We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Boats

Griffin Lane | Griffin Lane, Thorpe St Andrew, Norwich NR7 0SL, England
+44 1603 701701
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Nobody at home

Drove down there. Derelict. Nobody there. Waste of time. Why advertise ? Could be so much. Norfolk... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
SCHARL2273
via mobile
No word of apology

We hired the boat out at around midday but by 3pm there was smoke/fumes coming from the rear of the... read more

Reviewed 7 October 2016
SAZMO2005
,
nORWICH
Read all 49 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Relax Afloat A City Boat. We offer many ways to enjoy the Southern Norfolk Broads; why not be your own skipper for the day and hire one of our picnic boats? During the summer months our scheduled river trips operate every Friday, Saturday and Sunday (7 days per week during the school holidays) and relax whilst our skipper gives a live commentary. Refreshments available and cream teas can be ordered in advance, toilets also on-board. We offer private charter cruises for special events, eg. birthday celebrations, corporate events and wedding events. For those of you wishing to spend a relaxing few days or a week on the Broads we offer classic Broads cruisers.
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good22%
  • Average12%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible34%
Travellers talk about
“great fun” (3 reviews)
“board” (4 reviews)
LOCATION
Griffin Lane | Griffin Lane, Thorpe St Andrew, Norwich NR7 0SL, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1603 701701
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Drove down there. Derelict. Nobody there. Waste of time. Why advertise ? Could be so much. Norfolk Broads deserves more.

Thank SCHARL2273
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We hired the boat out at around midday but by 3pm there was smoke/fumes coming from the rear of the boat. This was followed by a smoke into the seating area. We turned off the engine and drifted to side of river. The whole experience...More

Thank SAZMO2005
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We were expecting an old boat as per the holiday brochure write up, and Duet 2 is old. But for her age and the hire price we paid we were very satisfied. As long as you follow all guidelines about battery use, water consumption and...More

Thank chrisX5462ZV
Reviewed 14 September 2016

We had a great day out on the Broads, even though it rained a little bit, the boat although a little old, had a role down roof that kept us all dry. We had great fun trying to dock at each pub we went to...More

Thank Jo H
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Hired 2 boats for the day with my family cost £20 each for the day boat yard is about 10 minutes walk from premier inn nice people explained everything well would use again

Thank Mike M
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We recently hired ~Duet 1 ~ For 1 week , but abandoned our trip after 2.5 days due to the appauling condition of the boat. There was a foul smell of diesel throughout , No toilet paper supplied , filthy carpets and upholstery, and human...More

1  Thank figgypuddinga12
Parotgal, Manager at City Boats, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

This customer obviously wanted a 5* cruise not a budget boating holiday on the Norfolk Broads. They failed to read the boating manual sent to them, which stated that we do not supply toilet paper, no doubt if we had it wouldn't have been suitable...More

Reviewed 19 August 2016

We booked for 7 + dog, as a treat for us after our marriage earlier in the week. It was easy enough to book by phone, a deposit was required, with the balance being paid on the day. Best to have cash as the card...More

Thank Claire L
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

On arrival we found the guy who was hiring...actually didn't feel that welcome. It felt awkward as he was shouting at another guy that worked there about leaving a boat moored where it was and he seemed very grumpy.. We were given a boat that...More

Thank Tray B
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

We hired a boat from this company for a week and paid nearly £900. The boat, called Duet 1, was awful. We had a problem every day. The roof got stuck. There was a diesel leak. The battery went flat and had to be changed....More

1  Thank MrsC208
Parotgal, Manager at City Boats, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

This customer was advised that it needed 2 people to move the sliding roof but obviously tried to move single handedly and pulled the roof off its runners. There was no diesel leak and because of lack of running the boat, they got flat batteries.

Reviewed 25 July 2016

Thanks City Boats - wonderful day We enjoyed a fantastic day out on one of the hire boats from City Boats (behind the Griffin). The views on the river are wonderful and its great to be out on the river away from the hustle and...More

Thank 866hello
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
St Michaels Inn Restaurant
91 reviews
1.57 km away
Rushcutters Arms
1,221 reviews
1.38 km away
Thailand
153 reviews
1.43 km away
The Dining Room at The Old Rectory
50 reviews
1.15 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bannatyne Health Club & Spa - Norwich
105 reviews
.46 km away
Carrow Road Stadium
128 reviews
3.62 km away
Winbirri Vineyards
62 reviews
3.69 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
mrs-mole-1006
Hi could you tell me if you can snorkel from the beach.
11 October 2015|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Parotgal | Property representative |
There are NO beaches on the Norfolk Broads.
0
Votes