We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Haythornthwaite Wines

45 Omarere Rd, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand
+64 6-306 9889
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Mixte feelings

We went to few vineyards around Martinborough at the beggining of April. Unfortunately... read more

Reviewed 28 April 2018
Marionlaa
,
Tarbes, France
via mobile
Quaint spot with beautiful wines

The owners were knowledgeable and friendly. Very accommodating with beautiful matters featuring... read more

Reviewed 6 April 2018
Loran S
via mobile
Read all 24 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Small boutique vineyard presenting Pinot Noir, Pinot Gris and our speciality Gewurztraminer. Situated in the Martinborough Terraces appellation, we are open 7 days a week during summer and 6 days during winter. Closed in winter on a Tuesday. Summer hours are 11am - 6pm 7 days a week. Platter food available, wine by the glass and a full tasting of 9 wines.
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good12%
  • Average16%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“the owner” (3 reviews)
“new zealand” (2 reviews)
“susan” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 11:00 am - 5:30 pm
Suggested Duration: < 1 hour
LOCATION
45 Omarere Rd, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 6-306 9889
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Martinborough
USD 59 per adult
More Info
USD 207 per adult
More Info
USD 111 per adult
More Info
USD 122 per adult
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"the owner"
in 3 reviews
"new zealand"
in 2 reviews
"susan"
in 6 reviews
"jams"
in 4 reviews
"jar"
in 2 reviews
"chutney"
in 3 reviews
"cellar"
in 2 reviews
"sample"
in 2 reviews
"selection"
in 2 reviews
"platter"
in 5 reviews
"wine"
in 8 reviews
"region"
in 2 reviews
"pinot"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

We went to few vineyards around Martinborough at the beggining of April. Unfortunately, Haythornthwaite didn't leave a lasting impression. Indeed, most of the wines were tasting like the bottle has been opened for ages. Like if they weren't preserved properly. With all the choices around,...More

Thank Marionlaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanht3, Owner at Haythornthwaite Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Thank you for your comments. The majority of our bottles are opened daily due to the volume of people tasting, however our wines are all aged wines which is not common in Martinborough. Bottles which are held over to the next day are all vacuum...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

The owners were knowledgeable and friendly. Very accommodating with beautiful matters featuring many fruits and preserves from their own garden. Such and awesome homely feel.with incredible wines; all of which have a story to tell. Will definitely be back!

Thank Loran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanht3, Owner at Haythornthwaite Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you for your comments. I love to make the preserves. Hope to see you back soon. Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

What a wonderful wine tasting and food experience we had at Haythornthwaite in March this year. I was visiting from the UK with my son who lives in Wellington. We do not have cellar doors in the UK for wine tastings and really appreciated the...More

Thank Frances_Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan H, Owner at Haythornthwaite Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your comments. I am glad to hear the jar of Feijoa chutney made its way safely back to the UK. Hope to see you back in NZ some time. Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Fresh off the boat from Picton, we were looking for wine and food at one of the wineries. Susan and Mark were most welcoming. We chose their 'pinot noir' tasting sets, and opted for the mixed platter to share. Travelling with my parents, they really...More

Thank Cath H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan H, Owner at Haythornthwaite Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Thank you for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed both the platter and the Pinot wine tasting tier. Safe travels. Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

As part of our half day wine tasting experience in Martinborough, we were taken to this fabulous vineyard. The host was so amazingly welcoming and friendly, we felt so at home tasting his delicious wine selection that he obviously truly loved. Also had some fab...More

Thank Funnell5ir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanht3, Owner at Haythornthwaite Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your tasting with us I love to make jams and chutneys from the orchards on the vineyard to sell them in the tasting room. I also use many of them on our platters. Hope to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

Visited Martinborough with no real plans for the Saturday. Unfortunately we had trouble ordering food or platters anywhere and were recommended we visit here. We ordered the cheese and meat platter for $40 with a couple of glasses of wine. The white wine was served...More

Thank Emsy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanht3, Owner at Haythornthwaite Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Thankyou for your comments. We serve our white wines at 12 degrees so that you are able to taste the flavours. Wine coming straight out of the fridge is at 4 degrees so all you can taste is the cold. As they warm up in...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018

We had a great day tasting fantastic wines and enjoying beautiful food. Thanks to the owners for the hospitality. We will definitely be back.

Thank federicrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan H, Owner at Haythornthwaite Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2018

Thank you for your visit. Glad you enjoyed our wines and the platter. Hope to see you again. Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

Great care and thought went into cultivating and creating these wines. Exceptional is the best description I can give them. They cellar up to 10 years before serving. Great hostess/ owner, Susan will take you thru the wine tasting. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Thank Jefffey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanht3, Owner at Haythornthwaite Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the wine tasting from me. Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

perfect to enjoy a good platter with a glass of wine, as well as a tastings. all with good background music

Thank Santiago R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan H, Owner at Haythornthwaite Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

thank you. Glad you enjoyed your experience with us. Hope to see you again. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere, rustic and you are made very welcome when you arrive. The wine selection is quite impressive for a boutique winery. Our food platter was tasty and of good value. It was delightful to meet and chat with a down to earth owners. Thankyou...More

Thank seddondixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan H, Owner at Haythornthwaite Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed our wines and your platter. Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Martinborough
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
128 reviews
.64 km away
Petit Hotel
22 reviews
1.33 km away
The Martinborough Hotel
274 reviews
1.33 km away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
199 reviews
2.14 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Tirohana Estate
568 reviews
.43 km away
Poppies Martinborough
372 reviews
.58 km away
Pinocchio
357 reviews
1.33 km away
In The Neighbourhood Coffee House & Roastery
109 reviews
1.25 km away
Nearby Attractions
Poppies Martinborough
146 reviews
.58 km away
Martinborough Brewery
63 reviews
1.38 km away
Ata Rangi Martinborough
57 reviews
.49 km away
Martinborough i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
33 reviews
1.35 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Haythornthwaite Wines staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit