We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hawaii Ocean Project

Features Animals
Loading Dock Main Booth, Lahaina Harbor, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
+1 808-667-9266
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 99.95*
and up
Lanai Island Dolphin and Snorkel Cruise from Maui
More Info
USD 99.95*
and up
Maui Sunset Dinner Cruise
More Info
USD 31.74*
and up
Maui Whale Watch Cruise
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Hawaii Ocean Project hosts whale watches and other exciting excursions aboard the Maui Princess, the Molokai Princess, the Lahaina Princess, the Prince Kuhio, and the Kaulana. Our vessels are large, stable, and comfortable, and they offer the best viewing available. Trained naturalists on board share their knowledge of the West Maui marine environment. Whether you prefer a guided day trip around the exotic island of Molokai, A snorkel tour of Molokini, following a pod of Dolphins around Lanai, or a sunset dinner cruise of the coast of West Maui, Hawaii Ocean Project can accommodate you with your Maui Ocean Activity. Our Mission is to provide you with the finest Maui Ocean Activities available. Not only do we offer the finest Dinner cruises on Maui and ocean tours off the coast of West Maui, as well as excursions to Maui's neighboring islands, we are proud our services promote and support marine research and promote the education of Hawaii's marine eco system.
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good21%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“whale watch” (36 reviews)
“dinner cruise” (16 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 7:00 am - 7:00 pm
LOCATION
Loading Dock Main Booth, Lahaina Harbor, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
CONTACT
Website
+1 808-667-9266
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2017

We had a great experience. The food was delicious and plentiful. The service was amazing. I would definitely recommend the dinner cruise, and I would go on it again while visiting Maui in the future.

1  Thank PWalker5
Reviewed 16 May 2017

Molokai was amazing, but I don't believe it rates as the premier snorkeling destination. We saw several varieties of fish, but having been to Honolua Bay the day before and having seen fantastic amounts of coral and creatures, this was a little disappointing on that...More

Thank MicheleNovoa
hawaiioceanproject, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaii Ocean Project, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Aloha Michele, Thank you for taking the time to review our Molokini Snorkel, and for your kind words about our staff. Molokini rates as a premier snorkeling destination, not only because of its numerous varieties of sea life, but because you are able to snorkel...More

Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

The food was really good. The music was great! The only downside to the cruise was the chairs are bolted to the floor along with the table. And they don't leave much room to get in between the table and chairs. It makes it very...More

Thank Beverly B
hawaiioceanproject, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaii Ocean Project, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Aloha Beverly, Thank you for taking the time to review our Dinner Cruise. It sounds like you had a really enjoyable evening. As for the chairs, I do want to let you know that we have a remodel in the works. Hopefully, you will join...More

Reviewed 10 May 2017

My husband and I were so excited about this tour! Imagine snorkelling in a volcanic crater! How many times in life do you get to do that? Well...first let me say that the snorkelling was good though the coral is very bleached out and sad...More

2  Thank Cathy P
hawaiioceanproject, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaii Ocean Project, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Aloha Cathy P, We love Maui's amazing ocean environment, and taking guests out to enjoy it. That is why we want all of our guests to have the best time possible, which is why we are very sorry to hear that your experience was anything...More

Reviewed 4 May 2017 via mobile

Had a GREAT time snorkeling. Crew members were friendly, knowledgeable, and very helpful. They made this a wonderful experience as soon as we stepped on the ship. They helped us identify landmarks along with helping into the water to snorkel and teach us as best...More

Thank Akhom D
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

We got on the boat and were instantly greeted by the crew. They were all very friendly and explained what the plan was. It was my groups first time snorkeling so we were very pleased with the crew in helping us and making sure we...More

Thank Cristy S
Reviewed 18 April 2017

We went on the Lanai Snorkel trip- what interested us with two children was the BBQ Lunch and the Slide- There was neither .. The boat is old and tired. It was dirty. Swells were high and 80% of the passengers were sea sick. One...More

1  Thank sandraG434
hawaiioceanproject, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaii Ocean Project, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Aloha Sandra G, Thank you for taking the time to review Hawaii Ocean Project. We love taking guests out to experience Maui's amazing ocean environment, and want all of our guests to have the best time possible, which is why we are very sorry to...More

Reviewed 15 April 2017

The crew were great and the food acceptable on our Molokini snorkel tour but really the boatis terrible. The single hull rocks around in any swell but the vessell itself is really old, tired and permenantly damp. Facilities and equipment were poor with rust, missing...More

1  Thank Roland M
hawaiioceanproject, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaii Ocean Project, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Aloha Roland M, Thank you for taking the time to review Hawaii Ocean Project. We love taking guests out to experience Maui's amazing ocean environment, and want all of our guests to have the best time possible, which is why we are very sorry to...More

Reviewed 8 April 2017

Great time. Fun staff. They have a boat with an upper and lower deck. Morning trips are the best. Saw 6 whales. Amazing

Thank John K
hawaiioceanproject, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaii Ocean Project, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Thanks, John, for coming out with us!! We're glad you were able to see so many whales!

Reviewed 7 April 2017

The fact that the boat was over 2 hours late departing the harbor due to the crew's inability to unhook from their mooring should have been a "Red Flag" that it was a mistake to choose this company! The next disappointments came with the snorkeling...More

1  Thank H20adventure
hawaiioceanproject, General Manager at Hawaii Ocean Project, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Aloha, I believe you already spoke to our office manager, and she addressed your concerns directly. However, I would like to take this opportunity to address them, as well. First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to review our Lanai snorkel. We love...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Paia Fish Market Restuarant
593 reviews
1.48 km away
Star Noodle
3,156 reviews
1.41 km away
Prison St Pizza
303 reviews
1.40 km away
Down The Hatch
396 reviews
1.49 km away
Nearby Attractions
Maria Lanakila Catholic Church
219 reviews
1.32 km away
Epic Maui Hikes
79 reviews
1.43 km away
Hale Pa'ahao - Old Lahaina Prison
95 reviews
1.26 km away
Waiola Church & Waiola Cemetery
18 reviews
1.28 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Stonica
2 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from hawaiioceanproject | Property representative |
Aloha Stonica!, Excellent question -- Our boats are large, stable catamarans, so they don't rock/bounce like the smaller rafts. That is why we do not have any limitations on pregnant passengers joining us, as long as you... More
0
Votes
Worldisamazing
11 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from hawaiioceanproject | Property representative |
Aloha, We do have limited transportation available for our Sunset Dinner Cruise. I do apologize, but TripAdvisor will not let me link directly to our website, however, if you look under "About Us", then "Bout Tours" our... More
0
Votes
Nicole B
22 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from hawaiioceanproject | Property representative |
Yes! On our Lanai snorkel, one complimentary cocktail is included, and may be enjoyed after you have finished snorkeling. Additionally, on our Sunset Dinner Cruise, a welcome Mai Tai is served, after the boat has departed... More
0
Votes