We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Helicopter Line West Coast

Main South Road | Sh6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
+64 3-752 0767
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 219.64*
and up
Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef
More Info
USD 219.64*
and up
Fox Glacier and Mount Cook Helicopter Flight
More Info
USD 170.83*
and up
Franz Josef Neve Discoverer Helicopter Flight
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Discover the magnificent phenomenon of the glaciers. Experienced helicopter pilots share their knowledge whilst overflying the dramatic expanse of the Franz Josef and Fox Glaciers and snowfields, exposing extraordinary colours of ice flow, ice caves and pinnacles in this largely inaccessible alpine region. All flights feature a snow landing. Alternatively combine a scenic helicopter flight with an unforgettable guided helihike amongst the glacial ice formations with the professional and experienced Franz Josef Glacier Guides.
  • Excellent79%
  • Very good13%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“heli hike” (93 reviews)
“fox glacier” (37 reviews)
“snow landing” (21 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
LOCATION
Main South Road | Sh6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 3-752 0767
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 70 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

We were very lucky with the weather and managed to fly over the glaciers, admire the mountains and Mt Cook and land on Franz Joseph glacier! How amazing to be able to say I landed on a glacier?!?!?? Cannot recommend them enough! The staff was...More

1  Thank Lavinia1001
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2017

Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Scenic Flight with us and that the weather co-operated with you. We strive to provide an amazing experience that leaves you with lasting memories. We hope you share...More

Reviewed 26 January 2017

Family of four (2 x teens) were booked on the Franz Josef Heli Hike but due to bad weather this was cancelled. Other similar tours over the next few days were either cancelled due to weather or fully booked. The Helicopter Line team could not...More

1  Thank Bill P
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Thank you for leaving us such an awesome review. We are really sorry that the weather did not co-operate and rendered you unable to participate in the Franz Josef Heli Hike but we are thrilled that you enjoyed your shorter scenic flight up on the...More

Reviewed 18 January 2017

The fact that the glacier extended way beyond where it is now even a few decades ago is a sobering thought, going way beyond those articles and Facebook feeds you read about climate change. It brings the evidence to your doorstep in an irrefutable way....More

1  Thank Damion M
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a thorough and passionate review of our scenic flight. Firstly, we are delighted to hear that you did enjoy the scenic flight, and were inspired by the experience. The natural scenery in Franz Josef is unique...More

Reviewed 15 January 2017

Having traveled during New Zealand's springtime on purpose, we were fortunate to be able to book on the day of the flight, Oct. 30, 2016. The weather cooperated, we had a beautiful partly cloudy day, and the ride was smooth with no wind. This being...More

Thank Charles L
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so pleased that the weather co-operated with your itinerary and you were able to enjoy the natural beauty of New Zealand’s West Coast. We pride ourselves on being the premier company for...More

Reviewed 4 January 2017

We were lucky to have quite good weather to fly up on to the glacier, though is was a bit cloudy up higher. We booked the 3 hour helihike trip, which is quite alot of money.This helicopter company uses the Fanz Josef Glacier Guides (...More

Thank shrekAustralia
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Thank you for leaving us a valuable review. Our check-in time is set 1 hour prior to the trip to avoid rushing customers to the helicopters. Unfortunately, not everybody is always on time and we do our best to accommodate all clients, which may cause...More

Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

After our heli hike got cancelled they were very accommodating in getting the 3 of us rebooked. We had to wait 4 hours and hope that it didn't get cancelled again for weather but we lucked out! We had a great pilot. Made us feel...More

Thank corycastro
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad to hear that you were able to transfer to one of our scenic flights as an alternative option after your Heli Hike was cancelled. Our pilots are highly experienced and your safety...More

Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

We booked a heli hike tour a couple months earlier. At the day of the trip, they told us at the office it was cancelled due to bad water. We were disappointed that they didn't called/emailed us earlier to tell that the trip was cancelled....More

Thank Janine B
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We assess the weather for our flights on the day about an hour beforehand as it can be very unpredictable here on the West Coast. We are sorry to hear that your trip was...More

Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

We arrived in town at the end of the day and wanted to do a helicopter tour the next day. Even we we're here on the shoulder season they we're fully booked. So if you want to do this book in advance. We ha e...More

Thank IvoDeRooij
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2016

Thank you for taking time to leave feedback. We are sorry that we were unable to book you onto one of our tours. As November is the beginning of our peak season we are becoming fully booked and early bookings are recommended. We hope you...More

Reviewed 26 October 2016

Having travelled extensively to Africa, I am used to poorly organized operations, but this one kind of tops the list. There was a mix-up in our reservation. So after waking up at 5:30am to drive from Wanaka, we found out that we couldn't fly until...More

Thank Laurent L
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry that there was a mix up with your reservation, and you weren’t able to get on the morning trip. Looking through our records, the check-in time stated in your voucher doesn’t actually...More

Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

With the scenery the way that it is it would be hard to fail at this. It's truly beautiful and should be experienced. The 30min flight was supposed to be 6-8 mins on the snow and the rest flying but we spent far longer on...More

Thank freeball
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2016

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience and you were able to see the glacier at its best with such great weather. Our pilots tend to be quite generous with the landing times so it can vary...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Alice May
1,269 reviews
.31 km away
King Tiger Eastern Eating House & Bar
750 reviews
.05 km away
Snake Bite Brewery
804 reviews
.40 km away
Blue Ice Cafe
652 reviews
.58 km away
Nearby Attractions
Glacier Helicopters
373 reviews
.39 km away
West Coast Wildlife Centre
608 reviews
.35 km away
Tatare Tunnels Walk
55 reviews
.31 km away
Alpine Adventure Centre Tours
35 reviews
.48 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
patfraut
13 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Damion M | Reviewed this property |
we signed up on the morning we went up the glacier. A Chinese man who had booked some monrths in advance was in the office and quite angry that they could not get the full tour at the time because of poor visibility... More
0
Votes
william k
17 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from TotallyTourism | Property representative |
Hi William, We have a seasonal office in Twizel which is closed at the moment. The nearest base would be Glentanner, on your way to Mount Cook.
0
Votes
TMcleish
6 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from TotallyTourism | Property representative |
Hello, thank you for your enquiry. Firstly, yes! It is absolutely possible to organise a helicopter ride and hike for three children. We offer a Heli-Hike here at The Helicopter Line - Franz Josef, which is an awesome... More
0
Votes