We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glacier Hot Pools

Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
+64 800 044 044
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 331.99*
and up
Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good41%
  • Average18%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“private pool” (99 reviews)
“hot pools” (171 reviews)
LOCATION
Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 800 044 044
Write a Review
Reviews (648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After our heli-hike was cancelled being over-cast and raining, a few people reccomended the hot pools so I thought I'd give it a go. Whilst I enjoyed the experience, at $28 (£15.38) it's a bit steep for what is effectively going to the swimming baths....More

Thank Hayley B
Mason S, Customer Service Manager at Glacier Hot Pools, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Kia ora Hayley B, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor, we appreciate your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit the stunning West Coast. Ngā mihi, nui mō tēnei rā Mason

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Loved the Glacier hot pools, we went on. Wednesday night after a day of hiking. It was not to busy as I imagine it would get. The pools were great, lovely tranquil surrounds and nice staff. $28 for public entry but a nice way to...More

Thank DaisyElise
Mason S, Customer Service Manager at Glacier Hot Pools, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Kia ora DaisyElise, Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Ka Roimata o Hine Hukatere and also the Glacier Hot Pools, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Ngā mihi, nui mō tēnei rā Mason

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked our visit to the Hot Pools via bookme. Turned up a little earlier then we had actually booked for, which was no problems. Was fairly busy, but managed to find a quiet nook. Slightly annoyed at a big tour load of tourists lingering around...More

Thank JustPlaneMad
Mason S, Customer Service Manager at Glacier Hot Pools, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Kia ora JustPlaneMad, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor, we appreciate your comments. It is always great to receive feedback of this nature, we will make sure to pass it on to our team. We look forward to welcoming...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came to the South Island to visit every hot pool possible on the map. Rung Glacier Hot Pools at 8am to ask when they would be open. We were informed 11am so after a lovely hike to Franz Joseph Glacier we turned up around midday...More

Thank Glenda G
Kate_NTT_Southern, Marketing Coordinator at Glacier Hot Pools, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia ora Glenda, It is disappointing to read your review. This is certainly not how we expect our staff to be with visitors. It is very unfortunate that there were issues with the pools on the day you visited. If you would like to email...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely place. Pools were very inviting. I was lucky and was on my own for a good 20 minutes. Treat yourself to some warmth in the cold.

Thank Samhain73
Kate_NTT_Southern, Marketing Coordinator at Glacier Hot Pools, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia ora, Thank you four your review. We are pleased you had a wonderful relaxing visit to the Glacier Hot Pools. Perfect when it is cold. Safe travels. Kind Regards, Kate

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The hot pools are a must after a busy day! Absolutely lovely to be outside in the fresh air in the hot pools. You have to do this in Franz Josef!

Thank CocoaTreeMcr
Kate_NTT_Southern, Marketing Coordinator at Glacier Hot Pools, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia ora, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We totally agree with a visit to the pools needed after a busy day. What a great way to relax. We love your recommendation too - thank you. Safe travels. Kind Regards, Kate

Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

The pools are awesome and this would be a great activity for people who have been active all day. The only bad part is getting from the pool to the change room - it's freezing!! Take your own towel or pay to hire one. It...More

Thank Katie D
Kate_NTT_Southern, Marketing Coordinator at Glacier Hot Pools, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia ora Katie, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased you had a lovely time visiting the pools. They are a wonderful treat after a busy day. We definitely agree that a visit to the Glacier Hot Pools...More

Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

Great service, all the staff were super nice and accommodating. The environment is really peaceful, with the pools being among the rainforest bush. Having the 3 temperature pools to choose from was great. Private pools are also an amazingly tranquil spot, left feeling totally relaxed....More

Thank Tomjordan91
Kate_NTT_Southern, Marketing Coordinator at Glacier Hot Pools, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia ora Tom, Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you had a peaceful and relaxing visit to the Glacier Hot Pools. The rainforest surroundings are a lovely setting and make it easy to unwind. Safe travels. Kind Regards, Kate

Reviewed 14 May 2017

The pools are a cosy way to finish off a day of adventuring with the many activities offered in the town. However, note that these pools aren't thermally heated and are just hot pools; relaxing nonetheless. The complex is modern and the rainforest setting adds...More

Thank Amy R
Kate_NTT_Southern, Marketing Coordinator at Glacier Hot Pools, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia ora Amy, Thank you for your review. We agree that a soak in the the Glacier Hot Pools are a great way to relax after an adventurous day in Franz Josef. Yes you are correct in these are not thermally heated pools and we...More

Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

3 public hot pools for you to choose from; 36, 38, or 40 degrees. It was good soak since it was really cold. But you'll have to bring your own towels, slippers, etc. as none will be provided, (but you can rent at $5/towel) and...More

Thank Baoyue Vanessa C
Kate_NTT_Southern, Marketing Coordinator at Glacier Hot Pools, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia ora Vanessa, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate your feedback as we are currently reviewing our facilities. Visitors can bring their own towels but we also have these available for hire. We hope you had a relaxing time in...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Alice May
1,182 reviews
.34 km away
Blue Ice Cafe
626 reviews
.61 km away
King Tiger Eastern Eating House & Bar
696 reviews
.04 km away
Snake Bite Brewery
736 reviews
.43 km away
Nearby Attractions
Glacier Helicopters
354 reviews
.41 km away
West Coast Wildlife Centre
567 reviews
.37 km away
Tatare Tunnels Walk
48 reviews
.34 km away
Franz Josef i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
46 reviews
.13 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Shreya H
Do we have to hike to the hot pools? There are many comments about it being a great relaxation after a hike. I will be arriving in Franz Josef in the evening and wish to drive to the hot pools with my family of 5.
17 June 2017|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from Wanda F | Reviewed this property |
hi no need uf you stay in town. It is in centre of town. Great to relax.
1
Vote
kelly B
can you just come in for a spa with your family, ie: kids like its public entry?? or do you have to book a spa, we are touring in april and always love a spa.
23 March 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from NisheshV | Reviewed this property |
no booking required for hot pools. if that what you mean by spa. Apr should be fairly a non peak so may not be required
1
Vote
Judith L
Are the pools heavily chlorinated?
10 March 2017|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from LJD1250 | Reviewed this property |
I couldn't smell chlorine and went under water a lot with no problem.
1
Vote