We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from Tripadvisor: This business is temporarily closed until 01/04/2021

The House of the Seven Gables

2,908 Reviews
Message from Tripadvisor: This business is temporarily closed until 01/04/2021

The House of the Seven Gables

2,908 Reviews
Get the full experience and book a tour
Recommended
Our most popular tours and activities
Nearby Experiences
Other experiences in Salem
Go Boston All-Inclusive Pass
USD 65.00 per adult
Popular: Booked by 4,083 travellers!
Full view
Location
Contact
115 Derby St, Salem, MA 01970-5640
Get to know the area
History & Hauntings of Salem Guided Walking Tour
Historical & Heritage Tours

History & Hauntings of Salem Guided Walking Tour

877 reviews
There are many Salem tours out there but few are as compelling as this one, led by a local historian who brings alive the city's history at the time of day you choose. If you enjoy being scared, pick a nighttime tour led by lantern light. Visit the Burying Point, as well as modern-day practicing witches as your guide tells stories of the haunted history of Salem, Massachusetts.
USD 20.00 per adult
2,908Reviews10Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 1,799
  • 861
  • 185
  • 47
  • 16
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
judyelizabeth2020 wrote a review Oct. 2020
Brooklyn, New York4 contributions1 helpful vote
Walking the gardens. Looking out the windows and seeing the view of the seas . I enjoyed learning about the era as well as the writer himself. If was very tiny though. I would not recommend this for small children.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from H7G, Public Relations Manager at The House of the Seven Gables
Responded 5 Nov. 2020
Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback about your experience with us prior to 2020 - we appreciate it!
Read more
Ivy wrote a review Sep. 2020
Fort Lauderdale, Florida16 contributions2 helpful votes
Very nice but unfortunately I was only able to see from afar. Due to it being privately owned the trees are covering the house and there were no inside tours due to Covid.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Joanna N wrote a review Sep. 2020
Oxford, Connecticut48 contributions3 helpful votes
Nice historical tour. Interesting and beautiful. We were outside only due to Covid, but the price of admission is low ($7) and it was a nice day. Very friendly staff and well kept grounds.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from H7G, Public Relations Manager at The House of the Seven Gables
Responded 5 Nov. 2020
Thank you so much for visiting our historic site. We appreciate the support in a challenging year!
Read more
Vacay2019 wrote a review Sep. 2020
Ballston Spa, New York24 contributions13 helpful votes
due to covid, the house was closed. however the gardens were open was a guided walking tour. download the app and start walking. very informative. stop and sit by the railing for a bit and absorb the beautiful shore, water, and light house views.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from H7G, Public Relations Manager at The House of the Seven Gables
Responded 5 Nov. 2020
We greatly appreciate your support of our historic site with your visit as well as your feedback. Thank you!
Read more
KSpringer wrote a review Sep. 2020
Pennsylvania253 contributions75 helpful votes
I would love to give it a great review, but when we arrived - it was closed as were the gardens... Closed Wednesday and Thursday. I drove 2 hours to tour this.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from H7G, Public Relations Manager at The House of the Seven Gables
Responded 14 Sep. 2020
Thanks for the feedback. We have posted our 2020 operating hours on our social media accounts, website, partner sites like Destination Salem, and sites like TripAdvisor. We're so sorry if you got bad information about our 2020 hours and experience.
Read more
Previous
Frequently Asked Questions about The House of the Seven Gables