We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 79 High St, Woodend, Victoria 3442, Australia
Phone Number:
+61 3 5427 2510
Website
Today
12:00 - 01:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon 14:00 - 00:00
Tue - Sun 12:00 - 01:00
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 115.61*
and up
Champion Racehorse Tour with Beer and Wine Tasting
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 83 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 29
    Excellent
  • 32
    Very good
  • 9
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Great spot

Spent one night upstairs in the accomodation part of hotel. Rooms big and clean beds good. Pub down stairs open till 12 so noisy till then. Right in town so walk to all shops... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 weeks ago
Stones66
via mobile

Similar Things to Do in Woodend

Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 83: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Staying at the Brewery is fantastic. Rooms are lovely. The beer tasting is great. Highly recommend for a weekend away.

Helpful?
Thank Nicky H
KeatingsWoodend, Owner at Holgate Brewhouse, responded to this review

Hi Nicky, thanks for staying & writing the review. That's great you enjoyed your visit here. Hope you get a chance to visit again! More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Took the family there for a relaxing Sunday arvo. Great range of beers and food. Lovely spot to chill out in the outside area.

Helpful?
Thank TLCTeneriffe
KeatingsWoodend, Owner at Holgate Brewhouse, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting! Hope you get a chance to visit again soon. Cheers! More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
428 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Interesting beer but a bit expensive. Typical pub food. Good service. Live music. Worth a visit if in the the region.

Helpful?
Thank itsBG
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Spent one night upstairs in the accomodation part of hotel. Rooms big and clean beds good. Pub down stairs open till 12 so noisy till then. Right in town so walk to all shops. Food good. Nice staff. Just a bit expensive for a pub room

Helpful?
Thank Stones66
KeatingsWoodend, Owner at Holgate Brewhouse, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Our prices are definitely mid-priced for ensuite B&B accommodation. There has been a lot of press regarding penalty rates and hospitality workers. We can't afford to charge bargain rates as we pay all our hard working staff fairly including penalty rates. We are also not a gaming venue that can subsidise prices... More 

Bendigo
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

No rib eye left No scotch left Actually no steak left Had to have the duck C grade food Bland Tasteless ordinary In desperate need of a Reno Dirty as anything Walls chairs tables ceiling You name it How hard can it be How much crappy American inspired dude food can one bare And not a single bloody main stream... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Corey P
KeatingsWoodend, Owner at Holgate Brewhouse, responded to this review

Hi Corey, I'm sorry we had run out of steak when you visited. We had an extremely busy weekend but I'm sure we would have had many other options still available. I have personally tried the duck and its delicious. Its a simple pan roasted duck breast served with seasonal vegies and a maple syrup/orange sauce. The natural flavours are... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2017

A group of 7 travelling a considerable distance for the experience. DO NOT BOTHER! Our inquiry for an evening reservation was met with a very hasty, "Just walk in, we don't take reservations?" Ahhh - we are not willing to drive an hour one way, to maybe get a tabIe?? Any more talk on the subject was met with sighs... More 

Helpful?
Thank _kerrie3710
KeatingsWoodend, Owner at Holgate Brewhouse, responded to this review

Hi Kerrie, Thanks for providing that feedback. I'm really sorry you found the staff member rude. I'm not sure if the staff member misunderstood you. We definitely do take reservations in our dining rooms but we leave our bar/lounge/courtyard areas as unreserved space. We offer the same menu in all areas of the hotel. Perhaps the staff member did not... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

A casual lunch meeting with an "Out of towner" and 12 y.o. son. We ordered two Cajun Chicken Salads And fish and chips with a salad no dressing. Salads were soggy The dish and chips were small and the no dressing salad came with what seemed like extra vinegar. Didn't bother complaining. Just left the meals mostly uneaten and beat... More 

Helpful?
Thank Parp2013
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2017

We are return diners. My husband loves the beer and I love the food, we both love the brewery setting, friendly service and fresh ingredients. A family meal for 5, all were well catered for including children and two vegetarians. We chose from their new menu which was easier to navigate but contained some old favourites and some new options... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angiepea
KeatingsWoodend, Owner at Holgate Brewhouse, responded to this review

Hi Angie, Thanks for visiting and posting the review. That's great that you enjoyed the experience! Hope you visit again soon! Cheers More 

melbourne
Level Contributor
501 reviews
206 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2017

I am so glad I had my friend to drive me as I really enjoyed the tasting paddle. The food is not too bad either. The food is basically pub classics but they do them well. Make sure you get a Paddle

Helpful?
1 Thank Luke K
KeatingsWoodend, Owner at Holgate Brewhouse, responded to this review

Hi Luke, Thanks for visiting. Great you tried the tasting paddle! Hope you visit again soon! More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Myself and family (5 people in total) went to the Holgate for some food and drinks....however with only a small handful of others there and only 1 at the bar requiring service.....my partner watched as staff tallied cash, put away glasses and chatted before finally asking to be served. My brother had a similar experience on his round....in his own... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Suezq1983

Travellers who viewed Holgate Brewhouse also viewed

Woodend, Macedon Ranges
Woodend, Macedon Ranges
 
Kyneton, Macedon Ranges
Woodend, Macedon Ranges
 

Been to Holgate Brewhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holgate Brewhouse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?