The Helicopter Line West Coast

The Helicopter Line West Coast

The Helicopter Line West Coast
4.5
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sunday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
About
Discover the magnificent phenomenon of the glaciers. Experienced helicopter pilots share their knowledge whilst overflying the dramatic expanse of the Franz Josef and Fox Glaciers and snowfields, exposing extraordinary colours of ice flow, ice caves and pinnacles in this largely inaccessible alpine region. All flights feature a snow landing. Alternatively combine a scenic helicopter flight with an unforgettable guided helihike amongst the glacial ice formations with the professional and experienced Franz Josef Glacier Guides.
Franz Josef, New Zealand

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets by The Helicopter Line West Coast
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Travellers talk about
(117 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles552 reviews
Excellent
438
Very good
57
Average
22
Poor
8
Terrible
27

Ian S
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2024 • Couples
This was amazing. The first day was cancelled due to weather but were able to go the next morning. They were so helpful getting us on the next morning. Again photos cannot replicate the experience. Our guide was so informed and passionate about the area. Just 5 in our chopper so plenty of room and very safe pilots! Cannot recommend this enough
Written 10 June 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kia Ora Ian, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We're thrilled to hear that despite the weather delay, you had an amazing time on your helicopter tour. Our team is always ready to accommodate changes and ensure our guests have the best possible experience. It's wonderful to hear that you found our guide knowledgeable and passionate about the area, and that you felt safe and comfortable during your flight with us. We truly appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back for another adventure in the future. Kind regards, The Helicopter Line West Coast
Written 13 June 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Marta L
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
June 2024 • Couples
A helicopter trip between mountain peaks is a breathtaking experience that allows you to stop and appreciate the beauty of nature. In addition, the service is friendly, helpful and takes care of your safety and every detail to make the trip unforgettable.
I must also mention that our pilot Jona was very professional and good-looking :-).
Written 3 June 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kia Ora, Thank you for sharing your 5-star review. We're so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your experience with our team. We'll be sure to pass along your wonderful feedback. The views from the West Coast are spectacular and we love being able to share them with our guests. Thank you for joining us. Best wishes, The Helicopter Line
Written 4 June 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rosemary C
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2024 • Solo
I did the helicopter hike with Helicopter line, booked very last minute with just one days notice and this is hands down the best thing I did in New Zealand! I could harp on about the experience which I just have no words for but I want to recognise the amazing crew this company has. From start to finish arriving and being helped by the desk staff, the pilots and to the amazing guide we had who really made the trip! Thank you Ejule you were so fun and so obviously love what you do that it could be felt through our time on the mountain. I particularly loved the blessing you said before our trip in Māori, all nerves just disappeared. So thank you again everyone for a once in a lifetime experience <3
Written 22 May 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kia Ora, Many thanks for your wonderful 5-star review. We're thrilled you enjoyed your adventure with our team. We'll be sure to pass along your fantastic feedback to Ejule and the rest of our team. The views from our backyard are spectacular and we are proud our team made your experience even more special. Thank you for joining us on the West Coast. Best wishes, The Helicopter Line
Written 26 May 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

GrandTour609387
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2024 • Solo
Very professional training about safety and security. Ground crew were friendly (Iris and ? so sorry) , Our pilot, Rich, from the UK gave clear instructions and viewing sites. Smooth flight and landings. The mountain top stop gave some great panoramic views.
I recommend buying as long of a trip you can afford, you will definitely want the longer trip
Written 16 May 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kia Ora, Thank you for taking the time to share your 5-star review and experience. We'll be sure to pass along your wonderful feedback to Iris and Rich. The views above Queenstown are spectacular and we love sharing them with our guests. We appreciate your recommendation and thank you for flying with us. Best wishes, The Helicopter Line
Written 16 May 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Paul M
Shellharbour, Australia56 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This trip was the highlight of our holiday. Great staff. Spectacular views. Was a bit more than we wanted to spend but was glad we did. 10 out of 10 experience.
Written 15 March 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kia Ora, Thank you for your 5-star review. We're so happy to be the highlight of your holiday. Will be sure to pass along your feedback to our staff. We thank you for joining us and hope you enjoy the rest of your South Island adventure. Best wishes, The Helicopter Line
Written 17 March 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Susan H
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We went on this activity yesterday and there were a number of reasons for the bad review but I’ll leave the most important one to the end.

A few things to note:
- they will separate groups for the helicopters even with singles there. If you’re worried about flying be aware of this. It also tainted the experience for me as this was the bit I was looking forward to.
- it’s not a hike! We travelled 300m in an hour. Some advice would be not to be one of the first two groups up as half of our “hike” was waiting for the guide to clear the path.
- don’t expect to learn anything bar the story of the old name of the glacier.
- expect to wait around doing nothing for most of the activity

The good things:
- our guide was very nice and did give info on the glacier if asked specific questions. We felt safe with her and she let everyone stop for as many photos as they wanted.

Now on to the reason for the bad review. When we got back to the helipad on the glacier we were waiting about 30 minutes to get to the front of the queue. As soon as we were at the top, another group who were late coming back arrived who had missed their slot by 15 minutes. It was only afterwards we found out that this group were employees who were out with senior guides. The lead of this group came over to our guide and pretty much said, get to the back of the line. He was rude and disrespectful to her infront of all our group. The group he had hadn’t even started getting changed so there was no need for them to go first while we were ready to board. We were all annoyed and also very annoyed at how this senior guide had spoken to our guide.

