We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Shoji Spa & Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 96 Avondale Heights Rd, Asheville, NC 28803-9593
Phone Number:
+1 828-299-0999
Website
Today
10:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Wed - Mon 10:00 - 22:00
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Description:

Asheville's only private outdoor hot tub spa. A Japanese style hot tub...

Asheville's only private outdoor hot tub spa. A Japanese style hot tub retreat nestled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains and overlooking the Blue Ridge Parkway yet only 8 minutes east of downtown Asheville. Experience breathtaking views, the cedar sauna and invigorating cold plunge, luxury showers with Japanese shampoo, conditioner & body products. We supply everything you need including your robe, sandals, and towels. We offer private outdoor hot tubs, massages, yoga, spa packages, seasonal specials and even overnight lodging. Refresh your body and renew your spirit at Shoji's earthy sanctuary.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 182 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 106
    Excellent
  • 43
    Very good
  • 17
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Shoji Retreat

My husband and I were visiting Asheville for our 10th anniversary and booked the soak/massage for 2 as a special treat. The day we went it was raining, which actually enhanced... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Cellobelle
,
Nashville, Tennessee
Add Photo Write a Review

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 182: English reviews
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I were visiting Asheville for our 10th anniversary and booked the soak/massage for 2 as a special treat. The day we went it was raining, which actually enhanced the experience because the rain made it cool and the hot tub was....you know, hot. It was a nice contrast and so relaxing. The couples massage was also lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cellobelle
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I visited here for a double the fun package which consisted of 1 hour in the outdoor hot tub and a 1 hour couples message. The bathrooms were nice and the shower was amazing with all the different settings. The products provided smelled wonderful. There were several used rags in the shower that had been left by... More 

Helpful?
Thank staceynelson865
asheville, NC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Visited with my sister. Booked our package easily over the phone. Destination is off the beaten path, and if you go during winter, you will need a 4wd if the roads are bad. Parking is easy and you walk to check in. Areas are very clean. After check in you enter the shower area. Men and women are separated. Shower... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank spookie0078
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2017

I am a local, so whenever I want to get away for a brief moment, I always go to Shoji and have been going there for years. I treated myself for my birthday; did the 1 hour soak and received a really nice massage. My massage therapist, Typer, was fantastic. I do, however, have a complaint. The tub I was... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank michelle44814
Shoji_spa, Manager at Shoji Spa & Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Michelle, Thanks for the feedback on Tub 5. The eye-level view from inside the tub is important and I'm glad you shared this with us so that we can address it! And we always ask that all staff & guests use their "spa voices" so we'll be sure to remind them so that we keep shoji Zen. Please give... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
171 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2017

We had a really nice time here. It's clean, well thought out and very beautiful. The staff was great and the view were amazing.

Helpful?
1 Thank kayakgirl75
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

First time we were here was for my husband's fortieth birthday in June. We did a weekend trip. Friday we drove the Blue Ridge Trail, ate local and stayed downtown. Saturday we did some white water rafting. That evening the sunset as beautiful, very romantic sitting in comfy chairs upstairs looking through giant glass windows from our wooded loft. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley W
Shoji_spa, General Manager at Shoji Spa & Lodge, responded to this review

We thank you so much for returning to Shoji and taking the time to give us a review. It is important that we hear from our guests as we continually strive to meet your needs. We have a few updates that will, no doubt, make you happy. First of all, we have done an extraordinary remodel of the Loft bathroom.... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2016

It is outside so, in the warmer months, you will encounter bugs and such just like any other outdoor venue. Each hot tub has a nice open view of the mountains on one side. It's a nice place to relax and they have a very friendly staff. I have been twice and will go again. You get a robe and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank luvfloridagulfcoast
Spartanburg, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2016

I booked the "Double The Fun" Package for my wife and I for our 1 year anniversary. We arrived a little early thinking we would have to wait to get started. The staff were very welcoming and they immediately gave us robes, towels and sandals and told us we could take a shower and to take our time. The soaps... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin2851
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Unlike any spa I have ever visited. It's in a very secluded area on the side of a mountain. Per Japanese tradition we had to shower upon arrival even though I had just had one at our room prior to leaving. We had an hour to enjoy the sauna, cold plunge or hot tub. We just chose to stay at... More 

Helpful?
Thank clarn75
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

My husband and I decided to do a staycation for our anniversary weekend. I surprised him with the Double the Fun package at Shoji. We had an hour in the hot tubs, which included access to the sauna and cold plunge. After our hour, we were greeted by Amanda and Jane. They were very sweet and made sure to ask... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank tigerbela

Travellers who viewed Shoji Spa & Lodge also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Shoji Spa & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Shoji Spa & Lodge and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Shoji Spa & Lodge staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?