We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Trolleybus Museum at Sandtoft

Save
Share
Review Highlights
Love it

My son and i go often with my grandson as he loves buses ect, we get of one bus and in the next lol... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Mich661
via mobile
Reading trolleybus day

the museum would benefit from the buses in the sheds were accessible because you can only look at... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
judo-john
,
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Read all 132 reviews
102
All photos (102)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good28%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“vintage bus”(7 reviews)
“giving rides”(2 reviews)
“open days”(5 reviews)
About
Located between Doncaster and Scunthorpe, The Trolleybus Museum at Sandtoft houses the world's largest collection of historic trolleybuses, together with a number of other vehicles including period motor buses. The Museum offers a fascinating day...more
Contact
Belton Road, Sandtoft DN8 5SX, England
Website
+44 1724 711391
Call
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
84
38
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
84
38
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvintage busgiving ridesopen daysbus tourrun by volunteersunlimited ridessurrounding villagespure nostalgiaaugust bank holidaysmall circuitclassic carsvisited previouslybrought back memoriescheck their websitehalf day visitbygone agelarge collection
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

My son and i go often with my grandson as he loves buses ect, we get of one bus and in the next lol round an round, the staff there are always very polite and helpfull an are full of information. We go every opportunity...More

Thank Mich661
HrabalUK, Volunteer at The Trolleybus Museum at Sandtoft, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your review. It's great to know that you enjoy visiting us so much. We're finding that lots of children love buses these days and we're looking at how we can improve the museum for families and children. Are you members? Members are...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the museum would benefit from the buses in the sheds were accessible because you can only look at the ones at the front or the ones running, one the day the weather was poor so didn't help but if it had of been sunny would...More

Thank judo-john
HrabalUK, Volunteer at The Trolleybus Museum at Sandtoft, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and for giving us four stars. When the museum was first opened we had to accommodate as many vehicles as possible for the lowest cost, which is why they are rather packed in. Because every one of us is a...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Attended the special weekend to remember the Reading system that was abandoned 50 years ago. Had some really great vehicles running on their circuit, the drivers and conductors knew their stuff. Was great too to wander round the vehicles in the museum's care, there are...More

Thank dwf1008
HrabalUK, Volunteer at The Trolleybus Museum at Sandtoft, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. Our Reading trolleybus event proved exceptionally popular. Because everyone involved in running and operating the museum is a volunteer all the profit we make from our open days is ploughed back into maintaining and improving the museum and our vehicles,...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Loved seeing the trolley buses running and looking round and the bus ride the conductor was funny ..

Thank neil j
HrabalUK, Volunteer at The Trolleybus Museum at Sandtoft, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

It's great that you enjoyed your visit - thanks for letting us know!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There is a little bit of everything here, trolley and motor buses arriving and departing all the time, a delightful retro cafe with delicious home made cakes, shop and museum. A few buildings of note such as a prefab, tin house, etc. and a small...More

Thank XantheSG
HrabalUK, Volunteer at The Trolleybus Museum at Sandtoft, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review - it's great to know that you enjoyed yourself so much!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The volunteers really make this place special, they are welcoming and informative. The trolleybuses are a fascinating glimpse into transport history. We had a well cooked meal of sausage, chips and beans each, which along with drinks cost less than £15 for 4 people! The...More

Thank jodiepass
HrabalUK, Volunteer at The Trolleybus Museum at Sandtoft, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your very kind words. Everyone at the Museum is a volunteer and it means a lot to us all to know that our visitors enjoy themselves. We've just had a very successful long weekend with lots of visitors. It's a shame that...More

Reviewed 12 August 2018

There are a decent number of trolleybuses on display, three of which were running on the day of my visit. The ticket allowed unlimited rides; to be frank once you've had two that's more than enough. The route around the museum site takes about a...More

2  Thank CrasMihi
HrabalUK, Volunteer at The Trolleybus Museum at Sandtoft, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed review. I'm sorry that you were disappointed with your visit. Dealing with your last point first, I'd like to apologise if it was one of our volunteers who acted as you have described. If he...More

Reviewed 11 August 2018

The volunteers were all happy cheerful people ready to help. It doesn't take long to complete the visit so half a day would easily be sufficient. You can ride on any or all of the trollybuses running on the day, all included in the admission...More

Thank Ian L
HrabalUK, Volunteer at The Trolleybus Museum at Sandtoft, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Thank you for your review. It's always good to know that our visitors have had a great time. The cafe's cakes have a lot of fans!

Reviewed 2 August 2018

Went to the museum for their Gathering Sunday, loads of stalls with all sorts of transport ephemera on sale, also a couple of dozen classic cars to look at and a beer tent to enjoy. Even with the rainy weather, there were several trolleybuses out...More

Thank Phil B
HrabalUK, Volunteer at The Trolleybus Museum at Sandtoft, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Thank you for your review. It was a shame that the dry weather didn't hold for us, but good to know that you had such a good time anyway!

Reviewed 30 July 2018

A wonderful day out, tours on 2 buses around the area and 7-8 trolleybuses on duty at the museum, went on all at least once.

Thank rogerlent
HrabalUK, Volunteer at The Trolleybus Museum at Sandtoft, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Thank you for your review. It's great to know that you enjoyed this year's Sandtoft Gathering so much!

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Travelodge Doncaster M18/M180 Hotel
220 reviews
8.51 km away
The Duke William Motel
46 reviews
8.59 km away
Travelodge Scunthorpe
235 reviews
11.90 km away
The Royal
259 reviews
14.15 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2 nearby restaurants
The Reindeer Inn
324 reviews
.61 km away
The Mermaid Fish and Chip Shop Belton
13 reviews
3.64 km away
Tiggys Tea Room
107 reviews
5.53 km away
Happy Cafe
19 reviews
1.26 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all attractions
The Old Rectory
36 reviews
6.02 km away
Hatfield Outdoor Activity Centre
5 reviews
7.93 km away
Wesley Memorial Methodist Church
15 reviews
5.49 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
CherylC1975
27 July 2015|
Answer
Response from HrabalUK | Property representative |
Yes, we are pleased to welcome dogs. We ask that they are kept on a lead and that the owner clears up behind them.
2
Votes
Joyce M
31 May 2015|
Answer
Response from HrabalUK | Property representative |
Yes, we are pleased to welcome dogs. We ask that they are kept on a lead and that the owner clears up behind them.
0
Votes