We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Chaudanne BP 17, 73550 Meribel, Les Allues, France
Phone Number: +33 4 79 08 60 31
Website
Today
09:00 - 19:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 19:00

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 70 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 10
    Excellent
  • 9
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Good private lessons over lunchtime

We left booking lessons rather late. Though not listed on the website, there was a good offer for five 1.5 hour lessons over lunchtime for €380. This avoided the 9am rush, the... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 April 2016
Malcolm M
,
Northumberland
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 34: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2016

I booked afternoon lessons for 3-8 April 2016. I was alone and so had six private lessons for the cost of six group lessons. Well Done to ESF for not cancelling or rescheduling. You deserve some good publicity.

Helpful?
Thank Ian L
Northumberland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2016

We left booking lessons rather late. Though not listed on the website, there was a good offer for five 1.5 hour lessons over lunchtime for €380. This avoided the 9am rush, the slopes seemed less crowded at lunchtime and the snow was usually better for novices. A party of 4: two adults and two children, our instructor (Fabien Berrotte) was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Malcolm M
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

My husband and I had 'basic' ski lessons with the fantastic ski instructor Ludovine. This is the lesson after beginners and our 2nd ski holiday. Each day Ludi pushed us that little bit further-her energy and enthusiasm were a delight and we looked forward to each morning despite aching limbs. We came on in leaps and bounds and would recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clare F
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
614 reviews
381 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

We signed my cousin up to classes at Ront point with ESF. My cousin was a complete beginner and we booked him into a English speaking 6-12yr old class. Sadly when we got there and his class was full of 5-7yr olds mainly all French. Throughout the 6day course my cousin was barely spoken to all week by the instructor... More 

Helpful?
Thank cg2792
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

Been to several ESF schools which have been excellent and this is by far the worst Disorganised, late leaving early to finish Only highlight is Renard who's a star

Helpful?
1 Thank Dr3w66
DirectionESF, Responsable commercial at ESF Vallee de Meribel, responded to this review

Dear Dr3w66, Many thanks for your message. Are you sure you were with ESF? We do not have any ski instructor named Renard. Feel free to get in touch commercial@esf-meribel.com Best regards, The ESF Team More 

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

Having not skied for 26 years, I thought a little refresher was in order. Things have changed a little in that time with classes now only offered for half days. My initial teacher was good, however when I was put up a class my tutor was a little unreformed when it came to attitudes to women. I am not sure... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
DirectionESF, Director of Sales at ESF Vallee de Meribel, responded to this review

Dear Client, Your experience is important to us, and we're sorry you felt uncomfortable about some comments a ski instructor could have made. Please feel free to get in touch commercial@esf-meribel.com We look forward to welcoming you again in Meribel, The ESF Team More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2016

It seems quite expensive but completely worth the money and a good investment. Excellent session with instructor Olivier: helped build confidence as well as technique. Focused on the areas needing attention and didn't waste time on greens/things we could already do. Very highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Laura C
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2016 via mobile

We had a great experience at the ESF in Mottaret for my children who were in the flacon class and for me as a debutant. Highly recommended and can't speak well enough about Flore and Sylvie and Jean-Luc.

Helpful?
Thank Aussie_Girl779
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2015

Got my two children in the ESF ski school. Always got very good teachers and good organisation. Also the service was quite good when I needed to change my booking. Improvement areas are on the "web site" to book the lessons (quite old). Also, would expect that they could propose more activities to children who spend the week there (eg... More 

Helpful?
Thank ailiwei
DirectionESF, Responsable commercial at ESF Vallee de Meribel, responded to this review

Dear Ailiwei, Thanks for your positive feedback. We are very happy to hear your chidren had a great week and we hope to welcome them again either this week, or next winter. The website has been launched in October. We will be working on it again after the ski season to improve the User Experience. Regarding the test, I will... More 

Level Contributor
99 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

I was a product of ESF and wished the same for the new generation. Unfortunately the staff appear overwhelmed by the volume of students. Kids have been moved from one lesson to an other, comments are so far away with what we are seeing out of the lesson. I don't know what to think.

Helpful?
4 Thank CKorenbeusser

Travellers who viewed ESF Vallee de Meribel also viewed

 
Meribel, Les Allues
 

Been to ESF Vallee de Meribel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from ESF Vallee de Meribel staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?