Average
1
Poor
0
Terrible
1

Kayla
Melbourne, Australia723 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2022
Me and my friend did a tasting here as part of Shedfest.

It's a lovely building on a hill with fantastic views of the area, and the big windows at the front of the venue make sure you can enjoy the view wherever you are seated.

We had five wines and despite not being big red fans, we loved the sparkling tempranillo. Only note was the tasting was a little disjointed and all over the place.

We also enjoyed a cheese platter and were pleased at how generous it was with lots of cheese and biscuits, where as at most places you get tiny slithers and never enough biscuits. We just would have loved a dip or quince paste added, and featuring some more local cheese rather than generic brands like Mersey Valley would be great!

While it has a certain charm, I do think the furniture and decor could use a little updating, but I do love the wine barrels used as some of the tables.
Written 9 October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

tibolt41
Geelong, Australia4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2022 • Friends
Visited on a corporate weekend to thank our staff for their hard work over Covid and support business hit hard by the pandemic. Sadly whilst they had 2 staff which was ample there was limited information provided on the wines. We were not allowed to enter the tasting room so had to sit in sun. We were a bus load of 20 and would have liked to buy some wines but were not offered that service and frankly the experience didn’t warrant it
Written 18 February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Bernie B
Melbourne, Australia31 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2021
A magnificent winery with awesome views.
It is incredible to do wine tasting outdoors ( instead of always indoors) with such a view from the balcony.
We spent over an hour enjoying the wine tasting session- not feeling rushed or pressured to buy or keep moving
Written 6 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Kelly H
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020
We were lucky enough to have our wedding at Sutherland in early 2020 and it was better than we could have ever hoped. As locals to the Yarra Valley with lots of family and friends attending from overseas, we wanted somewhere that would show off the best of the region we love, without being over the top - and we were keen to support one of the more boutique/smaller wineries. From the time we initially inquired, Cathy and the team were so easy going, accommodating of our random requests and helpful - and just such nice humans! They are exceptional at what they do - the day went seamlessly, and everyone had nothing but praise for the view, the outstanding wine, the food and the staff. It truly was a perfect day and we look forward to celebrating our anniversaries there (although will definitely be back before then!)
Written 17 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

fletchadam
Melbourne, Australia4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
June 2019 • Solo
Wonderful array of wines. Was really impressed with the Tempranillo, Cabernet Sauvignon & Rosè but all their offerings are great expressions of cool climate wines, notably the Shiraz. Ron is a lovely host, passionate about his wines and Cathy and Angus bring a lot of energy.
Written 12 July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Gerard B
Melbourne, Australia87 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2019 • Family
The tasting room is a spectacular place.
The wines are very good.
When my wife and I tasted the Sparkling Tempranillo we both screamed with delight
It is exceptional

Loved the place and will visit again
Written 3 March 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks Gerard! We look forward to seeing you back again soon!
Written 4 March 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ADM68
Sydney, Australia12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2018
We were fortunate enough to come across this gem of a winery and stayed for 2 nights. Cathy was a welcoming hostess and ensured our stay was faultless. Highly recommended for a getaway with the added bonus of great wines.
Written 2 January 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Patricia F
Melbourne, Australia179 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2018 • Friends
Cathy is an amazing person and host, nothing is too much trouble, my party ran like clockwork. The food was delicious, wines superb and staff pleasant. And that view, WOW, the ambience was perfect. All my guests commented on the venue and every comment was most favourable, highly recommend this venue for a function, you won’t be disappointed. Even the children from 4 to 14 had a great time, cricket on the lawn in front being the most popular activity( bring your own bat and soft ball)apart from the delicious food. Vegans and vegetarians catered for happily when advised in advance.
Thank you again Cathy for a fabulous day.
Apart from private functions, Sutherland estate is open on weekends for wine tastings, no meals served but you may order a cheese platter.
Written 10 December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

JannaPar
Melbourne, Australia54 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2018 • Couples
Arrived on a cold and wet winters day and greeted by Cathy. We had been given a birthday gift voucher for two nights accommodation. Enjoyed the wine tasting and warm open fire at the cellar door. Several points of interest...downstairs was freezing, and with two air conditioners on, one downstairs and one upstairs, the bottom level was extremely cold, we discovered the entry door seals were broken and missing, with a gap at the top of the door, allowing plenty of cold air to enter. Warmth could be felt from about the sixth stair upwards. Top level warmth was great. Website mentions a gourmet breakfast, however supplies were very basic, and a complimentary bottle of wine, which we had to ask for, however Cathy seemed surprised when we asked her, and told her it was on the website, hence we received a bottle of our choice. One last thing, the bathroom towels were very thin, not what we would have expected. At 3.00 am we were woken by an ongoing loud noise, which appeared to be a badly designed downpipe.
Written 19 August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We are very sorry that your stay was not perfect for you Jan. We have been offering accommodation in the tower for some time now, and haven’t (as far as we are aware) had anyone stay where the temperature was too cold. Unfortunately you came on an extreme weekend (the coldest weekend we've had here in a very long time), bitter cold, hail and snow just up the road! We intentionally installed two commercial sized heaters/air-conditioners (one upstairs and one downstairs) to try and ensure that guests are always comfortable. Thank you for alerting us to the door seals, we will check these out and fix as required. You checked in with one of our accommodation vouchers: they normally don’t include a complimentary bottle of wine, and we apologise for not offering one on your arrival. We hope you enjoyed the Tempranillo that you chose. The towels are new, our apologies they did not meet your expectations. We have no idea what the noise at 3am was. You were they only ones staying on the property (apart from all of the local wildlife!). We will inspect the downpipes, however we have not heard anything before and they all seem to be functioning adequately. Thank you for your feedback. Despite your imperfect stay, we hope you managed to enjoy the rest of your weekend.
Written 22 August 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Yungera
Balwyn North, Australia41 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2018 • Couples
Visited this fine establishment with my wife and a friend from Paris. Following advice from Trip Advisor, the visit was an outstanding success. Cathy Phelan, proprietor and wine maker, provided us with a most informative wine tasting experience. The wines are of a very high quality and the grapes are sourced from the estate. The setting of this winery is spectacular with superb views across the valley. A highlight of the Yarra Valley.
Written 5 August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 20
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Sutherland Estate - All You MUST Know Before You Go (2024)

All things to do in Dixons Creek
Day Trips in Dixons Creek
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars