We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Finlay Park

930 Laurel St, Columbia, SC 29201-2313
Website
Save
Review Highlights
park from hell

I'm a photographer who happened to be passing through Columbia while driving to North Carolina... read more

Reviewed 25 September 2017
Low K
Skip This One

After reading about the park and seeing pictures, I was very disappointed. The walks and grounds... read more

Reviewed 30 July 2017
sallysue1279
,
Fort Myers, Florida
via mobile
Read all 125 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent19%
  • Very good27%
  • Average18%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible20%
11 Apr 2017
“Where are the waterfalls?”
26 Feb 2017
“In disrepair?”
LOCATION
930 Laurel St, Columbia, SC 29201-2313
CONTACT
Website
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2017

I'm a photographer who happened to be passing through Columbia while driving to North Carolina, and i decided to stop in Finlay park to take some pix. It was bad! The fountains were dry, the place was falling apart, and the only pond with water...More

Thank Low K
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

After reading about the park and seeing pictures, I was very disappointed. The walks and grounds need some serious upkeep. A lot if trash and debris littering the grounds. Most disturbing were the people arguing and swearing at each other. Most unpleasant.

1  Thank sallysue1279
Reviewed 29 June 2017

Don't waste your time. The fountain doesn't work. Parts of the brickwork are in bad shape. There is trash littered around. Go to another park.

1  Thank Frankovie
Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

I was so excited to see the huge fountain but it's no longer working. Arrived to see a huge, dry, trash covered brick disappointed. The park it's self is seemed pretty nice, but the entire reason I went was for the waterfall and the fountain.

1  Thank beccabailes
Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

All I can say is wow! Wow, in a what the hell is going on kind of way! People come here to see the waterfall, all you is see is a whole lot of nothing. Water is turned off, so no water = no water...More

Thank Lou ONeil G
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Daughter in town. Decided to go downtown thinking about walk around the park and admiring water feature. Nice walk but water shut off. Looks like park might need TLC.

Thank Serviceprof
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Stopped in Columbia for a few hours to brake up our trip and was disappointed to find such a beautiful park according to the pictures to be a empty green field that was occupied by a few homeless people sleeping . I spoke to a...More

1  Thank Ricardo C
Reviewed 27 February 2017

It's an amazing park, and I recall visiting it when it was new. But on a visit there today it seems that much of infrastructure, especially the fountain/water feature centerpiece, is no in disrepair. It's still a great place in the city, but could definitely...More

1  Thank NC-Michael
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We visited this "famous" park in the morning. The fountain/falls were not working. The lake was full of some type of water plant growth choking the fish. Dead fish floating all around the edge of the lake. Homeless people sleeping on benches everywhere. We were...More

5  Thank Gary R
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Too bad city leaders let this place get so bad. Fountain is not working. Bums sleeping on benches etc.

1  Thank c0c0nutphil
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Lizard's Thicket Restaurant
314 reviews
.50 km away
Good LIfe Cafe
88 reviews
.51 km away
Sweet Cream Co.
54 reviews
.48 km away
Villa Tronco Italian Restaurant
150 reviews
.53 km away
Nearby Attractions
Columbia Museum of Art
204 reviews
.61 km away
Tunnel Vision Mural
94 reviews
.74 km away
Worlds Largest Fire Hydrant
100 reviews
.88 km away
Soda City
43 reviews
.63 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ariane Z
28 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from SCSparkle | Reviewed this property |
The waterfalls are easily accessible by foot, but I'm afraid it's not much to look at until they turn the water back on, lol. However, my husband and I still like to go- especially for the free summer concerts. We were just... More
1
Vote
mrcapp23
16 August 2015|
Answer
Response from btown0 | Reviewed this property |
Not me
0
Votes