We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Share
Review Highlights
A Victorian oddity in a beautiful Vermont setting.

Constant restoration and upkeep are needed to maintain this New England treasure. As we looked... read more

Reviewed 26 October 2016
M_Freedley
,
Massachusetts
Interesting

This is a amazing place and to think it was built in this area so many years ago. Great history and... read more

Reviewed 8 October 2016
Tim F
via mobile
Read all 91 reviews
92
All photos (92)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good27%
  • Average13%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
“stained glass”(7 reviews)
“guided tour”(4 reviews)
About
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
See all hours
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
21°
11°
Aug
17°
Sep
10°
Oct
Contact
West Proctor Rd., Proctor, VT
Website
+1 802-773-3284
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Wilson Castle
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
30
25
12
9
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
30
25
12
9
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstained glassguided tourworth the tripamazing woodworkstate of disrepairrestorationfurnishingsrestorearchitecturetreasurehomestlcrutlandmarvelvermontbeautyvideo
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 30 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

We went to the castle on the evening before Halloween so preps were being made for a black out exploration of the house. We explored the entire property and were the only ones there. This place is definitely a sad interpretation of its former glory,...More

1  Thank LoriAllen
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Constant restoration and upkeep are needed to maintain this New England treasure. As we looked around the grounds the staff was preparing for a spooktacular Halloween weekend. I shudder to think of all the scary rooms to explore in the dark.

2  Thank M_Freedley
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Went to the place since AAA listed it as a gem site, however I don't rate it that highly. 1. It is a fascinating building, but has little historical value other than its uniqueness and size. It has structural issues on the outside and the...More

1  Thank PhilR9
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

This is a amazing place and to think it was built in this area so many years ago. Great history and very awesome for the lover of large homes.

Thank Tim F
Reviewed 30 September 2016

In its heyday this was probably a showcase but time has not been good on it, It is a fine piece of architect and antiques are unusual and woodwork fantastic. If the owner would just get help with tihs project befoer it is too far...More

Thank robert k
Reviewed 14 August 2016

We drove up to see the castle because we hiked in the morning and there is really not much else to do. It is not well advertised, poor directions. When we entered, we nearly fell over because of the stench of mould and mildew. Do...More

Thank jaylahgreen
Reviewed 1 August 2016

This home is in need of TLC...hopefully it will soon be on the historic register and recevie the funding it so deserves. It is a must see...truly magnificent w/hand painted ceilings, carved wood staircases, majestic views....and...ahah!! ghosts!!

Thank 1940dori
Reviewed 29 July 2016

We drove 3 hrs and out of our way to see this castle and it had closed early. There was nothing on the website stating this. I would not recommend going unless you call first. It is definitely out of the way and nothing else...More

1  Thank mco1087
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

This is a beautiful hidden gem. As noted in previous reviews, time and Vt winters have taken its toll and the outside and areas inside like the painted ceilings and walls need restoration. But the beauty of the stained glass, the copper ceiling and walls,...More

Thank jpinet
Reviewed 5 July 2016

This is a lovely example of Victorian "higgely-pigglety" architecture with gorgeous stained glass windows and some fine original furnishings along with some pretty but not always harmonious additionas by the current owning family. The main problem with it is that it is in terrible need...More

Thank JohnTheBear
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
scurry2016
23 January 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from PhantomProctor_VT | Reviewed this property |
No, I have not.
0
Votes
swthunnyb
1 February 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Lester242 | Reviewed this property |
As I recall... $10 per adult ($9 w/ AAA card), $6 for children 6-12 , children under 6 free... I think there was a discount for large group tours... enjoy
0
Votes