Another male guide was sitting down and shouted across the 30+ people at a couple for doing a jump photo, the same type of photo another guide had taken off a person 5 minutes before. He made no effort to get up to speak to them in a civil manner.

It’s so bad to see these senior guides acting like this in front of customers and also in front of their trainees. It gives the company a very negative image if this is what’s deemed appropriate by senior staff while around customers. But also how senior staff treat their colleagues.

It is a very expensive activity and to feel uncomfortable and upset for your staff and also, for paying customers to be put to the back of a line for employees and shouted at is unprofessional.
Written 16 January 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kia Ora Susan, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your Heli Hike. In accordance with Civil Aviation Authority restrictions, unfortunately we cannot always guarantee groups traveling together be in the same helicopter. We apologise for this not being explained to you at time of booking, so you felt fully informed. The glacier can change very quickly, and the guides are constantly checking the ice conditions. Safety of our clients and staff is our top priority. Concise instructions are required to be given to keep everyone safe. We understand how this could be interpreted and apologise this took away from your experience. Thank you for bringing this situation to our team’s attention, we will certainly take on this feedback as we always strive to deliver an exceptional and professional service.
Written 15 February 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lotus007
Sydney, Australia8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2023 • Couples
Fantastic experience. I still can’t believe I saw a glacier from a helicopter! It was a beautiful day. Clouds were coming but we got full view of the glacier and had a great snow landing. Our pilot was very friendly.
None can control the weather. We were extremely lucky that we got the ride on our scheduled time. The next day there was no helicopter ride because of the weather. I would recommend having an extra day in hand for any cancellation. I booked directly with them and paid after the ride. This was great as there’s no issue with refunds. They even charge you less if the snow landing is not doable. I can’t comment on pre-paid rides.
The staff I communicated with on multiple occasions were all friendly and helpful. They were very responsive to my emails and when it was needed, they contacted me over email and phone to keep me informed.
Written 12 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kia Ora, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a wonderful review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your flight with us and that our team made your experience such a good one. The weather in this region can be difficult to contend with and we are glad you were able experience the wonderful views of the West Coast. We hope to have you back again for another flight in the future. Thank you for joining us.
Written 3 December 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

keithclover
Bath, United Kingdom14 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a fantastic experience. From check in to finishing the heli hike all staff were exceptional. The flight was exhilarating and the hike well led by Drew. I cannot recommend this trip enough!!
Written 10 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kia Ora Keith, Many thanks for taking the time to leave our team a 5-star review. We're grateful for your recommendation and are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your experience with us.
Written 12 November 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ben J
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2023 • Family
What an amazing day. I did this activity with my 14 year old. We booked online the week before travelling to NZ. You need to at least 24 hours before hand to confirm your booking and check in time, partly because the weather can change so quickly. The instructions you get with your tickets on what to bring are pretty clear but can conflict with some of the info that you get when booking online. A couple of helpful hints. Firstly wear layers, a set of thermals are a good idea, and light pants. The team will provide you with waterproof coat, waterproof pants, beanie and gloves. Sunglasses are compulsory so don’t forget them. You will be provided with sunscreen which is also essential. You will need a water bottle - I took a 1.5L drink bottle which fit in the bag provided but I wouldn’t go any bigger because firstly it wont fit and secondly you wont need that much water. Take a snack - we had a couple of muesli bars. The team will provide you with a bag which you need to be able to fit your water, snacks, gloves and crampons in. On the morning of checking in we were greeted by friendly and professional staff who informed us that our trip could be potentially cancelled due to weather conditions. This is a risk you take when booking this type of experience but the priority is safety and you can’t argue with that. However despite the weather gathering over the west coast we checked in, completed the waivers and waited for further instructions. We were then taken through to complete a gear and safety briefing and then to collect our gear mentioned above. The team will help fit you with the right sizes. Once you get weighed and complete a safety briefing on the helicopter ride you are good to walk with your group the gentle ten minute walk to the heli-pads. Our group were taken up on two choppers. You are in the chopper for about 5-8 minutes and the views are spectacular. Whilst in the chopper you can take video and photos - I would recommend doing this on your phone although you should note some Samsung Galaxy’s are banned on helicopters. Once on the glacier you will have about 2 hours on the ice. Photos cannot do the experience justice. The guides are incredibly knowledgeable about everything from the glacier, to weather conditions and the Māori origin story of the glacier. You may get the opportunity to crawl through some blue ice although this is not guaranteed. You well then be picked up by the helicopter for your return flight. The chopper pilot was great with my son who was sat up next to him in the front - sorting his headset and seatbelt - while I was sat in the back. This experience was worth every single cent we spent on it and I would highly recommend it to anyone travelling on the west coast.
Written 1 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kia Ora, Many thanks for your very kind review and for sharing the details of your experience. A Heli Hike really is such a one of a kind experience. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed yourselves. The views from the helicopter are out of this world. Thanks so very much for joining us. We appreciate your support and recommendation.
Written 12 November 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sven
14 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2023 • Friends
I will thank the whole crew of The Helicopter Line for their kindness and amazing experience! As specially the pilot Simon. 🤩
Written 4 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kia Ora Sven, thank you for leaving us a 5-star review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. It is great to hear our team and pilot made your experience just that extra bit better. Will be sure to pass along your kind words to Simon as well. Thank you for joining our team on the West Coast.
Written 23 October 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 527

The Helicopter Line West Coast - All You MUST Know Before You Go (2024)

All Franz Josef HotelsFranz Josef Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Franz Josef
All things to do in Franz Josef
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars