West Coast Heritage Centre, Zeehan

West Coast Heritage Centre, Zeehan: Hours, Address, West Coast Heritage Centre, Zeehan Reviews: 4.5/5

West Coast Heritage Centre, Zeehan

West Coast Heritage Centre, Zeehan
4.5
Monday
9:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
9:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
9:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
9:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
9:30 AM - 4:00 PM
About
Established in 1963 the West Coast Heritage Centre Zeehan has continued to grow and offers visitors a comprehensive experience and understanding of the history, heritage and culture of the Tasmanian West Coast. Visitors can experience everything from an Edwardian picture show in the historic Gaiety Theatre to the modern day underground mine simulation as part of their visit. The galleries and exhibits highlight the efforts of the pioneers', both men, women and children who carved an existence from the remote wilderness in search of Tasmanian mineral wealth and developed the region as we know it today.
Suggested duration
2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The area
Address
Popular mentions

4.5
223 reviews
Excellent
152
Very good
54
Average
11
Poor
3
Terrible
3

Oldjack
Greater Melbourne, Australia23,070 contributions
Interesting History & Town
Jan. 2021
Although not open at the time visited, the museum located in the old School of Miones building it looked to provide some interesting history of Zeehan, a fascinating almost ghost mining town. The town was named after the Dutch explorer Abel Tasman's ship Zeehaen and in 1882 silver and lead was found here and at one stage it had over 10,000 residents and 20 plus hotels in the Main Street.Just walk the main street and you get a feel for what it once was. This old town had potential as a tourist place but iots location is probably an issue.
Written 2 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Oldjack, we are sorry to hear you could not experience our bountiful museum. Hopefully on your next trip you are able to come in and see our wonderful collection. Thank you for your review and for showing clear interest in the history of Zeehan. Have a great day. Again, apologies for any inconvenience.
Written 5 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Karla J
14 contributions
Fantastic, a great
Apr. 2021
Really worth a visit. There is so much information and rich history. The kids loved it here too, Zeehan has so many hidden activities to do.
Written 30 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We are so happy you enjoyed your experience with us, and glad the little ones had a great time too. Have a lovely day!
Written 5 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Nathan B
8 contributions
West Coast Heritage Centre Review
Apr. 2021
My favouite part of the West Coast Heritage Centre was the history in general and taking some really good photos.

This is a really good Museum and would certainly recommend this to other travelers.
Written 12 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi there, thank you so much for your 5 star review! We are glad you enjoyed the experience we provide and were so engrossed in our historical photographic collection. Have a lovely day, thanks again!
Written 13 April 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Grannell
Melbourne, Australia13 contributions
Devastated
Mar. 2021 • Couples
We had intentionally planned a visit to Zeehan for the sole purpose of visiting this attraction. We were particularly looking forward to seeing the iconic Gaiety Theatre which I had read several fascinating articles about. Having paid the substantial entry fee we systematically worked our way through the wonderful exhibits. There is a huge collection of photographs, literature and memorabilia which we were totally engrossed with. The layout is such that the theatre is the last exhibit encountered. Having completed our inspection of the museum we then excitedly proceeded to the theatre only to be confronted by the manager at 4pm whom advised that the theatre had just been closed. Nobody informed us of the closure time being 4pm which is unusually early and no warning was given to us that closure was imminent which would have enabled us to make our way to the the theatre before it closed. We were told to return another day as the ticket was valid for 7 days. This was not possible as like most visitors to the town we were passing through to another destination on our tight schedule. The manager would not compromise despite our pleas. There appeared to be a haste to lock up regardless. We departed deflated and bitterly disappointed.
Written 25 March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear Grannell, I am sorry that during your visit to the Heritage Centre that time did not permit you to see our fabulous Gaiety Theatre. When I met you at the exit door at 4.03pm the Gaiety had already been locked. Lock up and the round up of any visitors in the yard area or outer buildings had commenced at 3.55pm, not an unreasonable time given the 4pm closing. With a complex of this size it is a considerable task to ensure that everyone is out of the building at closing time so that the required covid cleaning may commence. As you mentioned we do allow for visitors to return on the same ticket if they have not seen everything. It is up to them as to whether they use it or not. As for our closing time being unusually early, most museums in Tasmania including TMAG and QVMAG close at 4pm. As much as I would liked to have let you in to see the Gaiety Theatre the time it would have taken to do so and the time required for you to sufficiently view the Theatre and exhibits would have unfairly impacted my staff. The layout of the complex would actually lead you to finish at the trainyard before again returning to the main building. I am disappointed that this one thing has resulted in a one star rating when by your own account the exhibits that you were able to work your way through were wonderful and had you engrossed. I hope that one day you are able to return to the Heritage Centre and see the Gaiety Theatre . Teena Jones, Operations Manager
Written 26 March 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kconnoll
Broadbeach, Australia26 contributions
Great Visit
Feb. 2021 • Couples
There is a lot to see. This museum is a credit to all and is well worth a visit my favourite part was The Gaiety Theatre.
The only criticism was that we arrived as the doors open and toilets were closed for cleaning an hour later they were still closed. When asked when they would open we were told to use the ones across the road in park. One would think toilets would be cleaned before opening.
Written 16 February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi, thank you for your review of our museum. We are pleased that you enjoyed the exhibits - the Gaiety Theatre certainly is a marvel! We apologise for the toilets being closed while you were in, unfortunately this was beyond our control. We hope you have a lovely day.
Written 17 February 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Keith T
Canberra, Australia73 contributions
Genuine and extensive display of mining in Tasmania
Feb. 2021
This centre in the heart of Zeehan,and gives a detailed history of mining and the lives of people in the mining industry in the West of Tasmania.

Set in the old school of Mines and Metallurgy in the old mining town of Zeehan in western Tasmania, it has rich displays of minerals, mining technology, and the people and places and fashions of the times.

Displays highlighting mining techniques explained in a simple manner, a wide variety of minerals and crystals and rocks of all types, equipment used in mines that had been retrieved from local operations, blacksmith shops, trains used in mining, and even a simulated mine are available. The genuine articles are on display with little in the way of simulations and computer-based information/displays. You see the real deal.

The town itself is struggling as mining is less of an industry than what it used to be. However, the Heritage Centre is of a high standard and very well presented for all to see. It is a must see when in western Tasmania.

It is well worth a visit to Zeehan just to go through this facility - allow at least half a day to do it.
Written 9 February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you so much for your overwhelmingly positive review of the museum! We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us. It is hard to convey just how much is on display throughout the Centre - it certainly is a must-see if you have even a minor interest in history or the West Coast. Thank you again for your 5 star review, we hope you have a lovely day!
Written 9 February 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Allan c
Wagga Wagga, Australia4 contributions
Great history.
Feb. 2021 • Couples
So much to see. It must have taken an enormous effort to put together such a wonderful collection. We'll worth the $25 ph entry.
Written 5 February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your 5 star review of our museum! We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us. Have a great day!
Written 9 February 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kathy W
Perth, Australia735 contributions
Preservation of history
Jan. 2021
For a small town this museum is a credit to the people who set it up. There is a large selection of items to see. Not cheap to enter but there is lots to see
Written 18 January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your positive review of our museum! Our collection certainly is extensive, we are glad you were able to enjoy it.
Written 27 January 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Vicky K
7 contributions
A great museum with something for everyone
Jan. 2021
When we arrived we thought it was a little expensive but then we discovered how much there was to see and do. The museum had a wealth of rooms to go through with something for everyone. I would highly recommend a visit. The staff was friendly and very helpful.
Written 13 January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your 5 star review, Vicky! It is indeed hard to convey just how much we have on display.
Written 13 January 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Bruce F
Dapto, Australia267 contributions
History in all its depth
Feb. 2020
This museum is HUGE!!! It is actually about four interconnected historical buildings, which have been restored and are now maintained in an excellent condition. The local committee is to be commended highly for the way the whole museum has been set up and fitted out. There is a museum, a Police Station, Masonic Temple and Theatre, not to mention the outside exhibits. Leave at least a couple of hours to fully explore the whole display areas, and our West Coast Wilderness Railway ticket (used the day before) gave us a 25% entry discount. We have never been in a locally-operated history museum as well set out, informative and maintained as this one.
Written 23 April 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Bruce, we are so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your experience at the Centre. There certainly is a lot to see. Thank you kindly for the great review! Have a great day.
Written 10 June 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 221
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about West Coast Heritage Centre, Zeehan

West Coast Heritage Centre, Zeehan is open:
  • Mon - Fri 9:30 am - 4:00 pm
Buy tickets in advance on Tripadvisor. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel at least 24 hours before the start date of your tour for a full refund.

We recommend booking West Coast Heritage Centre, Zeehan tours ahead of time to secure your spot. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel up to 24 hours before your tour starts for a full refund. See all 1 West Coast Heritage Centre, Zeehan tours on Tripadvisor