We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Bleak House Fort Road, Broadstairs CT10 1EY, England
Phone Number:
+44 1843 862224
Website
Description:

The summer home of Charles Dickens, where he wrote his famous novel...

The summer home of Charles Dickens, where he wrote his famous novel "David Copperfield".

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 73 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 22
    Excellent
  • 24
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 13
    Terrible
Place worth a visit

great little museum home of dickens and has lovely gardens also the bleak house is also a hotel so you can stay their.

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 October 2016
Suzi_Davison
,
Forest of Dean
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 73: English reviews
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited this building with 'Great Expectations' - Sadly, the place is very run down and in need of plenty of TLC. We were drawn to Bleak House because of the Dickens Connection and expected it to be a wonderful experience - but it was not. The whole building and gardens were sadly in need of much renovation. This venue has... More 

Helpful?
Thank TOBScully
Bleak H, Front Office Manager at Bleak House Museum, responded to this review

We are saddened to hear you felt this way. We do pride ourselves here a Bleak House in exceeding expectations of our guests and thousands visit each year giving us wonderful reviews. More 

Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2016

My wife had a cream tea here on an unseasonably warm day and sat outside overlooking the garden.We didn't visit the museum so can't comment on that but what we saw of the house impressed us and the service was excellent

Helpful?
Thank Mick853
Bleak H, Front Office Manager at Bleak House Museum, responded to this review

Thanks you for your comments and we hope to see you again very soon here at Bleak House. More 

broadstairs
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016

Food mediocre, bar and hotel ok. So pretentious it calls itself Bleak House Castle. OTT to say the least. Went for a meal, never again.

Helpful?
Thank martyn h
Bleak H, General Manager at Bleak House Museum, responded to this review

Dear Martyn, Thank you for taking time to review Bleak House, however I am bit confused as we do not serve meals here? Maybe you have the wrong venue. More 

Forest of Dean
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016

great little museum home of dickens and has lovely gardens also the bleak house is also a hotel so you can stay their.

Helpful?
Thank Suzi_Davison
Bleak H, Front Office Manager at Bleak House Museum, responded to this review

Thanks you for your comments and we hope to see you again very soon here at Bleak House. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016

I really liked this place. The museum is the same as I remember from 20 years ago. The models and displays are from a different era but that's what I liked. I am fed up with corporate slickness. This is definitely not that. It was very pleasant enjoying a coffee in the sitting room and I would imagine it is... More 

Helpful?
Thank EddieCafe
Bleak H, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House Museum, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you very much for your positive comments. Were pleased you enjoyed your time at Bleak House and hope to see you again one day in the future. Many Thanks Maria More 

Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

we walked up to Bleak House it was a lovely walk with amazing views. We were greeted inside by a lovely young lady who explained about the museum and exhibits. We paid £4 which was a good price and we went off to explore. The smugglers cellars were dark and atmospheric and Dickens study fascinating with lovely views. We went... More 

Helpful?
Thank caroline g
Bleak H, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House Museum, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thanks so much for taking the time to give Bleak House such positive comments. Reviews like this are very much appreciated as we work hard to deliver the best possible service. Many Thanks Maria More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2016

This did seem more interesting in previous years than now, but then I am going back some as I am a local resident. Nevertheless it is still worth a visit to feel the atmosphere and knowledge of the past

Helpful?
Thank patmiddleton18
Bleak H, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House Museum, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for taking the time to review Bleak House were pleased you was satisfied with your visit and do hope you come again some time. Many Thanks Maria More 

Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2016

For a very reasonable fee we were able to see Dicken's study and (because there were no B & B guests at that time) we were allowed to see his bedroom with most of Dickens' original furniture, although the bed was used by Queen Victoria. We also got to see the tunnels under the house which were used as part... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cadi H
Bleak H, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House Museum, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you so much for such a positive review. Please come and visit us again sometime in the near future. Many Thanks Maria More 

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2016

There are 3 elements to a visit at Bleak House...first the smugglers' exhibition down in the cellar, which contained all sorts of interesting facts about the smugglers and the Revenue men - it's not an exhibition you would necessarily find in a museum , that is what was so endearing about it - it was quirky and fun. Second, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank ANN H
Bleak H, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House Museum, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for your positive comments. Were pleased you enjoyed your visit and do hope you visit us again sometime for more delicious cream teas. Many Thanks Maria More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2016

Staff good Stairs to travel up and down. intersting little walk around the depths and heights of this house. Would like to see some more interactive items perhaps . I know it is self funded - but it is like walking into someones home really :) ( as it is .

Helpful?
Thank Tkdreje
Bleak H, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to visit Bleak House, I do hope you visit again some time. Kind Regards Maria More 

Travellers who viewed Bleak House Museum also viewed

Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Bleak House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Bleak House Museum and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bleak House Museum staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?