We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pedernales Cellars

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 2916 Upper Albert Rd, Stonewall, TX 78671-3721
Phone Number:
+1 830-644-2037
Website
Today
10:00 - 18:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 18:00
Mon - Thu 10:00 - 17:00
Fri - Sat 10:00 - 18:00
Description:

Pedernales Cellars - the quintessential Texas boutique winery. Featuring...

Pedernales Cellars - the quintessential Texas boutique winery. Featuring award-winning wines, tours of the largest underground barrel cellar in Texas, and breathtaking views of the Hill Country from the patio.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 207 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 111
    Excellent
  • 57
    Very good
  • 18
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 11
    Terrible
Nice Stop for wine in the Texas Hill Country

The views of the Texas Hill country are breath taking! We went on a rainy Saturday afternoon Myself, My husband and three kids were soaking wet and just wanted to stomp some... read more

Reviewed 23 August 2016
Hillary S
,
San Antonio, Texas
Add Photo Write a Review

207 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 206: English reviews
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Had an excellent visit for the first time to Pedernales Cellars. Had a private tasting session with dear friends with Victoria (Vicky) as our presenter. I have done hundreds of tastings during my lifetime and this one would rank in the top 2!!!! Vicky was absolutely wonderful. Very knowledgeable about her products and presented it in an outstanding manner. Very... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank jeffmO5601MV
Julie K, Owner at Pedernales Cellars, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting. I am glad that you had such a great tasting with Vicky, and I will pass on your shout out to her. Other members of your group have reached out to tell us about the negative experience with our tasting room manager, and we are taking steps to make sure that this type of incident does... More 

1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

We had excellent service from Victoria. Clem gave us an awesome tour of the cellar, too. However, the manager on duty, Andrea, was horrible. She reprimanded employees in front of us and was not nice at all. Other than her, the staff took excellent care of us and made the experience very enjoyable.

Helpful?
3 Thank Aaron C
Julie K, Owner at Pedernales Cellars, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad that Vicky and Clem took such good care of you during your visit, and that you got a chance to see the cellar. I will make sure that they as well as Andrea see you review, and I will talk to Andrea about your experience. Thanks for visiting. More 

Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2016

My husband & I enjoy visiting wineries in the area and decided to make this visit based on the reviews of the view of the Pedernales River valley. The view is nothing less than picture perfect beauty of the Texas Hill Country. However, the wine was less enjoyable......we will return for the view.

Helpful?
Thank Terrie L
Julie K, Owner at Pedernales Cellars, responded to this review

I am glad you appreciated the view from our deck. We welcome you back to enjoy it again. Just so you know, on Saturdays in July we stay open until 9pm, so guests can watch the sunset from the deck. More 

Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

This was our first stop in wine country. It was very disappointing. Our female sommelier could not have been less interested in serving us. Besides telling us the names of the wine we were tasting, she did not say another word until the end when it was time to pay. While we were tasting our wine she just stared at... More 

Helpful?
Thank sthlmsgirl
Julie K, Owner at Pedernales Cellars, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear about your experience. It was unusually crowded the day you visited due to wine club, but I still wish that you would have received better hospitality just the same. I will pass your review on to our tasting room manager. More 

San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The views of the Texas Hill country are breath taking! We went on a rainy Saturday afternoon Myself, My husband and three kids were soaking wet and just wanted to stomp some grapes!. I called ahead and a wonderful lady told us if we wanted to stomp grapes in the rain we were more than welcome and so we did!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hillary S
Julie K, Owner at Pedernales Cellars, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting. I love your determination to do grape stomp in spite of the rain. I am glad that the GSM is your new favorite wine. In addition to being available in our tasting room, you will also be able to find it at some of your local wine merchants and restaurants. More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We specifically stopped at Pedernales Cellars because we really liked a bottle of red that we had from Spec's. We thought-"well if we liked the 20.00 bottle, we for sure will like the reserve bottle for 50.00" The problem was our tasting experience and the total lack of interest our server had in us or any questions we had. Carl... More 

Helpful?
Thank TM206
Julie K, Owner at Pedernales Cellars, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting. I am sorry that it was a disappointing experience. I have sent your review to our tasting room manager, so she can talk to Carl. More 

Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We have been here several times. My husband likes a couple of their wines and they're close to Rose Hill. I found the staff to be a bit snobby and aloof. Drinking wine should be fun. Rude comments were made out loud about another staff member, not professional at all.

Helpful?
Thank Trina N
Julie K, Owner at Pedernales Cellars, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us again. I am very sorry to hear about your experience on this visit. I am passing your review to our tasting room manager, because rude comments about fellow staff are not acceptable. I am sorry that it happened while you were here. I hope that you will consider visiting us again in spite of the... More 

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2016

We stopped in this winery on our tour through the hill county. The gentleman that performed my tasting had no personality, did not offer any information on the wine or the winery. He seemed displeased to even have to deal with me! The wine was okay, but I may have enjoyed it better had he been nicer. Also, when I... More 

Helpful?
Thank FLATraveller52
Julie K, Owner at Pedernales Cellars, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting. I am sorry that your server was not more engaged in the tasting. I am forwarding your review to our tasting room manager, so that she sees it and can talk to the staff. As for the cost of your tasting, the price of a regular tasting is $14.99 plus tax, and when the tax is... More 

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

We like to start our wine tastings here because of the scenery, it really puts you in the mindset of doing a wine tour. It's off the main road, back in the hills where you pass tons of deer, turkey and other wildlife. We did the Reserve Red tasting this time for $24/person and the wines were great. It's a... More 

Helpful?
Thank MistiATX
Julie K, Owner at Pedernales Cellars, responded to this review

Thank you very much for visiting and doing our reserve tasting. David is very passionate about wine and loves to share with guests, so I am glad you enjoyed tasting with him. Please do visit again the next time you come to the area. More 

Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
972 reviews
253 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

I'm not a wine drinker but I still like coming here. My wife thinks their wines are very good. We had a private tasting as part of a birthday party and it was very well done. Their main tasting room is spacious and modern. What I like best is their outdoor patio. There is ample seating, a wine bar and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mohsman
Julie K, Owner at Pedernales Cellars, responded to this review

I am very happy to hear that you enjoy sitting on our deck and taking in the view. We have live music most Saturdays, though we do have to take a pause during the winter due to the temperature. Please do visit again. More 

Travellers who viewed Pedernales Cellars also viewed

 

Been to Pedernales Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Pedernales Cellars and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Pedernales Cellars staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?