We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Schooners North

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA
+1 360-378-2224
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Sailing around San Juan Island

A very good day!! Saw Orcas, sea lions, wild sheep, porpoises, bald eagles, and a lot of sea... read more

Reviewed 5 October 2017
auctioneer2244
,
Cottonwood, California
Nice

Nice night activity, nice crew, beautiful ship. Always great to be out on the water, and sunset did... read more

Reviewed 16 August 2017
JayGott
via mobile
Read all 33 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good12%
  • Average12%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
LOCATION
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA
CONTACT
Website
+1 360-378-2224
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017

A very good day!! Saw Orcas, sea lions, wild sheep, porpoises, bald eagles, and a lot of sea birds. This is an 80 foot sail boat that used to haul freight. I

Thank auctioneer2244
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Nice night activity, nice crew, beautiful ship. Always great to be out on the water, and sunset did not disappoint. Good value for a couple hours out on the water at a beautiful time of day. Remember you can bring your own food and drinks...More

Thank JayGott
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

We had planned our vacation for months, and booked our charter sailing about three weeks ahead of time. The process was relatively easy: a few emails, a couple of phone calls, and we paid our deposit. A few days before our sailing, we paid the...More

Thank David F
Gary G, Owner at Schooners North, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Thank you for your review. All was correct except you forgot to mention that you showed up on the wrong day. I brought the fact that we had a written agreement regarding the sailing date to your attention, and you told me you never looked...More

Reviewed 3 August 2017

Gary was outstanding & went above and beyond. Few people today go out of their way to accommodate but Gary did! I would go back in a flash, it really made out trip! Thank You!

Thank Christopher C
Gary G, Owner at Schooners North, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Thanx Christopher Gary

Reviewed 12 July 2017

I am never so happy as being out on the water no matter whether in: a fishing, paddle or power boat, kayak, small sailboat or masted tall ship. The three hour afternoon sail on Schooner North’s eighty-foot Spike Africa was smooth sailing with picturesque sights...More

Thank Shirley B
Gary G, Owner at Schooners North, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thank you so much for your review. We hope to sail with you again. All best, Gary

Reviewed 18 September 2016

My wife and I went on 2 hour "Sunset Sail" on the Spike Africa. The boat was really nice and the crew was friendly and knowledgeable, but the experience itself was quite uneventful. It may have been that there was very little wind - but...More

Thank Giancarlo L
Reviewed 14 September 2016

I chartered Spike Africa for the day on 9/12/2016 and had an incredible day with Captain Kenny, his two-person crew, and naturalist April. The crew was courteous, knowledgable, accommodating, and answered every question I had about the boat, it's history and island. April's laminated cards...More

Thank mike c
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We went on an evening sail. It was pleasant didn't see much wildlife. The staff was friendly and cordial but after the sail we thought about it. They charged I believe $35.00 a person there were over 20 people on the ship. That comes out...More

Thank riskybidder
Management response:Responded 26 August 2016

Hello, Thank you for your response. It brings up a complicated issue. Remember we have a 3 month working window. the schooner is either under restoration in the yard or laid up for 9 months of the year. Her slip rental fees, maintenance fees, huge...More

Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed a beautiful and relaxing afternoon aboard the Spike Africa. Crew was very knowledgable, we highly recommend adding this experience to your bucket list.

2  Thank Merry S
Reviewed 16 July 2016

We sailed on the Spike Africa for 4days. The crew was wonderful! Captain Kenny put us right in the middle of the Orca whales 2 days in a row! Deckhands Chris and Emma made the best food. The food was organic and made from scratch!...More

1  Thank Rachael S
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Schooners North staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit