We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Port Arthur Historic Site

Arthur Highway, Port Arthur, Tasmania 7182, Australia
+61 3 6251 2310
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 121.97*
and up
Small-Group Tasmania Convict Trail and Port Arthur Day Trip from Hobart
More Info
USD 31.71*
and up
Port Arthur Historic Site 2-Day Pass
More Info
USD 101.64*
and up
Port Arthur Tour from Hobart
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Port Arthur Historic Site is the best-preserved convict settlement in Australia and among the most significant convict era sites in the world. It has won many awards and has been called one of Australia's great tourism destinations. The Site combines rich history and scenic beauty to tell the stories of the harsh discipline and determined industry of the settlement. It is a place to discover Australian history and connect with the origins of Australian culture.
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good25%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“ghost tour” (373 reviews)
“walking tour” (219 reviews)
“harbour cruise” (128 reviews)
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Arthur Highway, Port Arthur, Tasmania 7182, Australia
CONTACT
Website
+61 3 6251 2310
Write a Review
Reviews (3,212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 3,106 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

A great place to visit, but I would prioritise it after the wilderness areas. Beautifully kept grounds, a nice café and a really lovely cruise - don't miss that!

Thank Lets Go Mum R
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We spent a cold spring day at the historic site of Port Arthur. The views of the water and gardens were beautiful but you are also reminded of the dark past and history as a convict prison. Included in the entry ticket was a 40minute...More

1  Thank NATHAN S
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Long drive from Hobart, we left at 11am. Nice drive and got to port arthur 2hrs later. Very clean well organised site with heaps of parking and information. Undergoing renovation when we went so perhaps paxk your own food and drink. We went self guided...More

1  Thank bash86
Reviewed 4 days ago

The well preserved buildings are reminder of our past and man's inhumanity to man. A fascinating look back in time and well worth a contemplative walk around--seems the only thing that has changed in 150 years is the technology. Hardly a barrel of laughs.More

Thank Prelibato1
PortArthurSite, Guest Relations Manager at Port Arthur Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thanks for your review Prelibato1, We appreciate your feedback on the conservation that has been undertaken at the Historic Site. Our team take great pride in preserving the site for all visitors to experience. We are honoured to share the stories of those who spent...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

The port Arthur historical site is quite a drive from Hobart but it is so worth it. Other than learning the history of the convicts they have great ruins and a million dollar relaxing lake view. On a nice day it is very relaxing to...More

Thank Ricasworld
Reviewed 4 days ago

We hadn't been to Port Arthur for 42 years and so were surprised at what we thought was a high admission price. However, it was soon obvious that a lot of money has been spent maintaining and protecting this important Australian historical site. We would...More

Thank Geordielass2
PortArthurSite, Guest Relations Manager at Port Arthur Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Geordielass2, Thank you for your review and we are pleased to hear as a return visitor you were impressed by the works undertaken to maintain the site for others to experience. The $39 entry fee is valid for two consecutive days and includes the...More

Reviewed 4 days ago

The timing of our visit was early spring so we were a little disappointed that one of the tours 'Isle of the Dead Cemetry' (which we had pre-booked) wasn't available due to upkeep/maintenance and the Visitor Centre was shut due to renovations. Having said that,...More

Thank Sandra W
PortArthurSite, Guest Relations Manager at Port Arthur Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Sandra W, Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear your pre-booked experience was not available. Conservation at the site is a very important part of our works for the future preservation and unfortunately due to some weather delays these works...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Port Arthur was incredible! It was well worth the trip but we did find that time slipped away very quickly, so leaving early is recommended! There is an incredible wealth of history with beautiful ruins to reenactments of what is was like to live there...More

Thank Grace d
Reviewed 1 week ago

A very interesting place to go for a day or half day. We learned a lot about the history of the convicts who were sent out from England. You can take boat ride around the lake, which is wonderful on a hot day, and you...More

Thank Beaufortmb
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very well presented. Highly recommend doing the commandants tour (it is not only for mobility impaired persons) as the information & presentation of our guide Rob was simply fantastic. This tour also includes the harbour cruise. Don't miss out on this experience if visiting Tasmania.

Thank cskrg
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Gabriel's on the Bay Restaurant
247 reviews
.91 km away
Port Cafe - Port Arthur Historic Site
192 reviews
.03 km away
Port Arthur Motor Inn Restaurant
89 reviews
.45 km away
Eucalypt Cafe
75 reviews
.57 km away
Nearby Attractions
Three Capes Track
135 reviews
.42 km away
Remarkable Cave
359 reviews
4.65 km away
Port Arthur Ghost Tours
356 reviews
.02 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
dasun s
20 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from pohcrofter | Reviewed this property |
There are charges to visit this attraction, depending on what you choose to see/ do there. If the ship is calling on Hobart, I would expect the ship to offer a tour to this attraction (quite a long coach ride from Hobart, I... More
1
Vote
Lee-Anne F
1 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Frank M | Reviewed this property |
No BBQ at PA just take picnic basket or eat at shops. Enjoy😃
1
Vote
Andrew Y
1 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from PortArthurSite | Property representative |
Hi Andrew Y, Thanks for your question re the time to allow on site. We have over 100 acre to explore at the site with over 30 historic buildings and remains to see. Within site entry you have can enjoy a 40 minute... More
1
Vote