We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Lahaina Harbor, Slip #12, Lahaina, Maui, HI
Phone Number:
+1 808-667-2774
Website
Today
02:30 - 19:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 02:30 - 19:30
Description:

Stop Wishin' and Go Fishin'! Join us aboard one of Start Me Up Sport...

Stop Wishin' and Go Fishin'! Join us aboard one of Start Me Up Sport Fishing's 42-ft. custom sportfishers and have a hand at catching the fish of a lifetime. We provide all of the equipment you need while out on the azure blue waters of Maui - bait and tackle, ice chests, Coast Guard licensed and certified captains and deckhands with decades of experience fishing Hawaiian waters. The only things you need to bring are sunscreen, beverages (no glass bottles) and a few snacks. We offer a variety of Maui fishing trips including 2,4,6,8 and 9-hour trips. Call us today to book your Maui fishing adventure!

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 412 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 199
    Excellent
  • 49
    Very good
  • 25
    Average
  • 43
    Poor
  • 95
    Terrible
Off shore fishing

6 hour trip. 1 mahi. Nice crew but all about the $$. Clean boat. Nice boat for longer trips, good equipment, hard working mate.

3 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 days ago
gatorqt
,
Jacksonville, Florida
via mobile

Similar Things to Do in Lahaina

Add Photo Write a Review

412 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 411: English reviews
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

6 hour trip. 1 mahi. Nice crew but all about the $$. Clean boat. Nice boat for longer trips, good equipment, hard working mate.

Helpful?
Thank gatorqt
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
141 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I know everyone says this...there is no guarantee that the fish are biting. However, we paid $1000 for a boat last time we were in Maui and no fish. The other day we said we would try again this trip to Maui so we went with Start Me Up and there apparently was only one fish caught during that 6... More 

Helpful?
Thank ramaleew
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We always make time for the 12 hour fishing trip with Captain Timster and Chris. They are entertaining, take the time to teach you how to use the gear, and always bring the fish! Splurge for the 12 hour-- it's so worth it!

Helpful?
Thank sylviacsteiger
Campbellsville, Kentucky
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband & I were on that same trip. Due to the Gale force wind warning from the Coast Guard, the captain made the decision to cut the trip short. WE ALL AGREED to stay out only 4 hrs. The swells were high that day, I could not imagine going further out to sea and be beat up by huge... More 

Helpful?
Thank kentuckydew
ManagerLahaina, Front Office Manager at Start Me Up, Sport Fishing, responded to this review

All of us at Start Me Up Sportfishing appreciate and thank you for taking the time to give your prospective. Our goal is to provide all our customers with a positive experience. We look forward to fishing with you on your next trip to Maui. More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We signed up for a four hour fishing trip and found the crew very helpful. My only regret was not signing up for a longer time. Even though we didn't catch anything (which is always a crap shoot and there are no guarentees to catch anything) it was pretty obvious that they were trying. The crew was very personable and... More 

Helpful?
Thank KAlmquist
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I really don't like to leave adverse reviews unless it is truly warranted. This Company seems to make a living by being dishonest. After one hour into our 8 hour Sport fishing charter, the Captain knew we wouldn't be able to go into the deep waters where we paid to go due to a coast guard advisory. Instead of returning... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Siamac m
ManagerLahaina, Front Office Manager at Start Me Up, Sport Fishing, responded to this review

The Captain advised all 3 couples sharing the boat that he could continue to fish for 8 hours as planned but it would be rough water or stay closer to shore & shorten the trip to 4 hours. Everyone agreed to the 4 hours including you, but 3 1/2 hours into the trip after the other couple caught a fish... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

Everyone understands that a deep sea fishing trip isn't always about catching fish. No one can control that. These guys, however, took it one step further. When booking the trip, all sounded great talking to the captain. First thing in the boat, captain says not much has been biting for awhile. Nice start that wouldn't have been so bad had... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Steve L
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

VERY, VERY, POOR!! This outfit Literally left us siting on the pier. We booked and paid a deposit 5 days in advance, drove over an hour from Kula, paid $26 for parking, arrived at the dock 30 minutes early and paid the balance due as instructed. Captian Tim came over introduced himself and said we would be leaving shortly. 15... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Mark B
ManagerLahaina, Front Office Manager at Start Me Up, Sport Fishing, responded to this review

The part you left out of your description was the fact that we have more than one boat & when we realized the other couple booked a private trip we started to explain we were going to put you on a private trip on our other boat for the same price that you paid for a shared trip. At that... More 

Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

My friend and I went out with these guys this am. Once we were on the boat and underway, they informed us that they really did not think we were going to catch anything today. They then said we needed to try and catch some bait first, and if we didn't, well they could guarantee that we would not get... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank madisondiver
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

The Captain and first mate were good guys. The trip out at 6:00am winter time was beautiful. The water and the stars were amazing! The sights that morning might have been worth the price of admission. Fishing sucked. I know fishing is fishing and not catching. 1 junk tuna on board. Haven't fished there enough to know better. Captain made... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Grb5280

Travellers who viewed Start Me Up, Sport Fishing also viewed

 

Been to Start Me Up, Sport Fishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Start Me Up, Sport Fishing and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Start Me Up, Sport Fishing staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?