We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Porthpean Beach

Porthpean Beach Road, St Austell PL26 6AU, England
Save
Review Highlights
Car park mob

We were literally minutes late having paid our full car park and still got 100GBP fine and going... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
susan M
Car Parking fraud

We parked here while visiting Cornwall 2 weeks ago. Paid for 1 hour parking at the Pay&Display... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Ian G
Read all 163 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good29%
  • Average10%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“small beach” (15 reviews)
“rock pools” (27 reviews)
“lovely beach” (17 reviews)
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Porthpean Beach Road, St Austell PL26 6AU, England
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We were literally minutes late having paid our full car park and still got 100GBP fine and going down to 60GBP if paid in 14 days. It was last week, out of season, car park empty, and we sent the car park an email saying...More

Thank susan M
Reviewed 1 week ago

We parked here while visiting Cornwall 2 weeks ago. Paid for 1 hour parking at the Pay&Display. Checked the expiry time on the ticket and it showed 12 mins earlier than it should have. We may well have recvd a parking ticket if we had...More

Thank Ian G
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice walk along the sandy beach cove surrounded by impressive Jurassic cliffs. No dogs on the beach during summer months.

Thank DaveKelly1966
Reviewed 18 September 2017

We discovered Porthpean by accident and were totally surprised by its unspoilt beauty and clear turquoise waters.

Thank Berringtongardener
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Really would avoid this beach and also the rental property Headlands, which we found to be badly managed, dirty and the owner completely dismissive of issues we had. AVOID

2  Thank nikkidavison
Jamiechandler, Manager at Porthpean Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Not very helpful review, your rental property has nothing to do with the beach, also if there are jellyfish here they will be everywhere. Every beach on the south coast shares the same sea, engage your brain before you review

Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

2nd week in Sept and we had an empty beach. Perfect. Clean sand and rock pools with loads of life. Caught prawns and baby fish in nearly every one. No crabs seen though. Tide was out which meant we had loads of rock pools to...More

1  Thank Owen J
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a morning before it started raining Beach wise it's sectioned off for bathers and then water sports The water looked clear and good for swimming The car park is £3.50 for the day and it's a little walk down a steep slope...More

Thank YORKSHIRE123_9
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Nice beach but lots of pebbles - found that for little ones Charlestown and Mevagissey offered far more and parking was cheaper and easier.

1  Thank The_Nicholsons
Jamiechandler, Manager at Porthpean Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I’d liked to hear where you parked cheaper for £3.50 all day?

Reviewed 14 August 2017

This used to be a nice quiet beach when we started coming here many years ago. Now it is absolutely crammed. The number of kayaks/canoes being hired out robs the beach of precious space and means that you can't even get away from the crowds...More

3  Thank Gary B
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyed the day I spent at Porthpean. Car park is large and I didn't struggle to get a space. I visited on a Saturday in the school summer holidays and it didn't feel crowded to me. The waves are gentle and perfect for small...More

1  Thank Kathpasta
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Longstore Steaks & Seafood
320 reviews
.94 km away
Old Kerrow Farm Park
5 reviews
1.33 km away
Charlie's Coffee House
278 reviews
1.01 km away
Wreckers
1,305 reviews
.96 km away
Nearby Attractions
Charlestown
1,368 reviews
.96 km away
Roche Rock & Hermitage
30 reviews
1.33 km away
Charlestown Shipwreck & Heritage Centre
1,091 reviews
1.06 km away
The Harbourside Inn
58 reviews
.97 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
reviewer4trip
30 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jamiechandler | Property representative |
No I'm afraid dogs are only permitted end of October until Easter.
0
Votes