We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Samares Manor

Open Now: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Relaxing afternoon

We enjoyed a pleasant stroll around the gardens in the sunshine and found plenty of shady places to... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
lindalen1961
,
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
via mobile
Enjoyable morning spent visiting this house and gardens.

It is well worth spending a morning or afternoon visiting this historic manor house and its... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
CannockSunSeeker
,
Cannock
via mobile
Read all 407 reviews
172
All photos (172)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good33%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“herb garden”(68 reviews)
“botanic gardens”(12 reviews)
“japanese garden”(65 reviews)
About
A privately-owned botanic garden providing a unique collection of plants and acres to explore in a relaxed environment. Offering historical tours of the manor house and museum, a gift shop, plant centre, cafe, six self catering units and children's...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
La Grande Route de Saint-Clement, St Clement JE2 6QW
Website
+44 1534 870551
Call
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveller rating
170
119
48
25
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
170
119
48
25
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsherb gardenbotanic gardensjapanese gardenguided tourwell worth a visitwater gardenself cateringtea roomadmission pricegift shopfull bloomgreat cafehigh standardsconesenjoyed our visitgreat visitfor sale
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 375 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

We spent an enjoyable morning looking around the house and gardens....the lady on reception was very friendly & helpful as was the lady who did the guided tour but unfortunately the cafe staff let this place down badly...if you visit expect to be ignored when...More

Thank liverlover-49
Samaresmanoradmin, Manager at Samares Manor, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Good afternoon, I am sorry to hear about the cafe staff, usually they receive great reviews. I will pass this on to all of the staff and apologize on their behalf

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We enjoyed a pleasant stroll around the gardens in the sunshine and found plenty of shady places to sit and relax. The cafe was a bonus and rounded off our visit before we visited the shop. We would certainly visit again if we return to...More

Thank lindalen1961
Samaresmanoradmin, Manager at Samares Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you so much for your review. We have had such a good summer and the sunshine and blue skies continue. Maybe you would consider staying with us during your next visit? Then you could almost have the gardens to yourselves in the early mornings...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It is well worth spending a morning or afternoon visiting this historic manor house and its gardens. Jenny, the guide, provided an excellent insight into the Rural Life and Carriage Museum (which was free) she was then the guide later for the tour of the...More

Thank CannockSunSeeker
Samaresmanoradmin, Manager at Samares Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank for your review. Jenny is very passionate about the history of the Manor and has guided here for many years. Seigneur Obbard has a vast collection of Agricultural pieces small and large, many awaiting a space in the museum and we plan to add...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Set off on hired bikes from St Helier to find Samares Manor, which we eventually did after seeing most of the rest of the east of the island! The gardens are ideal for a stroll and a visit and we enjoyed the different aspects including...More

Thank Jon035
Samaresmanoradmin, Manager at Samares Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Jon035 for your great review! The fruit garden is The Seigneurs passion. He grows many varieties of Apples and Pears which are rare Jersey varieties. We agree that a bit of fine tuning is required regarding the Maintenance but gardeners seeking work are...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited Samares Manor on the way back from a trip to Gorey. We had a pleasant visit, but there was a limited amount of colour in the gardens (I appreciate its September). I think the entry fee is expensive compared to other attractions we...More

1  Thank KP11347
Samaresmanoradmin, Manager at Samares Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good Morning, I am sorry you felt disappointed by the lack of flowers in the gardens. It has been a tough year with the lack of rain and many trees and plants have suffered as a result.If you plan to visit again June is the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a hidden gem this place is. Apologies for the late review as we stopped here for a fantastic lunch during the Nissan Figaro Jersey Rally earlier this year. It was an organised stop, and after experiencing a complete shambles of a lunch at the...More

1  Thank Jules J
Samaresmanoradmin, Front Office Manager at Samares Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your very lovely comments. We have passed this on to The Herb Garden Café. We would love to welcome you all back again!

Reviewed 14 August 2018

I am sad to say that the staff were rude, hostile and I will not return. I have been visiting for 28 years and have never had bad customer service there ever. I visited with family last week, renewed and cancelled membership in less than...More

1  Thank hey123775
Samaresmanoradmin, Manager at Samares Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello hey123775, As I have said by email and in person we are sorry you feel this way.

Reviewed 12 August 2018

Easily accessed by Liberty bus, this pretty garden cat just shy of £10 to visit which I felt was rather pricy. It is possible to visit the Manor Housefor an extra fee.

1  Thank ValliAnn
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

There's a lovely selection of plants here varying from the Japanese garden to the herb garden with exotic plants in between. Small cafe with indoor & outdoor seating.

Thank VanninLady
Samaresmanoradmin, Manager at Samares Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Hello, Many thanks for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed the gardens and hopefully the cafe too!

Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

We were very lucky that some friends of our chose this location for their pre-wedding reception. It was just perfect. This beautiful manor house has a stunning garden and their catering services was first class. With plenty of parking space and disable access it makes...More

Thank Martha Patricia d
Samaresmanoradmin, Front Office Manager at Samares Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thank you Martha, so pleased you enjoyed the pre wedding event. We are lucky to be able to offer a great café in beautiful surroundings. We'll certainly pass on your comments to their staff too.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 67 hotels in Jersey
Ambassadeur
575 reviews
.75 km away
Longueville Manor
961 reviews
1.07 km away
Talana Hotel
298 reviews
1.13 km away
Merton Hotel
1,922 reviews
1.39 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 446 restaurants in Jersey
The Herb Garden Cafe
42 reviews
.03 km away
Longueville Manor
596 reviews
1.07 km away
Partners Restaurant
56 reviews
.71 km away
Thai Dicq Shack
293 reviews
1.50 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 197 attractions in Jersey
The Gardens of Sameres Manor
141 reviews
.11 km away
Le Hocq Tower
21 reviews
1.36 km away
Grouville Parish Church
18 reviews
2.22 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Charli D
16 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Chris G | Reviewed this property |
Hi, looks like someone has already answered your question but I would like to add that you will also receive a complimentary pass for a second visit should you wish to do so. We took advantage of this and also visited the... More
0
Votes
billie30082014
9 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Chriss502015 | Reviewed this property |
Parts of the garden are accessible for wheelchairs and scooters but there are areas where there are steps and gravel paths which, unfortunately, may difficult to negotiate on a scooter as some are narrow. The entrance to the... More
2
Votes
Margaretandwfawcett
14 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from MissVOnTour | Reviewed this property |
It's £7.95 for seniors for the gardens, and then an extra £3.65 for seniors if you want a tour of the house too.
0
Votes